¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!
header

Responsive image
ENTRéE SEPT RAISONS DéFIER LE PAPE? RéSUMéS MENU
Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Olive Powell

Olive Powell

My vocation flows from my prayer

Je suis née en 1953 et ai été baptisée un mois plus tard à Maryvale, Old Oscott, Birmingham, en Angleterre. Ma famille a déménagé de la région quand j’avais quatre ans mais je me rappelle très bien y avoir visité différentes chapelles et avoir assisté à la messe là-bas. Depuis une fenêtre placée à ras du sol dans la mezzanine de la chapelle du Sacré-Cœur à Maryvale, un petit enfant pouvait regarder dans le chœur, par-dessus l’épaule du prêtre à l’autel principal, alors tourné vers le mur.

J’ai appris le “Notre Père”, le “Je vous salue Marie” et le “Gloria” dès que j’en ai été capable. Pourtant, je n’ai pas compris exactement ce qu’était la prière avant de faire ma Première Communion à l’âge de six ans. J’ai passé la plus partie de la messe à pester contre mon habit de cérémonie et j’ai été très surprise d’être emmenée dans un autre endroit tranquille après la communion.

Pendant les quelque trente années qui ont suivi, j’ai oublié ces souvenirs. Ma vie familiale a été très agitée et je me suis réfugiée dans les études. Finalement, on a diagnostiqué que j’étais atteinte d’une maladie mentale bipolaire appelée communément psychose maniaco-dépressive.

Durant cette période, j’ai eu la chance de vivre dans une ferme habitée par des amis. J’y ai rédigé ma thèse de doctorat en philosophie. Au cours de promenades dans le calme des champs un désir est monté petit à petit en moi :

“Je veux prier.”

Diverses façons de prier

J’ai décidé de réciter chaque jour le “Notre Père”, le “Je vous salue Marie” et le “Gloria”. J’avais l’impression de repartir à zéro parce que je n’avais plus prié depuis six ans. J’étais déterminée à faire de ces prières récitées oralement une parenthèse bien séparée du reste de ma vie. Mais le désir de prier n’a cessé de grandir en moi.

Au cours de l’étape suivante, je me suis mis à lire quotidiennement la Bible. Au collège, j’ai été membre active d’un groupe œcuménique dans lequel nous méditions tous ensemble l’Écriture, ce qui a eu pour résultat mon fort attachement à la Bible.

C’est dans cet entourage œcuménique, un peu plus tard vers 1980, que j’ai envisagé de me faire membre d’une autre Église. La question de l’ordination n’est pas intervenue dans ma réflexion car je n’y songeais nullement. J’avais évidemment abandonné la pratique dans l’Église catholique en raison d’attitudes implicites envers les femmes, en particulier envers celles qui avaient fait des études. Mais finalement j’ai résolu de rester dans cette Église et de me remettre à pratiquer pour trois raisons très claires : en raison du rôle central qui y est joué par l’eucharistie ; parce que c’est mon l’Église (et non moins en raison de l’influence exercée sur moi par certaines personnes de cette Église) et enfin parce que, à mon avis, elle offre une conception très souple et diversifiée de la prière.

Je me suis mise à assister à la messe chaque dimanche et, après un an environ, tous les jours. C’est alors que j’ai quitté mon emploi pour entrer dans un couvent de Bénédictines. À partir de ce moment-là, j’ai su que je voulais explorer “toutes les formes de prières” et le cadre monastique me garantissait une formation parfaite en ce domaine. Bien que j’aie quitté ce couvent depuis quinze ans, un office raccourci - où je chante les psaumes - continue à faire partie de ma vie quotidienne de prière.

D’autres prières

Fin 1980 j’ai déménagé à Manchester pour travailler comme femme d’ouvrage dans un centre pour alcooliques. J’avais prévu, comme je sortais d’une dépression, de suivre tout le reste de ma vie le rythme bénédictin alternant prière et travail manuel en vivant dans une zone où régnait la pauvreté. Une vie solitaire qui conviendrait à ma surdité croissante.

Toutefois un point m’irritait : je ne parvenais pas à pratiquer la prière silencieuse. Avec un prêtre du coin qui me servait de directeur spirituel, j’ai tenté de vivre chaque jour une période de silence. Durant quelques mois, cela a été une expérience incroyablement pénible, due aux conséquences psychologiques d’une enfance difficile.

Un jour une image m’a envahie : c’était celle d’un grand bois, très sombre. D’abord, j’errais le long de la lisière dans la lumière, toute affairée. Après quelques semaines, je pénétrais dans le bois, les sons s’affaiblissaient et je ressentais une souffrance qui grandissait jusqu’à ce qu’un jour j’atteigne le centre du bois, une clairière très lumineuse, où régnait un silence profond ; je m’y suis sentie tout à fait comme Dieu m’a faite. J’ai su alors que toute ma vie a été, est et sera centrée sur la “célébration de l’eucharistie pour les gens”.

Voilà le souhait que je voudrais traduire dans la réalité. Il reste que la tradition catholique même qui l’a suscité ne me permet pas, en raison de mon sexe, de me mettre de cette manière-là au service de la communauté.

Après cette époque où j’ai compris ma vocation, j’ai suivi les Exercices de saint Ignace dans la vie de tous les jours. Pendant dix-huit mois (j’ai suivi très lentement les Exercices de 30 jours !), j’ai laissé dormir la question de l’ordination afin de vérifier si c’était sérieux. Les Exercices ont avivé encore plus ma connaissance personnelle du Christ, sans me suggérer de résolution concrète pour progresser dans cette voie.

Et maintenant que faire ?

C’est là le cheminement de quelqu’un qui fait partie de l’Église, aussi a-t-il été vital, au milieu des années 90, de m’affirmer en rejoignant un groupe dont le but est de soutenir les femmes qui, dans l’Église catholique, désirent devenir prêtre. “Vin Nouveau” se réunit quatre fois l’an, et chacune d’entre nous y a mûri au contact des autres.

Au sujet de ma vocation, cette expérience de groupe m’a permis de comprendre que je devais agir tournée vers l’avenir : étudier la théologie et la pastorale en dépit de l’absence d’encouragement de la part de l’Église. Il n’existait alors pas de bourses pour des laïcs voulant entreprendre des études de théologie sérieuses. Toutefois, grâce à un soutien financier de type œcuménique, j’ai pu m’inscrire à un cours de premier degré en théologie contextuelle, de type Université Ouverte, au collège œcuménique Luther King House à Manchester.

Nos week-ends résidentiels sont pour moi l’image de l’Église de l’avenir : des femmes et des hommes ; des jeunes et des adultes ; des mariés et des célibataires ; avec et sans enfants ; qui se respectent et s’enrichissent des traditions religieuses des autres ; qui sont enthousiastes à réfléchir et à discuter ; aimant collaborer avec les autres (célébration de l’eucharistie avec les gens) ; et en tout centrés sur le Christ.

Nombreuses sont les membres dans mon groupe qui espèrent être acceptées à l’ordination. Quand on me demande quel est mon objectif, la réplique fuse : “Être la meilleure contrariété possible”. La prochaine génération de femmes catholiques ne doit absolument pas subir ce blocage dans leur vie de prière.

Toutefois, je n’estime pas actuellement, comme je l’ai fait beaucoup durant les années 90, qu’un obstacle institutionnel me condamne à un ralentissement dans le progrès de ma vie de prière. Quand l’occasion s’en présente, je réclame avec insistance des réformes institutionnelles mais je peux vivre ma vocation à l’eucharistie comme femme d’ouvrage, quand je suis seule à la maison, lors de mes cours, lors de mes contacts avec les gens... Nous vivons tous des moments de grande intensité lorsque la consécration et la communion deviennent réels dans notre monde :

“Mère”

Sous les arbres, un tambourinement :
chute de la pluie, l’eau tombe, elle rencontre un nouveau parapluie,
guidées par les feuilles, les gouttes mordent le nylon tout neuf
- il y a du rythme, il pourrait y avoir du rythme

Dans cette avenue de banlieue mouillée,
pourquoi ne pas enregistrer le battement,
le battement de cœur de l’univers,
choisir d’être libre, même si c’est en imagination,
pour entendre le pouls du foetus, notre pouls, au sein de Notre Être ?

Olive Powell, février 2000

Traduction française par Jacques Desauccy

Aperçu Signes d'une vocation Voyage de foi Étapes Répondre aux critiques Écrire votre temoignage
Six options pour la femme catholique qui se sent appelée à la prêtrise ?

This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2017 . . .

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
olive Powell's ordination story

Olive Powell

My vocation flows from my prayerI was born in 1953 and baptised a month later at Maryvale, Old Oscott, Birmingham, England. Our family moved from the area when I was four, but I can remember visiting the chapels and going to Mass there. From a floor-level window in the mezzazine Sacred Heart chapel at Maryvale, a small child could look down over the priest’s shoulder to the main altar below, then turned to the wall.

I learned the Our Father, Hail Mary and Glory be as soon as was feasible, but had no concious awareness of what prayer meant until my First Holy Communion at the age of six. I spent most of that Mass hating my de rigueur white dress, and was completely surprised at being taken into a new quiet place after communion.

For the next thirty years or so I lost touch with these memories. Family life was troubled, I took refuge in academic work, and was eventually diagnosed as having the bi-polar mental illness commonly known as manic depression.

But, during this period I was fortunate to live on a friends’ farm while writing up my PhD. In the silence of walking the fields came the gradual realisation:

“I want to pray.”

All kinds of prayer

I decided on a daily Our Father, Hail Mary and Glory be. It felt like starting from square one because I had kept right away from prayer for nearly six years. I was determined to keep these vocal prayers in a tiny compartment separate from the rest of my life. But the desire to pray, like Topsy, just grew and grew.

The next step was to find myself reading the Bible each day. At college, I had been a keen member of an ecumenical Christian group in which we regularly meditated together on scripture producing a strong personal attachment to the Bible.

Both in those ecumenical surroundings and later at this point, around 1980, I considered joining another denomination. The call to be ordained did not enter the question as I had no idea of it. I had, of course, dropped out of Roman Catholicism partly because of unspoken attitudes towards women, especially educated women, but finally chose to return to RC practice for three identifiable reasons: the centrality of the eucharist; it being my tradition (not least because of the influence of particular people within the Church); and the offer, in my opinion, of the deepest and most varied wisdom about prayer.

I took to Sunday Mass, and, about a year later, daily Mass. Then I left my job, and moved to join a Benedictine community. By then I knew I wanted to delve into ‘all kinds of prayer’, and the monastic setting provided a perfect education. Although it is nearly fifteen years since I left, a shortened office - with tunes to the psalms - continues to be part of the framework of my prayer ife.

Not all kinds of prayer

I moved to Manchester at the end of the 1980s to work as a cleaner in a project to help alcoholics. I planned, in recovering from breakdown, to base the rest of my life on the Benedictine pattern of prayer and manual work in a poor area; a semi-solitary life which would suit my increasing deafness.

But one point irritated: I could not engage in silent prayer. With a local priest giving spiritual guidance, I attempted a period of silence each day. For a few months, it was an incredibly painful experience which we attributed to the psychological impact of a difficult childhood.

Then an image came of a vast, dark wood. At first, I wandered along the outside edge in light and busyness. Over the next few weeks, I entered the wood, sounds fading, and the pain intensifying until one day I reached the centre, a clearing of real light, rapt silence and being fully as God made me. I knew then that all my life had been/is/will be about “celebrating the eucharist for people.”

This is the prayer I am being asked to live out. But the very tradition that fosters it will not permit me to serve the community in this way because of my gender.

After this time of realisation, I followed the Ignatian Exercises in lay life. For about eighteen months (I took the 30 Days slowly!), I put aside the ordination question so as to test it. But the Exercises proved to enhance this knowledge about myself in Christ - without suggesting any concrete resolutions on the way forward.

What to do?

This is the journey of someone who is part of the whole Church, so there was vital affirmation for me, in the mid-1990s, in becoming a member of a support group for women called to RC ordination. “New Wine” meets four times a year, and all of us have matured in each other’s company.

This group experience has helped me to see that I should become more pro-active about my vocation: to study theology and pastoral care despite the Church’s lack of encouragement. There are no grants available for lay people to undertake substantial courses in theology. However, thanks to anonymous, ecumenical generosity, I have been able to join an Open University-type first degree course in Contextual Theology at the ecumenical college, Luther King House, in Manchester.

Our residential weekends are, to me, an embodiment of the Church of the future: women and men, young and getting-on; married and single; with and without children; respecting and learning from each others’ traditions; enthusiastically open to thinking and debate; collaborative (celebrating the eucharist with people; and throughout all focussed on Christ.)

Many in my year expect to be accepted for ordination. When asked about my aim, the reply emerged: “to be the best nuisance possible.” The next generation of RC women must not be subjected to this block on their prayer life.

However, I do not now feel, as I did for much of the 1990s, that an institutional obstacle dooms me to stunted prayer development. I will press for institutional reform as opportunities arise, but I can live out my eucharistic calling in work as a cleaner, in solitude at home, in courses of study, in contact with people .... Moments happen to all of us when consecration and communion become real in our world:

Mother

under the trees, a different tatoo:
rain falling, pouring, meets a new umbrella,
leaf-focussed drops snap fresh nylon
- there’s rhythm, could be a rhythm -

in this drenched suburban avenue, why not
register the beat, heartbeat of the universe,
break free, even from the charge of romancing
to hear the foetal pulse, our pulse, inside Your Being?

Olive Powell February 2000


Overview Signs of a Vocation A woman's journey Steps to take Answering critics Writing your story
Six options for Catholic women who feel called to the priesthood?

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.