¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!
header

Responsive image
ENTRéE SEPT RAISONS DéFIER LE PAPE? RéSUMéS MENU
Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Comment rédiger pour nous l’histoire de votre vocation

Comment rédiger pour nous l’histoire de votre vocation

Si vous êtes une Catholique et que vous pensez avoir une vocation à la prêtrise, nous vous serions reconnaissants de rédiger votre histoire pour notre site Web.

John Wijngaards, webmaster de www.womenpriests.org, m’a demandé, en tant que femme qui vit avec le sentiment d’être appelée à devenir prêtre, d’être la coordinatrice de cette section du site. Une grande partie de ce dernier présente des arguments théoriques, et c’est bien ainsi. Il est important, cependant, que la parole soit donnée aux femmes qui pensent que Dieu les appelle actuellement à un ministère ordonné.

Par ma propre vie, je sais combien il est difficile, d’abord de discerner la véracité de l’appel de Dieu, et ensuite d’en informer les autres. C’est pourquoi John et moi avons décidé d’inclure, en plus des témoignages, un chapitre traitant des réalités rencontrées lorsqu’on répond à cet appel. Nous aimerions soutenir les femmes qui estiment qu’elles sont appelées. Examinez d’abord attentivement les documents relatifs au “soutien des vocations” de cette section-ci.

Pourquoi vous devez écrire votre histoire

Il est important pour ceux qui sont dans l’Église, pour les simples fidèles comme pour les membres de la hiérarchie, de se rendre compte du fait que - tout comme des hommes - beaucoup de femmes sont appelées par Dieu au sacerdoce. Comment l’Église catholique pourrait-elle se réveiller si nous ne parlons pas ?

Je sais par expérience qu’il n’est pas aisé d’écrire à propos de soi. Je n’ai pas trouvé commode de rédiger ma propre histoire (voyez ici) parce que j’avais le sentiment de m’exposer sans défense. Il est impossible de savoir qui finira par lire cette histoire : mon évêque ? un membre de la Curie romaine ? de vieux copains d’école ? etc. etc. ! On peut s’attendre à ce que l’audience potentielle qui pourrait s’y plonger ou la parcourir par hasard soit plus variée que dans le cas d’un livre. Et aussi certains lisent en diagonale les textes proposés par un site (je le sais pour le faire moi-même) et donc le témoignage donné doit être divisé en plusieurs parties et présenté de manière attrayante.

J’ai décidé de signer mon témoignage bien que je trouve cela intimidant. J’ai toujours essayé cependant de ne pas cacher ma vocation de sorte que ceux qui me connaissent ne seront pas surpris et j’ai confiance que Dieu influencera le cœur et l’esprit de ceux qui ne m’écoutent pas avec bienveillance. John et moi comprenons que pour d’autres personnes il soit actuellement préférable de rester anonyme et c’est très bien ainsi. Aucun détail ne sera donné à part ceux que vous nous autoriserez à mettre sur notre site. Pour ma part, je pense que le temps est venu, nous devons parler de ce que Dieu a fait en nous et pour nous. Si nous nous laissons guider par la crainte des conséquences possibles, alors rien ne changera jamais. Comme me l’a dit un jour Soline Vatinel, fondatrice de BASIC (Sisters and Brothers in Christ [Sœurs et Frères dans le Christ], le groupe irlandais qui milite en faveur de l’ordination des femmes), si les Apôtres avaient attendu qu’il n’y ait plus aucun risque de sortir du Cénacle, ils ne l’auraient jamais fait.

En sollicitant vos témoignages, nous recherchons des femmes qui ont compris depuis un certain temps qu’elles étaient appelées à un ministère ordonné et qui ont déjà eu l’occasion d’en parler à leurs parents, à leurs amis, et autant que possible, à un prêtre, à un évêque, à un directeur spirituel ou en avoir fait part à un groupe soutenant l’ordination des femmes. Par-dessus tout, avant de se décider de rendre public son témoignage, une femme doit se sentir bien stabilisée dans sa propre vie et dans son ministère.

Mettre son histoire sur Internet est une décision importante et il est nécessaire de prier longuement avant de commencer à écrire.

Forme de votre témoignage

Nous vous demandons de bien vouloir fournir un texte de 1.000 à 2.000 mots. Découpez-le en petits chapitres, avec un titre intéressant. John ou moi pourrons être amenés à revoir votre texte et nous serons heureux d’ajouter si nécessaire ces titres de chapitre. Nous vous enverrons une copie du texte avant de l’afficher sur Internet. Plus tard, vous pourrez toujours le modifier, le mettre à jour ou même le retirer en tout ou en partie en vous adressant à John ou à moi.

Les questions suivantes ne sont là que pour baliser votre réflexion. Vous ne devez pas nécessairement répondre aux questions dans l’ordre mais essayer de traiter les sujets abordés :

Questions à aborder :

1. Détails biographiques.

2. Comment ai-je eu l’idée de devenir prêtre ?

3. Pourquoi est-ce que je souhaite exercer un ministère ?

4. Qu’est-ce que l’ordination m’apportera ?

5. Comment est-ce que j’envisage le ministère ? Quelle vision de l’avenir ai-je pour l’Église dans laquelle je veux travailler ?

6. Quelles sont les difficultés personnellement rencontrées et que vais-je faire pour y faire face ?

7. Pourquoi est-ce que je pense que cet appel vient de Dieu ?

Si, à ce stade, vous sentez que vous ne devez pas rédiger votre histoire pour nous, mais que vous êtes toujours intéressée à garder le contact, c’est très bien. Sentez-vous libre de m’écrire comme si de rien n’était. Votre témoignage pourra toujours être publié ultérieurement dans le cas où vous vous senteriez prête à le livrer.

S.v.p., restez en contact avec nous si vous avez besoin d’informations complémentaires ou si vous voulez en parler avec moi de votre vocation.

Colette Joyce

Traduction française par Jacques Desauccy

Aperçu Signes d'une vocation Voyage de foi Étapes Répondre aux critiques Écrire votre temoignage
Six options pour la femme catholique qui se sent appelée à la prêtrise ?

This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How to write your vocation story for us

How to write your vocation story for us

If you are a Catholic woman and you feel you have a priestly vocation, we would be grateful if you were to write something of your story for the website.

John Wijngaards, who manages www.womenpriests.org has asked me, as a woman who is herself living with this sense of vocation, to take responsibility for co-ordinating this area. A great part of the website deals with the academic arguments, and rightly so. It is important, however, that a voice is given to those women who believe that the ordained ministry is the one God is calling them to in the present time.

I have been aware in my own life of how difficult it is, first of all to discern this calling, and then to go about making it known to others. That is why John and I have decided to include, alongside the testimonies, a section which will look at the realities involved in answering this call. We would like to be supportive to women who are in the position of feeling themselves called. Have a good look at the ‘vocation support’ documents in this section.

Why to write your story

It is important for people in the Church, both the leaders and the ordinary faithful, to become aware of the fact that so many Catholic women are called by God to the priesthood, as men are. How will the Church wake up, if we do not speak out?

From my own experience I know it is not easy to write about ourselves. I did not find it at all easy to write my story (see it here) because there is a sense in which it made me feel very exposed. It is impossible to know who will end up reading the story - my bishop, the Vatican Curia, old school friends, etc. etc! The potential audience who might dip in or stumble across it is potentially more varied than in a published book. Also, people tend to skim-read website material (I know I do this myself), so the story needs to be broken up and told in an eye-catching way.

I decided to put my full name to my testimony although I found this very scary. I have always tried, however, to be open about my vocation so this will not be news to most of the people who know me and I will have to trust to God to influence the hearts and minds of those who don’t to give me a fair hearing. John and I realise that for other people at this time it may be better to remain anonymous and this will be okay. No details will be given out to anyone apart from what you authorise us to put on the website. Personally, I feel the time has come when we need to speak out about what God has done in us and for us. If we let our fears about possible consequences rule us then nothing will change. As Soline Vatinel, the founder of BASIC (Brothers and Sisters in Christ, the Irish campaign group for women’s ordination) said to me once, if the apostles had waited until it safe then they would never have gone out.

In asking for stories, we are looking for women who have recognised their sense of calling to ordained ministry for some time and who have already had opportunity to talk it through with people who are close to them, family and friends, and as far as this has been possible, other people in Church ministry, a priest, bishop, spiritual director or supportive network. It is important, first of all, that any woman who takes this step of publicly telling her story feels that she is well grounded in her own life and ministry.

Putting one’s story on the Internet is a big decision to make and it will be important to pray it through carefully before beginning to write.

Format for the Testimonies

We are asking if you would be willing to write between 1,000-2,000 words. Use short sections with interesting headings. John or I may have to edit material and would be happy to add these. We will send you a copy of what will finally be put on the web. At any future date you would be free to change, update or remove any material by contacting John or myself.

The following points to include are a guide to get you thinking. You don’t have to follow the questions exactly but do try and have a go at addressing the issues they raise:

Points to include:

1. Some biographical details

2. How did I get the idea to become a priest?

3. Why do I want to enter the ministry?

4. What difference will ordination make?

5. What is my vision of ministry? What vision of the future do I have for the Church in which I want to work?

6. What difficulties are involved for me personally and what am I doing about it?

7. Why do I think this is of God?

If, at this stage, you do not feel that it is right for you to write your story, but you are still interested in being in touch, that is absolutely fine. Feel free to write to me all the same. Your story can always be added at a later date if it becomes the case that you feel ready.

Please get in touch with the webmaster if you need any further information or you would like to talk about your story.

Colette Joyce

Overview Signs of a Vocation A woman's journey Steps to take Answering critics Writing your story
Six options for Catholic women who feel called to the priesthood?

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.