FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!header

Responsive image

ANFANG

GRÜNDE

GEGEN DEN PAPST?!

DEBATTE

SICHT

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jesus befreit Frauen

Jesus befreit Frauen

Richtiges Verständnis der hlg. Schrift
* „gemeinte” Bedeutung
* beabsichtigter Rahmen
* Rationalisierungen
* literarische Formen

Wenn wir versuchen, Jesu Einstellung gegenüber der Frau zu rekonstruieren, stellen wir fest, daß er sich sehr wohl der Anwesenheit von Frauen unter seinen Zuhörern bewußt war. So entnimmt er seine Beispiele für die Verkündigung sowohl dem Leben von Frauen wie von Männern. Er weiß, daß Frauen ihre Kostbarkeiten in Schachteln aufbewahrten und daß sie in der Dunkelheit im Haus ein Licht anzünden (Mt 6,19 - 21; 5,15 - 16). Er spricht von Kindern, die auf dem Marktplatz spielen und „anderen Kinder zurufen: wir haben für euch auf der Flöte (Hochzeitslieder) gespielt, und ihr habt nicht getanzt." Er weiß, daß junge Frauen mit ihren Lampen auf den Bräutigam warten (Mt 11,16 - 19; 25,1 - 13). Er erzählt seine Gleichnisse oft paarweise, eines, das von einer Frau, und eines, das von einem Mann handelt:

  1. die Frau, die Sauerteig unter einen großen Trog Mehl mischte und der Mann, der ein Senfkorn in seinem Garten in die Erde steckte (Lk 13,18 - 21);
  2. die Frau, die von zehn Drachmen eine verliert und sie im ganzen Haus sucht und der Hirt, der von hundert Schafen eines verliert und ihm nachgeht (Lk 15,3 - 10);
  3. die Witwe, die vom Richter ihr Recht gegenüber ihrem Feind einfordert (Lk 18,1 - 8) und der Freund, der mitten in der Nacht vom Nachbarn Brot haben will (11,5 - 13).

Wir können mit Sicherheit annehmen, daß Maria, Jesu Mutter, auf ihn einen großen Einfluss ausübte. Viele seiner vorbildlichen Verhaltensweisen hat er von ihr gelernt. Sie muss ihn unterstützt haben, als er sein öffentliches Wirken antrat. Eine Spur davon ist in der Erzählung von der Hochzeit von Kana bei Johannes erhalten geblieben. Dort war es Maria, die ihn drängte, sein erstes Wunder zu tun. Gegenüber seinem Protest, „meine Stunde ist noch nicht gekommen", bestand sie ruhig auf ihrer Bitte. Jesus änderte seine Meinung und begann sein messianisches Wirken mit der Verwandlung von Wasser in Wein (Joh 2,1 - 12).

Bei verschiedenen entscheidenden Augenblicken seiner Entwicklung wurde Jesus durch die Begegnung mit Frauen zum Handeln herausgefordert und gewann durch sie neue Erkenntnisse.

Jesus antwortet auch auf die stummen Gesten von Frauen: auf die reuige Prostituierte, die mit wohlriechendem Öl seine Füße salbte (Lk 7,36 - 50), auf die Witwe von Nain, die hinter der Bahre ihres einzigen toten Sohnes ging (Lk 7,11 17), auf die Frau, deren Rücken seit achtzehn Jahren von Arthritis verkrümmt war (Lk 13, 10 - 17), auf die arme Witwe, die im Tempel zwei kleine Münzen in den Opferkasten warf (Lk 21,1 - 4), auf die weinenden Frauen von Jerusalem, die ihn das Kreuz tragen sahen (Lk 23,27 - 31).

Aus diesen und anderen Texten können wir mit Sicherheit schließen, das Jesus sehr wohl um die Anliegen und Interessen von Frauen wußte. Er sorgte sich um sie, er lernte von ihnen, er erkannte in ihren Bedürfnissen und ihren Anregungen den Anruf des Geistes Gottes. Die Vergebung seines Vaters und die Versöhnung mit ihm galten Frauen wie Männern gleichermaßen.

Für eine Auslegung der erwähnten Bibelstellen vgl. E. Moltmann-Wendel, The Women around Jesus, London 1982; M. Grey, Redeeming the Dream: feminism, redemption and Christian tradition, London 1989, besonders 95 - 103.

Jesu Christi befreiendes Handeln

Wir könnten nun von einer tieferen Ebene her fragen: Was hat Jesu Interesse den Frauen eigentlich gebracht? Hat es sich in wirklich befreienden Tatsachen ausgewirkt? Hat der auferstandene Christus die Versprechen des irdischen Jesus von Nazareth auch wirklich eingelöst?

Die Antwort ist: Ja, er hat! Mit dem Kommen Christi hat sich in der jungen Kirche die Stellung der Frau in der Religion entscheidend gewandelt. Gehörte sie vorher nur indirekt dem Bund an, den Jahwe mit Israel schloß, so ist sie jetzt ein Kind Gottes auf gleicher Ebene wie der Mann.

Im Alten Testament waren nur Männer die eigentlichen und unmittelbaren Bundespartner. Nur männliche Neugeborene wurden am achten Tag nach ihrer Geburt beschnitten (Gen 17,9 - 14). Der Bund wurde daher direkt mit Männern geschlossen. Frauen gehörten ihm nur über Männer an, - zuerst als Töchter ihrer Väter, dann als Ehefrauen ihrer Männer.

Nur Männern kam das Recht zu, im Tempel Opfer darzubringen. Dreimal im Jahr, an den drei großen Festtagen, „sollen alle deine Männer vor dem Herrn erscheinen" (Ex 23,17). Frauen konnten mitkommen und am Opfermahl teilnehmen, ebenso wie Kinder, Sklaven und Gäste. Doch es war nicht eigentlich ihr Opfer. Der Hauptgrund (Rationalisierung!) war, daß Frauen ebenso wie Kinder, Sklaven und Vieh, Eigentum des Ehemannes waren (vgl. Ex 20,17). „Eine gute Frau ist ein guter Besitz" (Sir 26,3; vgl. auch Spr 31,10). Der Ehemann konnt seine Frau praktisch nach Belieben entlassen, nicht aber umgekehrt die Frau den Mann (Dtn 24,1 - 4). Ein religiöses Gelübde, das eine Frau ablegte, galt nur dann, wenn es von ihrem Vater oder Ehemann gebilligt wurde (Num 40,2 - 17 ??).

Im Tempel von Jerusalem durften Frauen nur den sog. Frauenvorhof betreten. Weiterzugehen war ihnen nicht gestattet.

Männer dagegen konnten den Vorhof Israels betreten. Dieser Hof lag gegenüber dem Brandopferaltar und dort nahmen die Priester die Opfergaben entgegen. Als Maria und Joseph Jesus im Tempel darstellten, mußte Maria im Frauenvorhof zurückbleiben, während Joseph das Kind und die Turteltauben in den Vorhof Israels brachte. Und dort war es auch, in der Einfriedung für Frauen, wo sie Simeon und Anna trafen (Lk 2,22 - 38).

Die gleiche Unterscheidung bestand im Traditionsjudentum weiter fort. Nur Männer durften die vorgeschriebenen Gebete vortragen. Männer saßen auf den Hauptbänken in den Synagogen. Männer durften aus der Torah vorlesen. Und nur Männer, und zwar zehn an Zahl, bildeten die erforderliche Mindestzahl für das öffentliche Gebet. Im Alter von 13 Jahren wurden Jungen in der Bar-Mitzwa-Feier in ihre religiösen Erwachsenenpflichten eingeführt. Für Mädchen gab es so etwas nicht.

Erst seit 1810 wurde im sog. Reformjudentum Frauen mehr Aufmerksamkeit zuteil. Heute ist die sog Bat-Mizwa-Feier für Mädchen ab 12 Jahren allgemein üblich. Zu einer Erklärung der Frauenpflichten im orthodoxen Judentum vgl. D. Eisenberg, A Guide for the Jewish Woman and Girl, Brooklyn 1986. Einen feministischen Ansatz zu modernen Fragestellungen kann man nachlesen bei dem liberalen Rabbi J. Neuberger, Whatever’s happening to Women?, London 1991.

Nur von diesem Hintergrund her können wir den radikalen Umbruch ermessen, den Christus herbeigeführt hat. Es ist ein und derselbe Ritus, nämlich die Taufe, wodurch Männer wie Frauen in den Neuen Bund aufgenommen werden. Wie wir bereits gesehen haben, gehen wir in der Taufe in Tod und Auferstehung Christi ein. Männer und Frauen werden in ihr umgewandelt und gehen als „neue Schöpfung" aus ihr hervor.

Aufgrund dieser Tatsache nehmen Männer und Frauen am eucharistischen Mahl teil und haben gleiche religiöse Pflichten. Diese tatsächlichen Veränderungen haben weitreichende Folgen. So lesen wir bei Paulus:

„Denn ihr alle, die ihr auf Christus getauft seid, habt Christus (als Gewand) angelegt. Er gibt nicht mehr Juden und Griechen, nicht Sklaven und Freie, nicht Mann und Frau; denn ihr alle seid ‘einer’ in Christus Jesus" (Gal 3, 27 - 28).

Man möge den grundlegenden Wandel beachten, den Christus in den Beziehungen zwischen Gott und den Menschen herbeigeführt hat: Sie sind eine Wirklichkeit. Doch diese religiöse Wirklichkeit bedurfte und bedarf immer noch der Umsetzung in soziale und kirchliche Wirklichkeit.

Die katholische Kirche ist über eine Diskussion dieser Konsequenzen noch nicht hinausgekommen. Über 19 Jahrhunderte brauchte sie, um öffentlich anzuerkennen, daß die Sklaverei mit Gottes Plan unvereinbar ist und dem Geist Christi widerspricht (Gaudium et Spes, 29). Heute weigert sich Rom immer noch, Frauen zum sakramentalen Priestertum zuzulassen. Wir können sicher sein, daß diese Frage im letzten auf der Grundlage der von Christus herbeigeführten fundamentalen Gleichheit gelöst werden wird.

John Wijngaards

Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

"Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org"

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Franz Schmalz, 76532 Baden-Baden.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jesus Liberates Women

Jesus Liberates Women

When we try to reconstruct Jesus’ attitude to women, we detect an awareness of their presence among his audience. Jesus draws his examples from the life of women, no less than from the life of men. He knows that women keep their treasures in boxes, and that they light a lamp at dusk (Matthew 6,19-21; 5,15-16). He speaks of children playing in the market place and of girls waiting for the bridegroom at a wedding (Matthew 11,16-19; 25,1-13). He often tells his parables in pairs, with a story about a woman running parallel to a story about a man:

  • the housewife who mixes leaven in the dough/ the farmer who plants a mustard seed;
  • the woman who lost a coin/ the shepherd who lost a sheep;
  • the widow pestering the judge/ the friend waking up his neighbour at night.

Luke 13,18-21; 15,3-10; 11,5-13 and 18,1-8.

We can be sure that Mary, Jesus’ mother, had a great influence on him. Jesus learned many of his ideals from her. She must have encouraged him when he began his public ministry. A trace of this has been recorded in the Gospel of John. During the wedding at Cana it was Mary who urged him to perform his first miracle. ‘My hour has not yet come’, Jesus protested. But when she quietly insisted, he changed his mind and ushered in the messianic era by turning water into wine John 2,1-12).

At various crucial stages in his own development Jesus gained insighst and was prompted to action through encounters with women.

* When the woman who suffered of a flow of blood touched Jesus from behind, ‘he perceived in himself that power had gone forth from him’. Perhaps, Jesus’ healing ministry took its beginning from such encounters (Mark 5,21-43).

* The Syro-Phoenician woman pleaded with Jesus to drive the demon from her daughter. Jesus refused because he felt his mission was restricted to his own people. However, the woman argues with him; and Jesus gives in, thus making a first step on the way to his universal mission (Mark 7,24-30).

* In the house of Mary and Martha Jesus meets, perhaps for the first time, a woman who, like the men who sit at his feet, wants to be a disciple. Jesus is impressed by this and encourages her ‘discipleship’ even if it runs counter to conventional expectations of a woman’s role (Luke 10,38-42; see also 8,1-3).

Jesus also responded to the silent gestures of women: the repentant prostitute who poured ointment on his feet, the widow of Nain who walked behind the bier of her dead son, the woman who was bent double with arthritis, the widow in the Temple who put two small coins in the offering box, and the women of Jerusalem who wept as they saw Jesus carrying his cross (Luke 7,36-50; 7,11-17; 13,10-17; 21,1-4 and 23,27-31).

From all these and other texts we can be sure that the historical Jesus was very much aware of the concerns of women. He cared about them. He learned from them. He recognised in their needs, and their suggestions, promptings by the Spirit. The forgiveness and reconciliation he brought from his Father, were as much for women as for men.

For an analysis of such Gospel passages, read: Elisabeth MOLTMANN-WENDEL, The Women around Jesus, London 1982; A Land Flowing with Milk and Honey, London 1986, pp. 137-148; Mary GREY, Redeeeming the Dream: feminism, redemption and Christian tradition, London 1989, esp. pp. 95-103.

Jesus Christ liberates

We could now proceed to a deeper level and ask: What use has Jesus’ concern been to women? Has it actually resulted in facts of liberation? Has the Risen Christ proved as effective for women as the promise held out by Jesus of Nazareth?

The answer is: yes! The position of women in religion changed dramatically with the coming of Christ. Whereas she had only belonged indirectly to the covenant of Moses, woman was now made a child of God on an equal footing with man.

In the Old Testament, it was only the men who were the immediate bearers of the covenant. It was the male children who were circumcised when they were eight days old (Genesis 17,9-14). The covenant, therefore, was concluded directly with the men. Women belonged to it only through men - first as daughters of their fathers, then as wives of their husbands.

It was the men who were expected to offer sacrifices in the Temple. Three times a year, at the three major feasts, all the menfolk were to appear before Yahweh’s face (Exodus 23,17). The women could come along and take part in the sacrificial meal, as did children, slaves and guests. But it was not really their own sacrifice. The principal reason (rationalisation!) was that the wife, like children, slaves and cattle were, in fact, owned by the husband (see Exodus 20,17). ‘A good wife is the best of possessions’ (Sirach 26,3; see also Proverbs 31,10). The husband could practically divorce his wife at will, she could not divorce him (Deuteronomy 24,1-4). A religious vow by a woman was only valid if it was ratified by her father or husband (Numbers 30,2-17).

In the Temple at Jerusalem, Jewish women could enter inside the wall of separation into the court of women. They were not allowed to proceed further.

The men, on the other hand, could enter the court of Israel. It was this court that faced the altar of holocausts and it was there that the priests accepted the gifts for the sacrifice. When Mary and Joseph presented Jesus in the Temple, Mary had to stay back in the court of women, while Joseph carried the child Jesus and the turtle doves into the court of Israel. It was there, in the women’s enclosure, that they met Simeon and Anna (Luke 2,22-38).

Also in traditional Judaism the same distinction persisted. It was the men who were required to recite the regular prayers. Men had the principal seats in the synagogues. Men could read from the Torah. Only males, ten of them, could form the quorum, minyan, required for public prayers. At the age of 13, boys were initiated into their adult religious duties by the Bar Mitzvah ceremony. No such thing existed for girls.1

Only since 1810 AD, in socalled Reform Judaism, has more attention been given to women. A Bar Mitzvahceremony for women is now common. For an orthodox explanation of women’s duties in Judaism, read D.EISENBERG, A Guide for the Jewish Woman and Girl, Brooklyn 1986. A feminist approach to modern questions is presented by the liberal rabbi Julia NEUBERGER in Whatever’s happening to Women?, London 1991.

It is with this background in mind that we can appreciate the revolutionary change brought by Christ. For both men and women are initiated into the new covenant by one and the same rite, namely baptism. We have already seen above that in baptism we die with Jesus and rise with Jesus. Both men and women undergo this transformation and come out as ‘a new creation’.

On account of this, both men and women share equally in the eucharistic meal and have equal religious duties. These are factual changes with enormous consequences.

Let us listen to Paul:

All of you are children of God
through faith in Christ Jesus.
All of you who have been baptized in Christ,
have clothed yourselves in Christ.
Thus there is no longer Jew nor Greek,
free nor slave,
male nor female.
For you are all one in Christ Jesus.

Galatians 3,27-28

Notice the revolutionary changes Christ has brought about in the factuality of human relationships to God. But this religious factuality still needed, and needs, translation into social and ecclesial factuality.

The Catholic Church is still discussing all the consequences. It took the Church more than 19 centuries to publicly accept that slavery is incompatible with God's design and against the mind of Christ (Vatican II, Gaudium et Spes no 29). Now Rome is still resisting the admission of women to the sacramental priesthood. We can be sure that ultimately this question will be resolved on the basis of the fundamental equality established by Christ.

John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.