Go to our home page! Get in touch with us!
Comment nous transférer vos dons! Devenez un ami et soutenez-nous de manière régulière! Faites vos dons en ligne à travers une page web sécurisée. Fixez nos travaux futurs en se rappelant nous dans votre volonté Écrivez-nous!
Les conséquences sociales de notre campagne

Les conséquences sociales de notre campagne

L’ordination des femmes va enrichir l’Église des charismes féminins. Cela aura des conséquences pastorales spirituelles et pastorales. Cela a aussi d’énormes implications pour le bien être social des femmes.

Nous vous présentons ici deux exemples d’une telle conséquence sociale : l’un provenant d’Asie et l’autre, d’Afrique. Les femmes souffriront également socialement et physiquement, aussi longtemps que l’Église continuera à les exclure des rôles de direction en son sein.

Pour éradiquer l’oppression des femmes d’Asie

Read the complete letter here!« Nous sommes des membres de l’Église Catholique de Malaisie qui ont été et sommes encore impliqués dans des organisations de l’Église, dans des communautés chrétiennes de base, des organisations interreligieuses et des organisations non gouvernementales variées pour les femmes, la justice, les pauvres et les marginaux. Nous soutenons fermement la demande ce soutien financier pour maintenirwww.womenpriests.org. Nous sommes d’accord avec les arguments en faveur de l’ordination des femmes tels qu’ils sont publiés sur ce site Web et nous soutenons complètement l’ordination des femmes dans l’Église Catholique »

« Dans notre culture où les femmes ont moins de valeur, sont moins privilégiées et sont moins saintes, nous avons désespérément besoin de changer la mentalité des hommes et des femmes pour faire éclore une société plus juste. L’Église Catholique est en position de pointe pour toutes les questions de justice et de solidarité avec les pauvres, de la même manière, elle doit être aussi à la pointe de la lutte contre l’oppression des femmes. Quand les femmes seront admises à la prêtrise dans l’Église Catholique, ses enseignements que les femmes et les hommes sont tous deux également crées à l’image de Dieu seront crédibles. Par ce mouvement, l’Église Catholique reconnaîtra finalement la dignité des femmes qui leur est due et leur rôle dans la société » Signé par 27 femmes et hommes.

Pour protéger les femmes contre le sida en Afrique

Read the full story here!Un autre exemple pertinent est celui du Sida en Afrique. C’est un énorme problème. Au cours des deux dernières décades, 24 million de personnes sont mortes du sida, 2,3 millions pour la seule année 2003. dans certains pays, 40% de la population est infectée. Dans une société patriarcale, ce sont souvent les femmes et leurs enfants qui sont les victimes innocentes.

C’est tragique que les autorités enseignantes officielles de l’Église Catholique Romaine, le Pape et la Congrégation pour la Doctrine de la Foi à Rome déclarent encore que l’utilisation des contraceptifs est ‘intrinsèquement mauvaise’ dans toutes les circonstances, y compris pendant une épidémie comme celle du sida. Selon l’Église Catholique Romaine officielle, les femmes ne peuvent pas se protéger elles-mêmes contre les avances de leur mari, même s’ils sont infectés par le sida.

L’origine de cette interdiction malheureuse gît non seulement dans une mauvaise interprétation des principes chrétiens, mais aussi dans le fait que les femmes n’ont rien à dire dans ces matières. Tout est décidé par des hommes.

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The social consequences of our Campaign

The social consequences of our Campaign

The ordination of women will enrich the Church with the charisms of women. This will have spiritual and pastoral consequences. It also has enormous implications for the social welfare of women.

Here we present three examples of such social consequences: one from Asia and two from Africa. Women will suffer, also socially and physically, as long as the Church continues to ban women from leadership roles in the Church.

Eradicating the oppression of women in Asia

Read the complete letter here!"We are members of the Catholic Church in Malaysia who have been and still are involved in church organizations, basic Christian communities, inter-religious organizations and various non-governmental organizations for women, justice, the poor and the marginalised. We strongly support the application for financial support to maintain www.womenpriests.org. We agree with the arguments for the ordination of women as published on this website, and fully support the ordination of women in the Catholic Church."

"In our culture where women are less worthy, less privileged and less holy, we desperately need to change the mindset of both men and women to bring about a just society. Just as the Catholic Church is recognised for its leadership on issues of justice and solidarity with the poor, it is in a similar position of leadership and influence for the eradication of oppression of women. When women will be admitted into the priesthood in the Catholic Church, its teaching that women and men are both equally made in the image of God would be credible. By this move, the Catholic Church would finally give due recognition to the dignity of women, and their role in society." Signed by 27 women and men

Protecting women against AIDS in Africa

Read the full story here!Another relevant example is the question of AIDS in Africa . It is an enormous problem. During the last two decades 24 milions died of AIDS, 2.3 million in 2003 alone. In some countries 40% of the population is infected. In a patriarchal society it frequently is the women and their children who are the innocent victims.

It is tragic that the official teaching authority of the Roman Catholic Church, the Pope and the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith in Rome, still declare the use of contraceptives ‘intrinsically evil’ in any circumstances, including during an epidemic like AIDS. According to official Roman Catholic teaching, women may not protect themselves against the advances of their husbands, even if they are infected with AIDS.

The origin of this misguided prohibition lies not only in a wrong interpretation of Christian principles, but also in the fact that women have no say in these matters. Everything is decided by men.

Protecting women against Female Genital Mutilation

The facts about Fenale Genital Mutilation Female genital mutilation is an extreme example of the general: subjugation of women. Because it is a practice backed by centuries of tradition, its elimination will require far-reaching changes in the status and role of women. Today African women and men are arguing against the custom; they need practical, positive and non-sensationalist support. The role of women in the Church will help to enhance the rights of women throughout the world. Empowerment of women by the Church will help to stop this abuse of women.


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.