FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!header

Responsive image

ANFANG

GRÜNDE

GEGEN DEN PAPST?!

DEBATTE

SICHT

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Die Priesterschaft aller Gläubigen

Das Priestertum aller Gläubigen

Richtiges Verständnis der hlg. Schrift
* „gemeinte” Bedeutung
* beabsichtigter Rahmen
* Rationalisierungen
* literarische Formen

Alle Gläubigen haben an Christi Priestertum teil

Christus der Herr, als Hoherpriester aus den Menschen genommen (vgl. Hebr 5,1-5), hat das neue Volk "zum Königreich und zu Priestern für Gott und seinen Vater gemacht" (vgl. Offb 1,6; 5,9-10). Durch die Wiedergeburt und die Salbung mit dem Heiligen Geist werden die Getauften zu einem geistigen Bau und einem heiligen Priestertum geweiht

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

Die Folgen dessen sind für Frauen enorm:

  1. Christus schaffte die alttestamentliche Priesterschaft, die auf der Sakralität (anmaßende Heiligkeit) der Zeit, des Ortes, der Kultobjekte und der priesterlichen Abstammung beruhte, ab.
  2. Christus errichtete ein Priestertum, an deren grundlegenden Stellung alle Getauften teilhaben.

Deshalb, die Folge dessen ist, dass sowohl Frauen als auch Männer an Christi geistlicher Priesterschaft teilhaben. Wir dürfen mit Recht das als die implizite Absicht Christi bezeichnen.

Christus schaffte die alttestammentliche Priesterschaft, die auf der sogenannten Sakralität beruhte, ab

Jesus war nicht ein sozialer Reformer, obwohl seine religiösen Grundsätze enorme soziale Auswirkungen gehabt hätten. Er rief nicht direkt eine soziale Revolution ins Leben. Dasselbe kann aber nicht über seine religiöse Absicht gesagt werden. Obwohl er die sozialen Strukturen seiner Zeit nicht direkt angriff, war er intolerant in Bezug auf die antiquierten und inadequaten religiösen Strukturen. In dieser Beziehung hätten seine Aktionen kaum härter sein können. Er hob das Priesteramt, wie es im Alten Testament verstanden wurde, völlig auf.

Um die volle Auswirkung der Einstellung Jesu zu diesem Thema zu verstehen, sollten wir uns ins Gedächtnis rufen, dass die alttestamentarische Priesterschaft auf einer Philosophie beruhte, die klar zwischen Weltlichem und Geistlichem unterschied. Manche der alltäglichen Dinge, wie Häuser, Vieh, Essen und Schlafen, Geschäfte machen usw. waren einfach oder weltlich. Gott war nicht wirklich direkt anwesend bei diesen Dingen. Andere Dinge unserer Welt jedoch sah man als durchdrungen von der Anwesenheit Gottes und diese sind dadurch „geheiligt“. Darauf sind die „heiligen“ Zeiten (der Sabbath und die Festtage), „heilige“ Orte (hauptsächlich der Tempel), „heilige“ Gegenstände (z. Bsp. die Gefäße für den Gottesdienst) und „heilige“ Personen (Priester), die Gott geweiht sind, zurückzuführen. Der Priester des Alten Testamentes war anders als andere Menschen, auf derselben Basis wie der Sabbath heiliger war als der Montag, oder der Tempel geheiligter als der See von Bethzata. Der Priester war die Verkörperung der göttlichen Präsenz in einer profanen Welt.

Anstatt die alten religiösen Dinge durch neue zu ersetzen, ging Christus weiter. Er setzte die Unterscheidung zwischen Weltlichem und Geistlichem außer Kraft. Das mag einigen Christen, die unbewusst im Denken des Alten Testaments verblieben, bestürzend erscheinen. Es kann sein, dass sie das Neue Testament als eine Neuauflage des Alten betrachten. Sie denken, dass unsere Kirchen den Tempel von Jerusalem ersetzen, dass unser Sonntag an Stelle des Sabbaths tritt, dass unsere heiligen Gefäße die Tempelutensilien ersetzen und dass der neutestamentarische Priester eine brilliante Version des alttestamentarischen ist. Die Ursache dieses Missverständnisses ist teilweise auf die Entwicklung der Kirche im Verlauf der Geschichte zurückzuführen, teilweise aus Achtung vor dem menschlichen Bedürfnis nach quasi-heiligen Dingen wie Kirchen als Teil einer etablierten Religion. Aber im Wesentlichen ist das Klammern an „heiligen“ Dingen ein Rückschritt und gegensätzlich zu den Lehren des Neuen Testaments.

Nehmen wir als Beispiel den heiligen Ort. Die Juden durften nur im Tempel ihre Opfer darbringen (Dt 12, 1-14) und sogar innerhalb des Tempels wurde der Ort immer heiliger, je mehr man sich dem Zentrum näherte. Der innere Raum des Heiligtums, das sogenannte „Allerheiligste“ durfte nur vom Hohen Priester und nur einmal im Jahr betreten werden (Heb 9, 7). Christus anerkannte solch heilige Orte nicht mehr. Er heiligte alle Orte. In seinem Königreich kann man Gott nicht nur in Jerusalem oder auf einem heiligen Berg anbeten, sondern überall, solange es „im Geist und in der Wahrheit“ getan wird (Joh. 4, 20-24). Tatsächlich war sein eigener Leib der neue Tempel, der den alten überall auf der Welt ersetzen konnte (Joh. 2, 21). Als Christus die erste heilige Messe beim Letzten Abendmahl feierte, machte er das in einem Raum im Obergeschoßes eines einfachen Hauses. (Mk 14, 12-16). Zu allem Überfluss wählte er als Ort für sein einzigartiges Opfer für die ganze Welt nicht den Tempelhof sondern einen hässlichen Galgenberg (Heb. 13, 12). Als Christus starb, wurde die Unterscheidung zwischen geheiligten und weltlichen Orten ein für alle Mal ausgelöscht. Die Evangelien berichten, dass der Vorhang im Tempel, der das Allerheiligste verdeckte, von oben bis unten entzwei riss (Mk 15, 37). Die Urkirche erkannte das. Sie hatte weder Tempel, noch Kirchen oder Kapellen. Sie zelebrierten ihr einfaches Gebet und die Eucharistie wo immer sie als Gemeinschaft zusammenkamen. Das blieb grundsätzlich in der heutigen Kirche erhalten. Obwohl der Brauch extra Orte zum Gebet zu schaffen an und für sich lobenswert ist, hat er sich im 4. Jahrhundert als eine Neueinführung eines alten religiösen Sytems wieder eingeschlichen.

Dasselbe gilt für geheiligte Tage. Für die Juden war der Sabbath Gott geweiht und man durfte nicht für seinen eigenen Profit arbeiten. Jesus stand oft im Widerspruch zu den Pharisäern, weil er sich weigerte, seine missionarische Arbeit am Sabbath auszusetzen. Konflikte tauchten auf, als seine Jünger Getreideähren ausrissen (Mt 12, 1-8), als Jesus den Mann mit der vertrockneten Hand (Mk 3,6) und einen anderen von der Wassersucht heilte (Lk 14, 1-6) und als er in Siloam einem Blinden wieder das Augenlicht gab (Joh. 9, 1-16). Jesu revolutionärste Aussage in der Diskussion war: „Der Sabbath ist für den Menschen da, nicht der Mensch für den Sabbath.“ (Mk.2, 27). Mit anderen Worten, der Sabbath zieht seinen Nutzen nicht aus sich selbst, aus seiner Heiligkeit, sondern daraus, dass er ein menschliches Bedürfnis abdeckt.

Wohingegen die alttestamentarischen Priester häufig zu speziellen heiligen Zeiten opferten, heiligte Christus alle Zeiten durch sein ausreichendes Opfer (Heb 9, 25-28). Mit Jesu Tod sind der Sabbath und alle diese geheiligten Zeiten bedeutungslos geworden (Gal 4, 8-11). Von nun an ist jeder Tag und jede Stunde des Tages eine geeignete Zeit zum Gebet und zur Feier. Die christliche Praxis, die Eucharistie am ersten Tag der Woche - weil Christus an diesem Tage auferstanden ist (Joh.20, 1) – zu feiern, führte zu der Praxis der wöchentlichen Sonntagsmesse. Dieser Sonntag war jedoch kein neuer „Sabbath“ für sie. Es ist wiederum ein bedauerlicher Rückfall in das Denken des Alten Testaments, dass Christen der späteren Jahrhunderte, und vor allem in den protestantischen Kirchen, in eine Betrachtung des Sonntags nach pharisäischem Muster zurückkehrten.

Nachdem wir die Haltung Christi geheiligter Zeit und geheiligten Orten gegenüber erkannt haben, werden wir nicht überrascht sein, seine gleiche Haltung dem geweihten Priestertum gegenüber zu finden. Er schaffte das Priestertum als sakrale Institution ab. Er selbst gehörte nicht der Priesterschaft des Aaron an. Als Vertreter aller Menschen schaffte er jene priesterliche Würde ab, die auf leiblicher Abstammung beruhte.

Er errichtete ein neues Priestertum, das auf der Kraft des „unzerstörbaren Lebens“ aufgebaut war (Heb 7, 16)

Die Begriffe des Priestertums das Alten Testaments waren Christus so fremd, dass wir keine Hinweise finden, dass er den Begriff Priester jemals auf sich oder seine Jünger angewandt hätte. Tatsächlich wird nur im Brief an die Hebräer das Priestertum Christi in diesem ausdrücklichen Terminus erwähnt und mit dem Priestertum des Alten Testaments (siehe besonders Heb 5, 1-4, 26-28) verglichen. Christus betraute seine Apostel und ihre Nachfolger mit einer besonderen Aufgabe, aber er hätte niemals einem geistlichen Amt zugestimmt, das als Hervorheben einer neuen geheiligten Gruppe im Sinne des Alten Testamentes verstanden hätte werden können. Die späteren Entwicklungen in der Kirche, welche eine solche Teilung (mit klerikalen Würden und Statusvorrechten) begünstigt hatten, hätten ihn sicher beunruhigt und betrübt.

Christus begründete ein Priestertum, an dessen grundlegender Würde alle Getauften teilhaben.

Christus übte sein Priesteramt dadurch aus, dass er sich selbst auf dem Kalvarienberg anbot und dabei predigte. Um diese beiden geistlichen Ämter fortzusetzen, muss jeder Jünger sein/ihr Kreuz auf sich nehmen (Mt 16, 24); jeder, der ihm nachfolgt, muss für ihn Zeugnis ablegen sogar bis zur Verfolgung und zum Tod (Mt 10, 16 –22). Alle Christen haben deshalb teil an dem königlichen Priestertum Christi (1 Pet 2, 5-9). Alle können sich Priester vor Gott, seinem Vater nennen (Off 1, 6), Priester Gottes und Christi (Off 20, 6). Alle zusammen begründen ein „Königreich und ein Priestertum vor unserem Gott“ (Off 5, 10).

Dieses allgemeine Priestertum wird durch das Sakrament der Taufe verliehen. Wir sollten zur Kenntnis nehmen, dass die Taufe für jede einzelne Person genau gleich ist. Es gibt absolut keinen Unterschied bei der Taufe von Frauen. Der heilige Paulus bestätigt, dass die Taufe Christi jeglichen sozialen Unterschied zwischen den Menschen auslöscht und ausgleicht. „Durch den Glauben seid ihr alle Gottes Kinder in Christus. Denn ihr alle, die ihr auf Christus getauft seid, habt Christus angelegt. Es gibt nicht mehr Juden und Griechen, nicht Sklaven und Freie, nicht Mann und Frau. Ihr seid alle eins in Christus.“ (Gal 3, 26 – 28).

Die Weihe zum sakramentalen Priestertum ist eine Ausweitung auf der Grundlage der opfernden und prophetischen Teilhabe, die bereits in der Taufe ausgesprochen wurde. Obwohl das geistliche Priesteramt der Kraft, die wir in der Taufe empfingen, neue Funktionen hinzufügt und deshalb wesentlich mehr bedeutet als die Taufe, hängt es gleichzeitig eng damit zusammen.

Das gemeinsame Priestertum der Gläubigen aber und das Priestertum des Dienstes, das heißt das hierarchische Priestertum, unterscheiden sich zwar dem Wesen und nicht bloß dem Grade nach. Dennoch sind sie einander zugeordnet: das eine wie das andere nämlich nimmt je auf besondere Weise am Priestertum Christi teil.

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

Wenn das Konzil sagt, dass die Teilhabe an Christi Priestertum durch das Sakrament der Priesterweihe sich im Wesentlichen unterscheidet, so bedeutet das, dass die Taufe selbst noch nicht den Auftrag zum Lehren, Leiten und zur Opferdarbringung im Namen Christi erteilt. Es bedeutet nicht zu behaupten, dass für die Priesterweihe eine andere Ordnung von unterschiedlichen Werten gültig ist. Was immer auch für die Weihe zum Priester erforderlich ist, kann nicht irgendeine „heilige“ Sache sein, die eine Person innerlich höher stellt als eine andere.

Das 2. Vatikanum erklärt das auf diese Weise:

Es gibt die gemeinsame Würde aller Mitglieder, die sich aus derWiedergeburt in Christus ableitet, eine gemeinsame Gnade als Kinder (Gottes?), eine gemeinsame Berufung zur Vollkommenheit, eine Erlösung, eine Hoffnung und die unteilbare Liebe. In Christus und in der Kirche gibt es folglich keinen Unterschied, der auf Rasse, Nationalität, sozialen Bedingungen oder Geschlecht beruht...... . Obwohl durch Christi Willen einige als Lehrer, Spender der Mysterien und Hirten für die anderen berufen sind, so bleibt jedoch eine wahre Gleichberechtigung zwischen allen in Bezug auf ihre Würde und ihrer Tätigkeit, die allen Gläubigen zuteil ist

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 32.

Schlussfolgerung

Die Schrift erlaubt uns also nicht, uns einzubilden, dass die Verschiedenheit der Geschlechter irgend eine Rolle bei der Teilhabe an Christi Priestertum spielt.

Christus ersetzte ein Priestertum, das auf vorgetäuschter Heiligkeit (Sakralität) beruhte durch eines, das auf Gnade beruht. Es wäre unlogisch anzudeuten, dass der Unterschied, der durch die Taufe zunichte gemacht wurde, im Sakrament der Priesterweihe wieder zum Leben erweckt werden sollte. Wenn jeder Christ durch sein bzw. ihr Leben Christus ausstrahlt, gibt es keinen Grund, warum es nicht auch jedem Christen erlaubt sein sollte, ihn in der Eucharistie zu vertreten.

Das sakramentale Zeichen des Priestertums ist die menschliche Persönlichkeit des geweihten Priesters, ob Mann oder Frau. Die Heilige Schrift selbst sagt nicht explizit, dass Frauen geweiht werden können. Aber es scheint eine logische Folge des natürlichen Priestertums Christi, dass Frauen am sakramentalen Priestertum teilnehmen könnten und sollten.

Aus Schloß Christus Frauen als Priesterinnen aus? von John Wijngaards, McCtimmon’s, Great Wakering 1986, pgs. 64 – 68.

Ähnliche Themen:

Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

"Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org"

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Marianne Haderer, A 3364 Neuhofen.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Priesthood of all the Faithful

The Priesthood of all the Faithful

All the faithful share in Christ's priesthood.

Christ the Lord, High Priest taken from among people (cf. Heb 5,1-5), "made a kingdom and priests to God his Father" (Rev 1,6; cf. 5,9-10). The baptized, by regeneration and the anointing of the Holy Spirit, are consecrated into a spiritual house and a holy priesthood.

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

The implications of this for women are enormous:

  1. Christ did not institute a cultic priesthood, that is one based on the sacrality (=presumed holiness) of times, places, cultic objects, priestly descent.
  2. Christ instituted a priesthood in whose basic dignity all the baptised share.

Therefore, the implication of this is that both men and women can also share in Christ's ministerial priesthood. We may rightly call this the implied intention of Christ.

Christ did not institute a cultic priesthood based on socalled 'sacred' realities.

Jesus was not a social reformer, though his religious principles would have enormous social implications. He did not directly initiate a social revolution. The same cannot be said about his involvement in religion. Though he did not immediately attack the social structures of his time, he was intolerant regarding antiquated and inadequate religious structures. In this field his action could hardly have been more ruthless. The religious leadership he established was not a cultic priesthood, as understood in Egyptian religion, the Mesopotamian religions, Hellenism or even in the temple worship at Jerusalem.

To demonstrate the typical features of cultic priesthood, I will adduce examples from the Old Testament temple worship. However, this should not be interpreted - as has sometimes been done incorrectly - as implying hostility by Jesus against his own people or his own religion. He was transcending cultic worship and his Jewishness helped him to do so. Read: Priesthood and Jesus' Jewish Inspiration.

To understand the full implications of Jesus' attitude in this matter, we should recall that cultic priesthood rested on a philosophy that distinguished between the sacred and the profane. Some everyday realities, such as houses, cattle, eating and sleeping, doing business, and so on, were ordinary or 'profane.' God was not really directly present in these realities. Other realities of our world however were considered to have been penetrated with God's presence and to have become 'sacred' on that account. This is the origin of 'sacred' times (the sabbath and feastdays), 'sacred' places (mainly the Temple), 'sacred' objects (e.g. vessels used for worship) and 'sacred' persons (priests) consecrated to God. The Old Testament priest was separated from other men on the same basis as the sabbath was considered holier than the Monday, or the Temple was a more sacred place than the Pool of Bethzatha. The priest was the embodiment of a divine presence in a profane world.

Instead of substituting new holy realities for the old ones, Christ went further. He radically abrogated the distinction itself between the sacred and the profane. This may seem startling to some christians who unconsciously continue to think along cultic lines. They may imagine New Testament worship to be an updated version of the Old Testament temple worship. They think our churches have taken the place of the Temple at Jerusalem, that our Sunday replaces the sabbath, that our sacred vessels continue the Temple furniture and that the New Testament priest is a polished version of the Old Testament one. The cause of this misunderstanding is partly due to developments within the Church in the course of her history, partly in deference towards the human necessity of having quasi-sacred realities like churches as part of an established religion. But basically the clinging to 'sacred' realities is a regression and contrary to the teaching of the New Testament.

Take the example of sacred place. The Jews were allowed to sacrifice only in the Temple (Dt 12, 1-14) and, even within the Temple, place became holier the nearer one approached its centre. The inner chamber of the sanctuary, called 'Holy of Holies,' could be entered only by the high priest and then only once a year (Heb 9, 7). Christ no longer acknowledges such holy places. He sanctified all place. In his kingdom, worship can be given not only in Jerusalem or on a holy mountain, but anywhere so long as it is done 'in spirit and in truth' (Jn 4, 20-24). In fact, his own body was the new temple that could substitute for the old in any part of the world (Jn 2, 21). When Christ celebrated the Eucharist for the first time at the Last Supper, he did so in the upper room of an ordinary house (Mk 14, 12-16). To crown it all, the place he chose for bringing his unique sacrifice for the whole world was not the Temple court but an ugly hill of execution (Heb 13, 12). When Christ died, the distinction between sacred and profane places was wiped out once and for all. The Gospels record that the curtain of the Temple, which screened off the 'Holy of Holies', 'was torn in two, from top to bottom' (Mk 15,37). The early Church realised this. They had no temples, churches or chapels. They celebrated common prayer and the Eucharist wherever they gathered as a community. The same has basically remained true of the Church today. Though the custom of setting aside places for prayer is praiseworthy in itself, it crept in again from the fourth century as a re-introduction of the old religious system.

The same holds good for sacred days. For the Jews, the sabbath was a day consecrated to God on which man was not allowed to work for his own profit. Jesus frequently clashed with the Pharisees because he refused to suspend his apostolate on the sabbath. Conflicts arose when his disciples plucked ears of corn (Mt 12, 1-8), when Jesus cured a man with a withered hand in the synagogue (Mk 3, 6), when he healed a man who had dropsy (Lk 14, 1-6), and when he gave sight to the blind man at Siloam (Jn 9, 1-16). Jesus' most revolutionary statement in the discussion was: 'The sabbath was made for man, not man for the sabbath' (Mk 2, 27). In other words, the sabbath does not derive its value from itself, from being 'sacred' time of some kind or other, but from serving a human need.

Whereas cultic priests had to offer frequently at specified sacral times, Christ sanctified the totality of time by his all-sufficient sacrifice (Heb 9, 25-28). With Jesus' death the sabbath and all these sacral times had become meaningless (Gal 4, 8-11). From now on, any day and any hour of the day could be the appropriate time for prayer and celebration. The christian practice of celebrating the Eucharist on 'the first day of the week' because Christ rose on that day (Jn 20, 1) led to the practice of the weekly Eucharist on Sundays. However, the Sunday was not a new 'sabbath' for them. It is again by an unfortunate return to cultic thinking that christians of later centuries, and particularly in Protestant churches, reverted to a Sunday observance patterned on a sabbatic model.

Having seen Christ's attitude towards sacred time and place, we will not be surprised to see his same attitude towards sacred priesthood. He abolished the priesthood as a sacral institution. He himself did not belong to the priesthood of Aaron. As representative of all human beings, he abolished that priestly dignity which was linked to bodily descent. He established a new priesthood built on 'the power of indestructible life' (Heb 7, 16).

The cultic notions of the priesthood were so alien to Christ that we never find him applying the term priest to himself or his followers. In fact, it is only in the letter to the Hebrews that the 'priesthood' of Christ is discussed in explicit terms and compared with the priesthood of the Old Testament temple worship (see especially Heb 5, 1-4; 7, 26-28). Christ entrusted a special task to his apostles and their successors, but he would not have agreed to this ministry being understood as setting apart a new sacred group as had been the case for cultic priests in Old Testament times. The later developments in the Church which favoured such a separation (with 'sacred' vestments, clerical dignities and status prerogatives) would certainly have alarmed and saddened him.

Christ instituted a priesthood in whose basic dignity all the baptised share.

Christ exercised his priesthood by offering himself on Calvary and by preaching. To continue these two ministries, every disciple has to carry his/her cross (Mt 16, 24); each of his followers has to bear witness to him even unto persecution and death (Mt 10, 16-22). All christians therefore participate in the royal priesthood of Christ (1 Pet 2, 5-9). All can be called 'priests to his God and Father' (Rev 1, 6), 'priests of God and of Christ' (Rev 20, 6). All together they constitute 'a kingdom and priesthood to our God' (Rev 5, 10).

This common priesthood is given through the sacrament of baptism. We should note that this baptism is exactly the same for every single person. There is absolutely no difference in the baptism conferred on women. St Paul affirms that the baptism of Christ transcends and obliterates whatever social differences exist among humankind. 'It is through faith that all of you are God's children in union with Christ Jesus. For all who are baptised into the union of Christ have taken upon themselves the qualities of Christ himself. So there is no difference between Jews and Gentiles, between slaves and free men, between men and women... You are all one in union with Christ Jesus' (Gal 3, 26-28).

The ordination to the sacramental priesthood is an extension of the basic sacrificial and prophetic sharing that has already been given in baptism. Although the ministerial priesthood adds a new function to the powers received in baptism, and is thus substantially more than baptism, it is at the same time intrinsically related to it.

'Though they differ essentially and not only in degree, the common priesthood of the faithful and the ministerial or hierarchical priesthood are none the less ordered one to the other; each in its own way shares in the one priesthood of Christ.'

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 10.

When the Council says that the sharing in Christ's priesthood through the sacrament of Holy Orders is essentially different, it means that baptism by itself does not confer the commission to teach, rule and offer sacrifice in the name of Christ. It does not mean to say that for Holy Orders a different set of discriminating values would hold good.

Whatever may be required for ordination to the ministry, it cannot be a 'sacred' reality that would make one person intrinsically superior to another. Vatican II is explicit on this.

'There is a common dignity of members deriving from their rebirth in Christ, a common grace as children, a common vocation to perfection, one salvation, one hope and undivided charity. In Christ and in the Church there is, then, no inequality arising from race or nationality, social condition or sex... Although by Christ's will some are established as teachers, dispensers of the mysteries and pastors for the others, there remains, nevertheless, a true equality between all with regard to the dignity and the activity that is common to all the faithful in the building up of the Body of Christ.'

Vatican II, Lumen Gentium, no 32.

But if sex cannot be a limiting factor as a 'sacred' reality or as a remnant of pre-baptismal inequality, how can it play a role on the level of the sacramental sign?

Conclusion

Scripture does not allow us to infer that the difference of sex plays a part in Christ's priesthood. Christ replaced a priesthood based on sacrality by a priesthood based on grace. It would be illogical to imply that discriminations wiped out by baptism should be revived in the sacramental priesthood. If every Christian radiates Christ through his or her life, there seems to be no reason why every Christian could not be commissioned to represent him at the Eucharist.

The sacramental sign of the priesthood is the human personality of the ordained priest, whether man or woman. Sacred Scripture itself does not explicitly teach that women can be ordained. But it does seem a logical inference from the nature of Christ's priesthood, that women could and should partake in the sacramental priesthood.

From "Did Christ Rule out Women Priests?" by John Wijngaards, McCrimmon's, Great Wakering 1986, pgs. 64-68.

Related topics:

John Wijngaards




Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.