FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!header

Responsive image

ANFANG

GRÜNDE

GEGEN DEN PAPST?!

DEBATTE

SICHT

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reflexionen über den Weg einer Frau zur Priesterweihe

Reflexionen über den Weg einer Frau zur Priesterweihe

Der Weg zum Priestertum in der katholischen Kirche ist für jeden, der dies erwägt, ein langer Weg. Die Priesterweihe ist ein gewichtiges Unterfangen und erfordert einen Reifungsprozeß. In jedem Stadium dieses Prozesses kann die Berufung eines anderen Klarheit für die eigene Entscheidung bringen. Wenn du als katholische Frau spürst, daß das Weiheamt deine Berufung sein könnte, obwohl du weißt, daß du gegenwärtig zurückgewiesen wirst, so laß den Ruf langsam reifen und wachsen. Eine Einsicht über das Priestertum ist nicht etwas Statisches, sondern etwas sich stetig Veränderndes und Wachsendes. Am wichtigsten ist die Treue zum Imperativ der ursprünglichen Berufung und nicht die starre Definition ihrer Grenzen.

Ein Ruf Gottes war niemals und für niemanden eine einfache Sache. So manche Verwirrung wird auf dem Weg liegen, eine Berufung ist niemals bequem. Eine Berufung zum Priestertum hat seine besonderen Schwierigkeiten in sich. Wenn der Gedanke zum ersten mal deutlich wird, dann kommen alle möglichen Ängste und Gefühle der Unfähigkeit hoch: 'Ich wäre nicht gut genug für einen Priester', 'ich bin nicht heilig genug', 'was ist, wenn ich beim Auswahlverfahren durchfalle?', 'ich fürchte die Anforderungen die an mich gestellt werden' und 'was um alles in der Welt werden meine Familie und meine Freunde denken??'

Eine katholische Frau, die sich fragt, ob ihre Berufung auf das Priestertum gerichtet sein könnte, wird derlei Gedanken und Ängste hundertfach erleben. Nicht nur, daß dieser Ruf angesichts der eigenen Schwächen und Grenzen schwer anzunehmen ist, wird er doch auch noch geleugnet: so etwas sollte man gar nicht hören! Papst Paul VI hat in Inter Insigniores erklärt, eine Frau, die sich zum Priestertum berufen fühlt, mag wohl aufrichtig sein, sei aber sicherlich irregeführt. Johannes Paul II stellte 1994 neuerlich fest, daß 'die Kirche keinerlei Autorität habe, Frauen die Priesterweihe zu erteilen' (Ordinatio Sacerdotalis &sect 4). Daraus ergibt sich die offizielle Linie: wenn die Kirche Frauen nicht weihen kann, so kann Gott sie nicht berufen!

Für eine Frau in dieser Lage wäre es wohl leichter, den Ruf einfach nicht zu beachten. Doch Gott kann sehr beharrlich sein. Niemand ist von vornherein würdig für das Priestertum. Das ist ein Geschenk (manche würden sagen, ein anfangs nicht immer willkommenes) und Gott wählt manchmal die scheinbar ungeeignetsten Menschen aus (man denke nur an die zwölf Apostel). Wenn sich jeder Berufene wegen der eigenen Unwürdigkeit oder aus Angst vor Überforderung abgewendet hätte, so gäbe es heute keine Priester. Vielleicht gelangt die Berufene so weit, daß sie nur mehr mit Marias Worten sagen kann: 'Ja, mir geschehe nach deinem Wort.' Frauen in aller Welt stehen heute an einem Punkt, wo sie nur mehr zu Gott sagen können: 'Ich weiß, es ist unmöglich, aber wenn du willst daß es geschieht, so will ich deinem Willen gehorchen.' In anderen christlichen Konfessionen hat dieser Mut bereits zur Anerkennung des Frauenpriestertums geführt. In der katholischen Kirche fragen die Frauen immer noch, wann es auch für sie Wirklichkeit wird.

Das Wahrnehmen einer Berufung welcher Art auch immer ist ein Prozeß über lange Zeit. Es mag einen blendenden Augenblick der Einsicht geben, wie ihn Paulus vor Damaskus erlebte, aber danach kommen all die Fragen und Entscheidungen zu den weiteren Schritten auf diesem Weg. Paulus mußte warten, um Hananias zu begegnen, er mußte nach Jerusalem gehen um dort mit den Jüngern zusammenzutreffen, bevor er seine Berufung zur Bekehrung der Heiden entdeckte und seine Missionsreisen antrat. Doch meist geschieht eine Berufung langsam und entfaltet sich im Laufe der Zeit. Dann kann man nicht einen Zeitpunkt festlegen als 'Augenblick, mit dem alles begann.' Es gibt aber auch besondere Ereignisse im Leben eines Menschen, wo er/sie sagen kann: 'da ist es mir klar geworden, daß Gott mich gerufen hat.' Das gleiche trifft für jene Frauen in der Kirche zu, die an den Punkt gelangt sind, wo es zur Gewißheit wird, daß das wahre Ziel ihrer Berufung das geweihte Priestertum ist.

Ich bin eine Frau, die nun mehr als sieben Jahre lang mit dieser Berufung gerungen hat. Ich kenne andere Frauen von siebzig oder achtzig Jahren, deren ganzes Leben ein solches Ringen war. Eine einfache Berufung gibt es nicht, ebenso wie es auch keine einfachen Antworten gibt. Eine der ersten Schriftstellen, die mich angesprochen hat, war eine Zeile aus dem Buch Jesus Sirach: "Wenn du danach strebst, dem Herrn zu dienen, so mache dich auf Prüfungen gefaßt" (Sir 2:1). Die Frauenordination wird höchstwahrscheinlich auch in der katholischen Kirche zur Realität werden, ebenso wie in anderen Konfessionen innerhalb der christlichen Tradition. Doch wir wissen nicht, wie lange es noch dauern wird. Ob ich oder du es noch erleben werden, ist ungewiß. Wir sind dabei auf dem langen Weg. Die ganze Kirche muß bereit sein, wenn die Frauenordination zu einer wahrhaft 'katholischen' Realität wird. An dieser Aufbereitung werden viele Menschen arbeiten, Menschen in den Pfarren, Priester, Theologen, Bischöfe, es wird ökumenische Gespräche geben, vielleicht auch ein Konzil. Ein großer Teil dieser Arbeit wird von den Frauen selbst getan werden, von jenen, die die Weihe anstreben und von den anderen, die sie dabei unterstützen.

Colette Joyce

Siehe auch: Welche Schritte sollte eine Frau tun, wenn sie sich zum Priestertum in der katholischen Kirche berufen fühlt?

Übersicht

Zeichen einer Berufung

Der Weg zum Ziel

Schritte nach der Berufung

Umgang mit Kritikern

Deine persönliche Berufungsgeschichte


Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Michael Mayr, A-4020 Linz.

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Reflections on a womans call to the priesthood

Reflections on a Woman’s Journey to Ordination

In the Catholic Church the journey to priesthood for anyone takes a long time, deliberately so. Ordination is a weighty undertaking and one a person is asked to mature into. At any stage along the process another vocation may show itself more clearly. If you, as a Catholic woman, are feeling that the ordained ministry may be your vocation, albeit one that you know to be thwarted at present, expect the calling to mature and grow over time. A discernment made about priesthood is not about something static but about something that will continually change and grow. Fidelity to the imperative of the original calling is what will be most important, not rigidly defining its boundaries.

It has never been easy for anyone to hear a call from God. So many distractions get in the way and the calling is never comfortable. A calling to the priesthood carries its own particular difficulties. When the thought first occurs, all sorts of fears and feelings of inadequacy come up. ‘I wouldn’t be good enough to be a priest’, ‘I’m not holy enough’, ‘What if I didn’t get through the selection process?’, ‘I’m afraid of the demands it will make on me."What on earth are my family and friends going to think??’

For a Catholic woman wondering whether her vocation could possibly be to priesthood, these thoughts and feelings of anxiety are magnified a hundred-fold. Not only is this calling a difficult one to accept in regard to all her own limitations and failings, it is one she is not supposed to be hearing at all! Pope Paul VI in Inter Insigniores declared that a woman who believed she was being called to ordination may be sincere but was very much misguided. John Paul II restated in 1994 that the ‘Church has no authority whatsoever to confer priestly ordination on women’.(Ordination Sacerdotalis §4) The official line then follows that if the Church cannot ordain women then God cannot be calling them.

Available as postcard! Click!

It would be easier for a woman in this position to decide that it was better to pay no attention to it all. Yet sometimes God can be very insistent. No one is ever worthy of priesthood, it comes as a free gift (some would say not always initially a very welcome one) and God sometimes chooses the most unlikely of people (think of that list of the twelve apostles!). If everyone backed off because of their own unworthiness or because the task appeared to difficult, then there would be no priests at all. Eventually there comes a time when all the one called can do is to say with Mary, Yes, ‘Let it be done unto me according to your word.’ For women around the world today there has come a point when they have had to say to God, ‘I know it is impossible, but if You want it to happen then I will do Your will.’ In other Christian denominations, this courage has been turned into a recognition of the ordained ministry for women. In the Catholic Church, women are wondering when it is going to become a reality for them.

Discerning a vocation of any kind is a process which happens over time. There may be a blinding moment of insight like St Paul on the Damascus Road but even after that there still comes all the questioning and decisions about what do next. Paul himself had to wait to meet Ananias and then go up to see the disciples in Jerusalem, before embarking on his missionary journeys and discovering that he had a vocation to convert the gentiles. For most of us, vocations happen more slowly and unfold over a period of time. It is often hard to pinpoint a moment and say, ‘That was it, that was the moment when it all began.’ On the other hand, it is often the case that some singular event occurs in a person’s life when he or she can say, ‘That was when I knew for sure what God was calling me to.’ The same is true for women in the Church today who reach the point of knowing that the true name for the vocation they seek to follow is priesthood or ordained ministry.

I am a woman who has herself been struggling with this vocation for more than seven years now. There are other women I know of in their sixties and seventies who have been struggling for a lifetime. This is not an easy calling and there are no simple answers. One of the first Scripture passages ever to speak to me was a line from the book of Ecclesiasticus, “If you aspire to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for an ordeal” (Eccles 2:1). Women’s ordination will in all likelihood become a reality in the Catholic Church, as it has become in other denominations of the Christian tradition, but we do not know how long it is going to take. It may not be in my lifetime or yours. We could be in for the long haul. The whole Church has to be ready if women’s ordination is to become a truly ‘Catholic’ reality. That preparation will have to be done by many people, by people in parishes, by priests, by theologians, by ecumenical consultation, by bishops and, perhaps, by a Council. Much preparation will need to be done by women themselves, those who seek to come forward for ordination and those who wish to support them in it.

See also: What steps should a woman take if she thinks she has a calling to ordination in the Catholic Church?

Colette Joyce

Overview Signs of a Vocation A woman's journey Steps to take Answering critics Writing your story
Six options for Catholic women who feel called to the priesthood?


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.