¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Le sacerdoce universel des fidèles

Le sacerdoce universel des fidèles

Tous les fidèles partagent le sacerdoce du Christ.

Le Christ Seigneur, Pontife pris d’entre les hommes (cf. Héb. 5, 1-5) fit du nouveau peuple “un royaume de prêtres pour Dieu son Père” (Apoc. 1, 6 ; 5, 9-10). En effet, par la régénération et l’onction de l’Esprit-Saint, les baptisés sont consacrés pour être une maison spirituelle et un sacerdoce saint.

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, n° 10

Ceci a d’énormes conséquences pour les femmes :

1. Le Christ a aboli le sacerdoce de l’Ancien Testament basé sur la sacralisation (= sainteté présumée) du temps, des lieux, des objets du culte, de la descendance sacerdotale.

2. Jésus a institué un sacerdoce dont tous les baptisés partagent la dignité fondamentale.

En conséquence, il en résulte qu’à la fois les hommes et les femmes peuvent partager également le sacerdoce ministériel du Christ. Nous pouvons appeler cela à juste titre l’intention implicite du Christ.

Le Christ a aboli le sacerdoce de l’Ancien Testament basé sur de soi-disant réalités “sacrées”

Jésus n’a pas été un réformateur social bien que ses principes religieux auraient dû entraîner d’énormes conséquences sociales. Il n’a pas déclenché directement une révolution sociale. On ne peut dire la même chose de son engagement en matière de religion. Quoiqu’il n’ait pas attaqué directement les structures sociales de son temps, il ne supportait pas les structures religieuses désuètes et inadéquates. Dans ce domaine, son action aurait être difficilement plus brutale. Il a aboli complètement le sacerdoce tel qu’il était compris selon les conceptions de l’Ancien Testament.

Pour saisir toutes les conséquences de l’attitude de Jésus en ce domaine, nous devons nous rappeler que le sacerdoce de l’Ancien Testament repose sur une philosophie qui établit une distinction entre le sacré et le profane. Certaines réalités concrètes comme les maisons, le troupeau, manger et dormir, faire des affaires, etc. étaient considérés comme ordinaires, “profanes”. Dieu n’était pas directement présent dans ces réalités. D’autres réalités de notre monde étaient considérées comme ayant été pénétrées par la présence de Dieu et étaient de ce fait devenues “sacrées”. C’est l’origine des jours “sacrés” (le sabbat et les jours de fête), des lieux “sacrés” (principalement le Temple), des objets “sacrés” (par exemple les vases utilisés pour la liturgie) et les personnes “sacrées” (les prêtres) qui étaient consacrés à Dieu. Le prêtre de l’Ancien Testament était séparé des autres hommes de la même manière que le sabbat était considéré plus saint que le lundi ou le Temple un lieu plus sacré que la Piscine de Bethesda. Le prêtre était l’incarnation d’une présence divine au sein d’un monde profane.

Plutôt que de substituer de nouvelles réalités sacrées aux anciennes, le Christ a été plus loin. Il a radicalement abrogé la distinction entre le sacré et le profane. Cela risque de secouer certains chrétiens qui continuent inconsciemment à penser dans la ligne de l’Ancien Testament. Ils s’imaginent que le Nouveau Testament est une version mise à jour de l’Ancien. Ils pensent que nos églises ont pris la place du Temple de Jérusalem, que notre dimanche replace le sabbat, que nos vases sacrés correspondent aux ustensiles du Temple et que le prêtre du Nouveau Testament est une version améliorée de celui de l’Ancien. La cause de cette confusion est due en partie aux évolutions au sein de l’Église au cours de son histoire, en partie en raison du souci de répondre au besoin bien humain de disposer de réalités quasi-sacrées telles que les églises en tant qu’éléments faisant partie d’une religion établie. Mais fondamentalement, s’accrocher ainsi à des réalités “sacrées” est une régression et contraire à l’enseignement du Nouveau Testament.

Prenez l’exemple du concept de lieu sacré. Les Juifs ne pouvaient offrir des sacrifices que dans le Temple (Deut 12, 1-14) et, même dans l’enceinte du Temple, l’endroit devenait de plus en plus sacré au fur et à mesure que l’on se rapprochait de son centre. Seuls les prêtres pouvaient pénétrer dans la chambre intérieure du sanctuaire, appelée le “Saint des Saints”, et encore seulement un fois par an (Héb 9, 7). Le Christ n’attribue plus d’importance aux lieux saints. Il sanctifie tous les lieux. Dans son Royaume, le culte peut être rendu non seulement à Jérusalem ou sur une montagne sainte, mais en tout lieu pourvu que ce soit “en esprit et en vérité” (Jean 4, 20-24). En fait, son propre corps est le nouveau temple qui peut remplacer l’ancien dans n’importe quelle partie du monde (Jean 2, 21). Quand le Christ a célébré la messe pour la première fois à la Dernière Cène, il l’a fait dans la chambre haute d’une maison ordinaire (Marc 14, 12-16). Pour couronner le tout, le lieu qu’il a choisi pour offrir son unique sacrifice au monde entier n’était pas le la cour du Temple mais une lugubre colline où l’on exécutait les condamnés (Héb 13, 12). Quand le Christ mourut, la distinction entre sacré et profane fut balayée une fois pour toutes. LesÉvangiles rapportent que le rideau du Temple, qui cachait le “Saint des Saints”, se coupa en deux, de haut en bas (Marc 15, 37). L’Église des premiers temps avait compris cela. Elle n’avait ni temple, ni église, ni chapelle. Les premiers chrétiens célébraient la prière commune et l’Eucharistie partout où ils rassemblaient la communauté. Cela reste fondamentalement vrai pour l’Église d’aujourd’hui. Bien que la coutume de réserver certains endroits à la prière est louable en soi, celle-ci a été introduite furtivement à partir du quatrième siècle, résurgence du système religieux ancien.

La même chose peut être dite au sujet des jours sacrés. Pour les Juifs, le sabbat était un jour consacré à Dieu durant lequel l’homme ne pouvait travailler à son profit. Jésus a été souvent en conflit avec les Pharisiens parce qu’il refusait de suspendre son apostolat le sabbat. Des conflits surgirent lorsque les disciples arrachèrent des épis de blé (Marc 12, 1-8), quand Jésus guérit un homme à la main paralysée (Marc 3, 6), quand il guérit un homme hydropique (Luc 9, 1-16), et quand il rendit la vue à un aveugle à Siloé (Jean 9, 1-16). Au cours de la discussion, l’affirmation la plus révolutionnaire de Jésus fut : “Le sabbat est fait pour l’homme, et non l’homme pour le sabbat” (Marc 2, 27). En d’autres termes, le sabbat n’a pas de valeur en lui-même, parce qu’il est un temps “sacré” d’un genre ou l’autre, mais parce qu’il répond à un besoin humain.

Tandis que les prêtres de l’Ancien Testament devaient offrir fréquemment des sacrifices à des moments sacrés bien spécifiés, le Christ a sanctifié le temps dans sa totalité par son sacrifice offert une fois pour toutes (Héb 9, 25-28). Avec la mort de Jésus, le sabbat et tous les temps sacrés perdaient leur sens (Gal 4, 8-11). Désormais, chaque jour, chaque heure peut convenir pour prier et célébrer le culte. L’habitude chrétienne de célébrer l’Eucharistie “le premier jour de la semaine” parce que Jésus est ressuscité ce jour-là (Jean 20, 1) a conduit à la célébration de la messe hebdomadaire le dimanche. Toutefois, le dimanche n’était pas un nouveau “sabbat” pour les chrétiens. C’est encore par un malheureux retour à la façon de penser de l’Ancien Testament que les chrétiens des siècles ultérieurs, en particulier les chrétiens des Églises protestantes, en sont revenus à une observance du dimanche copiée sur le modèle pharisien.

Après avoir examiné l’attitude du Christ vis-à-vis des lieux et des temps sacrés, nous ne serons pas surpris d’observer la même attitude vis-à-vis du sacerdoce sacré. Il a aboli le sacerdoce en tant qu’institution sacrée. Lui-même n’appartenait pas au sacerdoce d’Aaron. Comme représentant de tous les êtres humains, il a aboli le fait que la dignité sacerdotale se transmette par la filiation charnelle. Il a établi un nouveau sacerdoce construit sur “la puissance d’une vie indestructible” (Héb 7, 16).

Les notions de l’Ancien Testament sont si étrangères au Christ que nous ne le voyons jamais appliquer le terme de prêtre à lui-même ou à ses disciples. En fait, ce n’est que dans la Lettre aux Hébreux que le “sacerdoce” du Christ est discuté en termes précis et comparé au sacerdoce de l’Ancien Testament (voir en particulier Héb 5, 1-4 ; 7, 26-28). Certes, le Christ a confié une tâche spécifique à ses apôtres et à leurs successeurs, mais il n’aurait pas été d’accord que ce ministère soit considéré comme assuré par un nouveau groupe de ministres sacrés mis à part comme ce fut le cas à l’époque de l’Ancien Testament. Les évolutions ultérieures de l’Église qui ont favorisé une telle mise à part (avec les vêtements “sacrés”, les dignités ecclésiastiques et les prérogatives liées à un tel statut) l’auraient certainement sérieusement préoccupé et fort attristé.

Jésus a institué un sacerdoce dont tous les baptisés partagent la dignité fondamentale

Le Christ a exercé son sacerdoce en prêchant et en s’offrant lui-même sur le Calvaire. Pour poursuivre ces deux ministères, tout(e) disciple doit porter sa croix (Matt 16, 24) ; chacun(e) de ses disciples doit lui rendre témoignage, même sous menace de persécution ou de mort (Matt 10, 16-22). Tous les chrétiens ont part par conséquent au sacerdoce royal du Christ (1 Pierre 2, 5-9). Tous peuvent être appelés “des prêtres pour Dieu son Père” (Apoc 1, 6), “prêtres de Dieu et du Christ” (Apoc 20, 6). Tous ensemble, ils forment “pour notre Dieu, un royaume et des prêtres” (Apoc 5,10).

Ce sacerdoce commun est donné par le sacrement de baptême. Il faut remarquer que ce baptême est exactement le même pour tous. Il n’y a absolument aucune différence entre le baptême conféré aux femmes et celui administré aux hommes. Saint Paul affirme que le baptême du Christ transcende et efface toutes les différences sociales que l’on rencontre dans l’humanité. “Car tous, vous êtes, par la foi, fils de Dieu, en Jésus Christ. Oui, vous tous qui avez été baptisés en Christ, vous avez revêtu Christ. Il n’y a plus ni Juif, ni Grec ; il n’y a plus ni esclave, ni homme libre ; il n’y a plus l’homme et la femme ; car tous, vous n’êtes qu’un en Jésus Christ” (Gal 3, 26-28).

L’ordination sacerdotale sacramentelle est un développement du partage prophétique et sacrificiel fondamental qui a déjà été conféré au baptême. Bien que le sacerdoce ministériel ajoute une nouvelle fonction aux pouvoirs reçus au baptême, et donc qu’il est substantiellement beaucoup plus que le baptême, il lui est en même temps intrinsèquement lié.

Le sacerdoce commun des fidèles et le sacerdoce ministériel ou hiérarchique, s’ils diffèrent essentiellement et non pas seulement en degré, sont cependant ordonnés l’un à l’autre puisque l’un comme l’autre participe à sa façon à l’unique sacerdoce du Christ.

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, n° 10.

Quand le Concile dit que le partage du sacerdoce du Christ par le sacrement de l’Ordination est essentiellement différent, cela signifie que le baptême par lui-même ne confie pas la mission de prêcher, de diriger et d’offrir le sacrifice au nom du Christ. Cela ne veut pas dire non plus que, dans le cas de l’Ordination, une série différente de valeurs créant une discrimination devrait être admise comme bonne.

Quelles que soient les conditions requises pour l’ordination au ministère sacerdotal, celle-ci ne peut être considérée comme une réalité “sacrée” qui rendrait une personne intrinsèquement supérieure à une autre. Vatican II est clair sur ce point :

La dignité des membres est commune à tous par le fait de leur régénération dans le Christ ; commune est la grâce des fils, commune la vocation à la perfection, unique est le salut, unique l’espérance et indivise la charité. Il n’existe donc pas d’inégalité dans le Christ et dans l’Église en raison de la race ou de la nation, de la condition sociale ou du sexe... Même si certains, par la volonté du Christ, sont mis à la tête des autres comme docteurs, dispensateurs des mystères et pasteurs, il existe cependant entre tous une véritable égalité, sur les plans de la dignité et de l’action commune, en ce qui regarde l’édification du Corps du Christ.”

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, n° 32.

Mais si le sexe ne peut être un facteur d’exclusion comme réalité “sacrée” ou comme une conséquence d’une inégalité pré-baptismale, comment peut-il jouer un rôle au niveau du signe sacramentel ?

Conclusion

L’Écriture ne nous permet pas de déduire que la différence de sexe joue un rôle dans le sacerdoce du Christ. Le Christ a replacé un sacerdoce basé sur le sacré par un sacerdoce reposant sur la grâce. Il serait illogique de laisser entendre que les inégalités balayées par le baptême vont resurgir dans le sacerdoce sacramentel. Si chaque chrétien rayonne du Christ à travers sa vie, il ne semble exister aucune raison pour qu’il ne puisse être chargé de le représenter à l’Eucharistie.

Le signe sacramentel du sacerdoce est la personnalité humaine du prêtre ordonné, qu’il soit un homme ou une femme. L’Écriture elle-même n’enseigne pas explicitement que les femmes peuvent être ordonnées. Mais il semble qu’il découle logiquement de la nature du sacerdoce du Christ que les femmes pourraient et devraient prendre part à son sacerdoce sacramentel.

Extrait de “Did Christ Rule out Women Priests ?” [“Dieu a-t-il exclu les femmes prêtres ?”], par John Wijngaards, McCrimmon’s, Great Wakering 1986, pp. 64-68.

Sujets connexes :

Texte de John Wijngaards.
Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

Si vous citez ce texte, merci d’indiquer la référence : www.womenpriests.org!

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Priesthood of all the Faithful

The Priesthood of all the Faithful

All the faithful share in Christ's priesthood.

Christ the Lord, High Priest taken from among people (cf. Heb 5,1-5), "made a kingdom and priests to God his Father" (Rev 1,6; cf. 5,9-10). The baptized, by regeneration and the anointing of the Holy Spirit, are consecrated into a spiritual house and a holy priesthood.

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

The implications of this for women are enormous:

  1. Christ did not institute a cultic priesthood, that is one based on the sacrality (=presumed holiness) of times, places, cultic objects, priestly descent.
  2. Christ instituted a priesthood in whose basic dignity all the baptised share.

Therefore, the implication of this is that both men and women can also share in Christ's ministerial priesthood. We may rightly call this the implied intention of Christ.

Christ did not institute a cultic priesthood based on socalled 'sacred' realities.

Jesus was not a social reformer, though his religious principles would have enormous social implications. He did not directly initiate a social revolution. The same cannot be said about his involvement in religion. Though he did not immediately attack the social structures of his time, he was intolerant regarding antiquated and inadequate religious structures. In this field his action could hardly have been more ruthless. The religious leadership he established was not a cultic priesthood, as understood in Egyptian religion, the Mesopotamian religions, Hellenism or even in the temple worship at Jerusalem.

To demonstrate the typical features of cultic priesthood, I will adduce examples from the Old Testament temple worship. However, this should not be interpreted - as has sometimes been done incorrectly - as implying hostility by Jesus against his own people or his own religion. He was transcending cultic worship and his Jewishness helped him to do so. Read: Priesthood and Jesus' Jewish Inspiration.

To understand the full implications of Jesus' attitude in this matter, we should recall that cultic priesthood rested on a philosophy that distinguished between the sacred and the profane. Some everyday realities, such as houses, cattle, eating and sleeping, doing business, and so on, were ordinary or 'profane.' God was not really directly present in these realities. Other realities of our world however were considered to have been penetrated with God's presence and to have become 'sacred' on that account. This is the origin of 'sacred' times (the sabbath and feastdays), 'sacred' places (mainly the Temple), 'sacred' objects (e.g. vessels used for worship) and 'sacred' persons (priests) consecrated to God. The Old Testament priest was separated from other men on the same basis as the sabbath was considered holier than the Monday, or the Temple was a more sacred place than the Pool of Bethzatha. The priest was the embodiment of a divine presence in a profane world.

Instead of substituting new holy realities for the old ones, Christ went further. He radically abrogated the distinction itself between the sacred and the profane. This may seem startling to some christians who unconsciously continue to think along cultic lines. They may imagine New Testament worship to be an updated version of the Old Testament temple worship. They think our churches have taken the place of the Temple at Jerusalem, that our Sunday replaces the sabbath, that our sacred vessels continue the Temple furniture and that the New Testament priest is a polished version of the Old Testament one. The cause of this misunderstanding is partly due to developments within the Church in the course of her history, partly in deference towards the human necessity of having quasi-sacred realities like churches as part of an established religion. But basically the clinging to 'sacred' realities is a regression and contrary to the teaching of the New Testament.

Take the example of sacred place. The Jews were allowed to sacrifice only in the Temple (Dt 12, 1-14) and, even within the Temple, place became holier the nearer one approached its centre. The inner chamber of the sanctuary, called 'Holy of Holies,' could be entered only by the high priest and then only once a year (Heb 9, 7). Christ no longer acknowledges such holy places. He sanctified all place. In his kingdom, worship can be given not only in Jerusalem or on a holy mountain, but anywhere so long as it is done 'in spirit and in truth' (Jn 4, 20-24). In fact, his own body was the new temple that could substitute for the old in any part of the world (Jn 2, 21). When Christ celebrated the Eucharist for the first time at the Last Supper, he did so in the upper room of an ordinary house (Mk 14, 12-16). To crown it all, the place he chose for bringing his unique sacrifice for the whole world was not the Temple court but an ugly hill of execution (Heb 13, 12). When Christ died, the distinction between sacred and profane places was wiped out once and for all. The Gospels record that the curtain of the Temple, which screened off the 'Holy of Holies', 'was torn in two, from top to bottom' (Mk 15,37). The early Church realised this. They had no temples, churches or chapels. They celebrated common prayer and the Eucharist wherever they gathered as a community. The same has basically remained true of the Church today. Though the custom of setting aside places for prayer is praiseworthy in itself, it crept in again from the fourth century as a re-introduction of the old religious system.

The same holds good for sacred days. For the Jews, the sabbath was a day consecrated to God on which man was not allowed to work for his own profit. Jesus frequently clashed with the Pharisees because he refused to suspend his apostolate on the sabbath. Conflicts arose when his disciples plucked ears of corn (Mt 12, 1-8), when Jesus cured a man with a withered hand in the synagogue (Mk 3, 6), when he healed a man who had dropsy (Lk 14, 1-6), and when he gave sight to the blind man at Siloam (Jn 9, 1-16). Jesus' most revolutionary statement in the discussion was: 'The sabbath was made for man, not man for the sabbath' (Mk 2, 27). In other words, the sabbath does not derive its value from itself, from being 'sacred' time of some kind or other, but from serving a human need.

Whereas cultic priests had to offer frequently at specified sacral times, Christ sanctified the totality of time by his all-sufficient sacrifice (Heb 9, 25-28). With Jesus' death the sabbath and all these sacral times had become meaningless (Gal 4, 8-11). From now on, any day and any hour of the day could be the appropriate time for prayer and celebration. The christian practice of celebrating the Eucharist on 'the first day of the week' because Christ rose on that day (Jn 20, 1) led to the practice of the weekly Eucharist on Sundays. However, the Sunday was not a new 'sabbath' for them. It is again by an unfortunate return to cultic thinking that christians of later centuries, and particularly in Protestant churches, reverted to a Sunday observance patterned on a sabbatic model.

Having seen Christ's attitude towards sacred time and place, we will not be surprised to see his same attitude towards sacred priesthood. He abolished the priesthood as a sacral institution. He himself did not belong to the priesthood of Aaron. As representative of all human beings, he abolished that priestly dignity which was linked to bodily descent. He established a new priesthood built on 'the power of indestructible life' (Heb 7, 16).

The cultic notions of the priesthood were so alien to Christ that we never find him applying the term priest to himself or his followers. In fact, it is only in the letter to the Hebrews that the 'priesthood' of Christ is discussed in explicit terms and compared with the priesthood of the Old Testament temple worship (see especially Heb 5, 1-4; 7, 26-28). Christ entrusted a special task to his apostles and their successors, but he would not have agreed to this ministry being understood as setting apart a new sacred group as had been the case for cultic priests in Old Testament times. The later developments in the Church which favoured such a separation (with 'sacred' vestments, clerical dignities and status prerogatives) would certainly have alarmed and saddened him.

Christ instituted a priesthood in whose basic dignity all the baptised share.

Christ exercised his priesthood by offering himself on Calvary and by preaching. To continue these two ministries, every disciple has to carry his/her cross (Mt 16, 24); each of his followers has to bear witness to him even unto persecution and death (Mt 10, 16-22). All christians therefore participate in the royal priesthood of Christ (1 Pet 2, 5-9). All can be called 'priests to his God and Father' (Rev 1, 6), 'priests of God and of Christ' (Rev 20, 6). All together they constitute 'a kingdom and priesthood to our God' (Rev 5, 10).

This common priesthood is given through the sacrament of baptism. We should note that this baptism is exactly the same for every single person. There is absolutely no difference in the baptism conferred on women. St Paul affirms that the baptism of Christ transcends and obliterates whatever social differences exist among humankind. 'It is through faith that all of you are God's children in union with Christ Jesus. For all who are baptised into the union of Christ have taken upon themselves the qualities of Christ himself. So there is no difference between Jews and Gentiles, between slaves and free men, between men and women... You are all one in union with Christ Jesus' (Gal 3, 26-28).

The ordination to the sacramental priesthood is an extension of the basic sacrificial and prophetic sharing that has already been given in baptism. Although the ministerial priesthood adds a new function to the powers received in baptism, and is thus substantially more than baptism, it is at the same time intrinsically related to it.

'Though they differ essentially and not only in degree, the common priesthood of the faithful and the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood are none the less ordered one to the other; each in its own way shares in the one priesthood of Christ.'

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

When the Council says that the sharing in Christ's priesthood through the sacrament of Holy Orders is essentially different, it means that baptism by itself does not confer the commission to teach, rule and offer sacrifice in the name of Christ. It does not mean to say that for Holy Orders a different set of discriminating values would hold good.

Whatever may be required for ordination to the ministry, it cannot be a 'sacred' reality that would make one person intrinsically superior to another. Vatican II is explicit on this.

'There is a common dignity of members deriving from their rebirth in Christ, a common grace as children, a common vocation to perfection, one salvation, one hope and undivided charity. In Christ and in the Church there is, then, no inequality arising from race or nationality, social condition or sex... Although by Christ's will some are established as teachers, dispensers of the mysteries and pastors for the others, there remains, nevertheless, a true equality between all with regard to the dignity and the activity that is common to all the faithful in the building up of the Body of Christ.'

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 32.

But if sex cannot be a limiting factor as a 'sacred' reality or as a remnant of pre-baptismal inequality, how can it play a role on the level of the sacramental sign?

Conclusion

Scripture does not allow us to infer that the difference of sex plays a part in Christ's priesthood. Christ replaced a priesthood based on sacrality by a priesthood based on grace. It would be illogical to imply that discriminations wiped out by baptism should be revived in the sacramental priesthood. If every Christian radiates Christ through his or her life, there seems to be no reason why every Christian could not be commissioned to represent him at the Eucharist.

The sacramental sign of the priesthood is the human personality of the ordained priest, whether man or woman. Sacred Scripture itself does not explicitly teach that women can be ordained. But it does seem a logical inference from the nature of Christ's priesthood, that women could and should partake in the sacramental priesthood.

From "Did Christ Rule out Women Priests?" by John Wijngaards, McCrimmon's, Great Wakering 1986, pgs. 64-68.

Related topics:

John Wijngaards




Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.