FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!header

Responsive image

ANFANG

GRÜNDE

GEGEN DEN PAPST?!

DEBATTE

SICHT

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Beabsichtigter Rahmen

Beabsichtigter Rahmen

Richtiges Verständnis der hlg. Schrift
* „gemeinte” Bedeutung
* beabsichtigter Rahmen
* Rationalisierungen
* literarische Formen

Regel Nr. 3: Wir dürfen einem biblischen Autor nicht Aussagen und Begründungen zuordnen, wenn sie über den von ihm beabsichtigten Rahmen hinaus reichen.

„Um ihre Meinung kundzutun, verzichten die heiligen Bücher nicht auf Ausdrucksformen, des allgemeinen Sprachgebrauchs jener Zeit, besonders im Orient. Auf solche Formen wird nur dann verzichtet, wenn dies nicht zur Heiligkeit und Wahrheit Gottes passt.

Pius XII, Divino Afflante Spiritu, Denz. 2294 (3829-3830).

Wir erklären diese Regel anhand folgender berühmter Beispiele:

  1. Halbe Bestätigungen und Ansichten
  2. Kohelets Zweifel
  3. Bilder und Lehre in den Schöpfungsberichten
  4. Der beabsichtigte Rahmen der Worte und Taten Jesu
  5. Der beabsichtigte Rahmen der „christlichen Hausordnung"

Halbe Bestätigungen und Ansichten

Diplomaten besitzen üblicherweise eine unerreichte Meisterschaft der Sprache. Diplomat ist gleichbedeutend mit vorsichtiger, wenn nicht mehrdeutiger Ausdrucksweise. Bedenken wir die zahllosen Variationen die uns zur Verfügung stehen, um etwas auszudrücken? Eine Auswahl der möglichen Aussagen von Politikern für oder gegen den Beitritt Großbritanniens zur europäischen Währungsunion.

„Großbritannien wird sicher der Europawährung beitreten!"
„Was! Eine europäische Währung ohne Großbritannien"!?
„Es ist sehr unwahrscheinlich, dass Großbritannien nicht am Euro teilnimmt."
„Großbritannien könnte vielleicht der Europawährung beitreten."
„Großbritannien könnte sehr wohl der Europawährung beitreten."
„Es ist nicht ausgeschlossen, dass Großbritannien der gemeinsamen Währung beitritt."
„Ich weiß nicht, ob Großbritannien jemals Mitglied der europäischen Währungsunion wird."
„Man kann den möglichen Beitritt Großbritanniens zur Europawährung in Zweifel ziehen."
„Es erscheint unwahrscheinlich, dass Großbritannien an der Europawährung teilnimmt."
„Ich bin der Meinung, dass Großbritannien niemals der Europawährung beitreten wird."

Wir bemerken, dass solche Aussagen wesentlich mehr enthalten, als eindeutige Bestätigungen oder Verneinungen. Sie umfassen einen weiten Rahmen von Aussagen: Von absoluter Sicherheit bis hin zu Wahrscheinlichkeiten und Meinungen.

Was geschieht, wenn solche Aussagen inspiriert wurden? Ist es möglich, dass Gott eine Aussage über eine Möglichkeit, eine zweifelnde Bemerkung, oder gar eine einfache Meinung inspiriert? Die Antwort ist „JA." Und: Gott bestätigt nicht mehr und nicht weniger als der menschliche Schreiber. Mit anderen Worten: Wenn der Autor seinen Zweifel ausdrückt, wird Gottes Inspiration die Art dieses Ausdrucks nicht verändern. Es ist und bleibt ein inspirierter Ausdruck, jedoch ein Zweifelnder! Der Hl. Paulus liefert uns einen klassischen Beweis. Verärgert schreibt er an die Korinther:

„Oder seid ihr auf den Namen Paulus getauft worden?
A. „Ich danke Gott, dass ich niemand von euch getauft habe, außer Krispus und Gaius, so dass keiner sagen kann, ihr seiet auf meinen Namen getauft worden."
B. „Ich habe allerdings auch die Familie des Stephanas getauft."
C. „Ob ich sonst noch jemand getauft habe, weiß ich nicht." 1 Kor 1,13-16

Folgen wir den Gedanken des Paulus. Mit einiger Deutlichkeit behauptet er, er habe nur Krispus und Gaius getauft. (Aussage A). Dann fällt ihm ein, er hat auch noch die Familie des Stephanas getauft. (Aussage B). Zum Schluss zieht er alles vorher gesagte in Zweifel: „Ob ich sonst noch jemand getauft habe, weiß ich nicht." (Aussage C). Das ist die Sprache eines normalen Menschen. Wir haben alle drei Aussagen miteinander zu lesen, denn die dritte korrigiert die beiden ersten. Tatsächlich ist die Summe aller drei Aussagen nur Zweifel. Ändert die Tatsache der Inspiration den menschlichen Aspekt? Macht sie ein Dogma aus jeder dieser Aussagen? Verwandelt die Inspiration den Zweifel in eine Tatsache? Sicherlich nicht. Die wesentliche Aussage Paulus‘ bleibt. Es ist unerheblich, wie viele er getauft hat. Wichtig ist, dass er sie alle auf den Namen Jesu getauft hat. Diese Grundaussage, trotz aller Nuancen, ist das, was Paulus vom Heiligen Geist empfing.

Kohelets Zweifel.

Der Verfasser des Buches Kohelet setzt sich mit einem echten Problem auseinander: Was ist der Sinn des Lebens. „Was erhält der Mensch dann durch seinen ganzen Besitz und durch das Gespinst seines Geistes, für die er sich unter der Sonne anstrengt?" (Koh 2,22). Der Schreiber wiederholt dieses Thema immer wieder. Das Leben ist ihm ein einziges großes Fragezeichen. „Denn,: Wer kann erkennen, was für den Menschen besser ist in seinem Leben, während der wenigen Tage seines Lebens voll Windhauch, die er wie ein Schatten verbringt?" (Koh 6,12) Er äußert sogar Zweifel über ein Leben nach dem Tod: „Denn jeder Mensch unterliegt dem Geschick, und auch die Tiere unterliegen dem Geschick. Sie haben ein und dasselbe Geschick. Wie diese sterben, so sterben jene. Beide haben ein und denselben Atem. Einen Vorteil des Menschen gegenüber dem Tier gibt es da nicht. Beide sind Windhauch. Beide sind aus Staub entstanden, beide kehren zum Staub zurück. Wer weiß, ob der Atem der einzelnen Menschen wirklich nach oben steigt, während der Atem der Tiere ins Erdreich hinabsinkt?" (Koh 3,19-21). Der Verfasser findet schließlich keine vollständige Antwort auf seine Frage. Er glaubt an Gott, der die Sünder bestrafen und die Rechtschaffenen belohnen wird (Koh 8,12; 11,9; 12,1 etc.), aber seine Frage nach dem letzten Sinn dieses harten Lebens bleibt unbeantwortet!

Was sollen wir von diesem inspirierten Buch halten? Die Antwort ist klar. Gott inspirierte einen Philosophen, einen Denker, nicht um Lehren zu verkünden, sondern um Fragen aufzuwerfen. Seine Aufgabe war, seine Zeitgenossen zum Denken zu bringen, um ihnen mitzuteilen, dass Leiden und Tod – menschlich betrachtet – unlösbare Rätsel bleiben. Erst die Offenbarung und die Erlösung durch Jesus Christus würden Gottes Lösung dieser Fragen bringen. Auch hier inspiriert der Geist Gottes den Geist des Buches. Der Schriftsteller wollte ein Problem aufzeigen, aber keine endgültige Lösung liefern. Gott inspirierte ihn, genau das zu tun und nicht mehr.

Bilder und Lehre in den Schöpfungsberichten

Genesis 1,2 – 2,4a beschreibt die Erschaffung der Welt. Der Autor präsentiert ein schematisches Bild von sechs Tagen. Gott hat, dieser Erzählung nach, alle Dinge geschaffen, nach dem Bild der Wissenschaft seiner Zeit: Die Erde eine Scheibe, darüber eine Himmelskuppel, die Sonne und der Mond als Leuchten. Was wollte der inspirierte Schreiber? Wollte er Naturwissenschaft lehren? Wollte er, dass wir das sechs Tage Schema wörtlich nehmen? Eine Textanalyse macht klar, er wollte uns Glaubenswahrheiten lehren: Gott schuf alles, er machte alles gut, er schuf die Menschen als Krone des Universums, er will, dass wir ihn an jedem siebenten Tag verehren. Das ist, was der Verfasser aussagen will, und das ist auch was Gott will das wir erfahren und glauben! Astronomie, Naturwissenschaft oder Biologie waren nicht im Rahmen seines Buches.

Sehen wir uns die sogenannten Widersprüche in der Heiligen Schrift an! Es gibt sie tatsächlich, aber nicht was Aussagen oder Bestätigungen der Lehre betrifft. Wir werden sehen, dass die Widersprüche aus zufälligen Fallstricken bestehen, unter denen die echten Aussagen verborgen liegen. Im ersten Schöpfungsbericht (Gen 1,20-28) wird die Erschaffung des Menschen als letzte krönende Tat Gottes dargestellt. Dem zweiten Schöpfungsbericht (Gen 2,7) nach beginnt Gott mit der Erschaffung des Menschen. Der Unterschied liegt im verwendeten Bild, nicht in der Grundaussage, die beiden Berichten zugrunde liegt: Die Menschen stehen an der Spitze aller Geschöpfe Gottes.

Der beabsichtigte Rahmen der Worte und Taten Jesu.

Im Gleichnis vom barmherzigen Samariter erzählt Jesus: „Ein Mann ging von Jerusalem nach Jericho hinab...(Lukas 10,30).

Was will Jesus lehren ? Sicher brüderliche Hilfsbereitschaft, („handle genauso!" Vers 37) keineswegs die Tatsache des Zwischenfalls.

Jesus sagte: "Die Füchse haben ihre Höhlen und die Vögel ihre Nester, der Menschensohn aber hat keinen Ort, wo er sein Haupt hinlegen kann." (Matthäus 8,20).

Wollte uns Jesus tierisches Verhalten lehren? Meinte er ernsthaft er habe kein Dach überm Kopf? Aus dem Johannesevangelium wissen wir, dass Jesus und die Apostel eine kleine Gemeinschaftskasse hatten. (Joh 13,29). Jesus wollte sein totales Desinteresse an materiellem Besitz deklarieren.

Jesus predigte: „Ihr aber sollt euch nicht Rabbi (Meister) nennen lassen, denn nur einer ist euer Meister, ihr aber alle seid Brüder (und Schwestern). Auch sollt ihr niemand auf Erden Vater nennen, denn nur einer ist euer Vater, der im Himmel. (Mt 23,8-9).

Wollte Jesus diese Anreden verbieten? Was hatte er im Sinn?

„Ich aber sage euch, schwört überhaupt nicht ....Euer Ja sei ein Ja, euer Nein ein Nein." (Mt 5,34-37).

Wollte Jesus den Eid vor Gericht abschaffen? War das seine Absicht? Jesus selbst hat vermutlich vor dem Hohen Rat unter Eid ausgesagt haben. (Mt 26,63-64).

"Leistet dem, der euch etwas Böses antut, keinen Widerstand, sondern wenn dich einer auf die rechte Backe schlägt, dann halt ihm auch die andere hin." (Mt 5,39).

Lehnt Jesus Notwehr ab? Verbietet er dem Staat Polizei oder Heer zu unterhalten? Was wollte er sagen? Im Gegensatz dazu, protestiert Jesus, als er ins Gesicht geschlagen wurde. (Joh 18,23). Vergleiche auch Römer 13,4.

Noch ein Text, den wir studieren wollen. Wir lesen, dass Jesus eine ganze Nacht lang betete und dann berief er Leute, die er bei sich haben wollte. Es waren die zwölf Apostel, sie sollten mithelfen, das Reich Gottes zu verkünden.

"Die Namen der zwölf Apostel sind: an erster Stelle Simon, genannt Petrus, und sein Bruder Andreas, dann Jakobus, der Sohn des Zebedäus, und sein Bruder Johannes, Philippus und Bartholomäus, Thomas und Matthäus, der Zöllner, Jakobus der Sohn des Alphäus, und Thaddäus, Simon Kananäus (genannt der Zelot) und Judas Iskariot. (Mt 10,1-4; Mk 3,13-19; Lk 6,12-16).

Es waren zwölf Männer, keine einzige Frau! Aus anderen Anlässen weist die Glaubenskongregation darauf hin wie sensibel Jesus Frauen gegenüber war. „Nicht nur einmal brach er Frauen gegenüber mit Traditionen seiner Zeit. Aber nicht bei der Apostelauswahl. Er nahm nicht eine einzige Frau ins Team der Apostel. Das beweist, dass Jesus keine Frauen in Führungspositionen seiner Kirche wollte! Er erwählte mit Absicht keine Frauen und damit schloss er Frauen von der Priesterweihe für alle Zeiten aus."

Das Argument schlägt fehl, weil es weit über den von Jesus beabsichtigten Rahmen hinausgeht.

In Wahrheit wählte Jesus zwölf freie jüdische Männer aus, denn unter den gegebenen gesellschaftlichen Bedingungen jener Zeit, war das die einzige praktikable Methode. Jesus hatte nur einen begrenzten Rahmen, die ersten Führungspositionen zu besetzen. Es war sicher nicht seine Absicht, ein für alle Mal, gewisse Gruppen von Menschen von Verantwortung auszuschließen. Es war sicher außerhalb des Rahmens seiner damaligen Absichten.

Der beabsichtigte Rahmen der „christlichen Hausordnung"

Auf die so genannte „christlichen Hausordnung" im Neuen Testament trifft das gleiche zu. Sie stellt Verhaltensregeln auf für die verschiedenen Lebensbedingungen. Hier ein Auszug typischer Stellen.

„Ihr FRAUEN, ordnet euch euren Männern unter, wie es sich im Herrn geziemt."
„Ihr MÄNNER, liebt eure Frauen, und seid nicht aufgebracht gegen sie."
„Ihr SKLAVEN, gehorcht eurem irdischen Herrn in allem! Arbeitet nicht nur, um euch bei den Menschen einzuschmeicheln und ihnen zu gefallen, sondern fürchtet den Herrn mit aufrichtigem Herzen! Tut eure Arbeit gern, als wäre sie für den Herrn und nicht für Menschen; ihr wisst, dass ihr vom Herrn euer Erbe als Lohn empfangen werdet. Dient Christus dem Herrn!"
„Ihr HERREN, gebt den Sklaven, was recht und billig ist; ihr wisst, dass auch ihr im Himmel einen Herrn habt."

Kolosser 3,18-4,1; ebenso Epheser 5,22-6,9; 1 Petrus 2,18-3,7; Timotheus 6,1-2.

Die Absicht dieser Passagen ist ganz offensichtlich, in christlichen Häusern die Harmonie herzustellen. Christliche Vorsteher übernahmen vermutlich solche Hausordnungen von den Juden, die auf ähnliche Weise ihre Proselyten unterwiesen. Die spezifisch christlichen Anleitungen entstanden aus einer neuen, eben christlichen, Perspektive aber auch aus den gewöhnlichen gesellschaftlichen Erwartungen der damaligen Zeit. Der Sinn und Zweck besteht in einer Anleitung für christliche Familien in der Situation eben dieser Zeit.

D.DAUBE, The New Testament and Rabbinic Judaism, London 1956, pp. 90-140, 336-351; D.SCHROEDER, Die Haustafeln des Neuen Testaments, Hamburg 1959; J.E.CROUCH, The Origin and Intention of the Colossian Haustafel, Göttingen 1972; W.LILLIE, ‘The Pauline House-tables’, The Expository Times 86 (1975) pp. 179-183.

Darin ist auch ihre Einschränkung bedingt. Die Katecheten, Katechisten, die diese Hausordnung lehrten, gingen nicht ein auf Grundsatzfragen, wie die Gleichberechtigung von Mann und Frau, auch nicht auf das unveräußerliche Recht der Sklaven auf Freiheit. Das war außerhalb ihres Rahmens. Solche Grundsatzfragen werden an anderer Stelle behandelt. So wenn Paulus schreibt: „Es gibt nicht mehr Juden und Griechen, nicht Sklaven und Freie, nicht Mann und Frau ..." (Galater 3,28; Kolosser 3,11; Römer 10,12). Das eine ist das Prinzip, das andere ist praktische Lebensregel.

Es ist daher vollkommen falsch, in dieser Hausordnung eine inspirierte Begründung für Sklaverei oder für die Unterordnung der Frau unter den Mann zu suchen und zu finden. Aber leider haben die Theologen von einst genau das getan. Fundamentalistische Christen benützen diese Texte heute noch immer zu diesem Zweck. Der Irrtum ist, den inspirierten Autoren eine Absicht zu unterstellen, die sie niemals hatten.

Großer Schaden wurde angerichtet durch oberflächliche Lektüre der Heiligen Schrift; durch das Hören auf den Klang der Worte und nicht auf die Intention des Sprechers; und auch, indem Absichten herausgelesen wurden, die den Rahmen der Absicht des biblischen Schreibers sprengten.

Die Regel vom beabsichtigten Rahmen hängt eng zusammen mit den anderen Regeln:

  1. Die Regel von der literarischen Form
  2. Die Regel von der wörtlichen Bedeutung
  3. Die Regel von der Rationalisierung

Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

"Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org"

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Herbert Kaser, A 2601 Sollenau.

Bibelzitate übernommen von: "Die Heilige Schrift: Einheitsübersetzung - 7. Auflage"


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intended Scope

Intended Scope

Rule 3. We may not ascribe statements or assertions to a biblical author which lie outside his intended scope.

“The sacred books need not exclude any of the forms of expression which were commonly used in human speech by the ancient peoples, especially of the East, to convey their meaning. Such forms are only then excluded when they would be incompatible with God’s sanctity and truth”.

Pius XII, Divino Afflante Spiritu, Denz. 2294 (3829-3830).

We explain this rule at the hand of the following famous examples:

  1. half affirmations and opinions
  2. doubts in Kohelet's mind
  3. image and teaching in the creation stories
  4. the intended scope of Jesus' words and deeds
  5. the intended scope of the ‘household codes’

Half affirmations and opinions

Diplomats usually possess an uncanny mastery over speech. In fact, they owe their very name to this quality of careful, if not ambiguous, expression! Have you ever reflected on the infinite variety of affirmation that is at your disposal? Discussing the United Kingdom’s acceptance or rejection of the European currency, British politicians may make remarks as the following:

“Britain will surely enter the European currency !”
“What ! a European currency without Britain”!?
“Britain’s staying out of the Euro is highly improbable. ”
“Britain may, perhaps, join the European currency.”
“Britain might very well join the European currency.”
“It is not excluded that Britain might enter the common currency.”
“I do not know if Britain will ever become member of the European currency.”
“Doubts can be raised as to Britain’s eventual entry into the European currency.”
“It seems unlikely that Britain will ever take part in the European currency.”
“It’s my opinion that Britain will never join the European currency”.

It should be noted how such statements contain much more than simple affirmations or negations. They express a whole range of assertion: from absolute certainty down to probability or opinion.

What happens if such statements are inspired? Could God inspire a probable statement, a doubtful remark or a mere opinion ? The answer is: yes. And: God affirms no more nor less than what is affirmed by the human authors. In other words: if the human author asserts a doubtful statement, God’s inspiration will not change the nature of the assertion. It will remain an inspired, yet doubtful remark! It is Saint Paul who provides us with a classical proof. Speaking with great indignation he says to the Corinthians:

“Or were you baptized in the name of Paul ?
A. I am thankful that I baptized none of you except Crispus and Gaius! Lest anyone should say that you were baptized in my name.
B. I did baptize also the household of Stephanas.
C. Beyond that I do not know whether I baptized anyone else." 1 Cor. 1/13-16.

We can follow Paul’s thought. With some vehemence he states that he baptized no one except Crispus and Gaius (statement A). It then comes to his mind that he also baptized Stephanas’ family (statement B). He ends up expressing his mind as in doubt: “I do not know whether I baptized anyone else” (statement C). It is a really human way of speaking. All three statements have to be read together, since the second and third correct the first one. Moreover, the sum total of the three statements remains a doubt. Does the fact of the text’s inspiration change this human aspect ! Does it make a dogma of each of these statements? Does it turn the doubt into a certainly? Of course it doesn’t! Paul’s basic affirmation that it does not matter how many people he baptized, because the important thing is that they were all baptized in Jesus’s name: this basic affirmation with all nuances is what he actually asserted by the Holy Spirit!

Doubts in Kohelet's mind

The author of Kohelet wrestles with a real problem: What is the purpose of life ? What gain has a man from all the toil and strain with which he toils beneath the sun ? (Koh. 2,22). It is a theme repeated over and over again by the author. Life stands before him as one great question mark: “Who knows what is good for a man while he lives the few days of his vain life, which he passes like a shadow?” (Koh. 6/12). He even raises questions about life after death: “For the fate of the sons of men and the fate of the beasts is the same; as one dies, so dies the other, They all have the same breath, and man has no advantage over the beasts; for all is vanity. All go to one place: all are from the dust and all turn to dust again. Who knows whether the spirit of man goes upward and the spirit of the beast goes down to the earth?” (Koh. 3/19-21). The author does not succeed in finding a complete answer to his question. He affirms faith in God who will punish the wicked and reward the good (Koh 8/12; 12/1; etc), but his problem as to the ultimate purpose of this hard life of man remains!

What to make of this inspired book ? The answer is simple. God inspired a philosopher, a thinker, not to make statements but to raise questions. It was his task to make his contemporaries think, to make them realize that indeed suffering and death are -humanly speaking-insoluble riddles. It was only the revelation and redemption brought by Jesus Christ that would provide God’s solution to these problems. Here again inspiration followed the nature of the book inspired: the author meant to put his finger on a problem without providing a full solution. God inspired him to do precisely that much and nothing more.

Image and teaching in the Creation stories

In Gen. 1,1 - 2,4a we read about the creation of the world. The author presents us with a very schematic picture of six days. In the course of these six days God is narrated to have created all things according to the scientific picture of the universe entertained at that time: a flat earth with the dome of the sky as roof and the sun and the moon as lamps ! What did the inspired author want to affirm ? Was he teaching science ? Did he mean us to take the six-day scheme literally ? An analysis of the text makes clear that he only wanted to instruct us in the truths of faith, that God created everything, that he made all things beautiful, that he crowned human beings as kings and queens of the universe, that he wants people to worship him every seventh day. This the author wanted to affirm, and this it is, too, that God wants us to know and believe! Astronomy, science or biology were outside his scope.

Take the so-called contradictions in scripture! They certainly do exist, but not between assertions or affirmations affecting the teaching. Contradictions will be found to adhere to the accidental trappings under which the affirmation lies hidden. Gen. 1,20-28 (in the first creation story) recounts human creation as the last crowning feature of God’s creative work. Gen. 2,7 (in the second creation story) makes God begin with human beings. The contradiction concerns the image used, not the fundamental affirmation intended in both passages. that human beings rank highest among all creatures made by God

The intended scope of Jesus' words and deeds

In the parable of the Good Samaritan Jesus states: “A man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho ..." (Lk. 10/30).

What does Jesus want to affirm? Surely the need of fraternal charity (“do you likewise”, vs. 37!), and not the actual occurrence of the incident!

Jesus says: “The Son of Man has no stone to lay his head on” (Matthew 8,19).

Was Jesus interested in teaching us about stones? Did he mean that he literally could not find nor buy a stone to lay his head on? In fact, we know from St. John’s Gospel that Jesus possessed a small fund of money (Jn. 13,29). What Jesus wanted to affirm was, consequently, his complete detachment from earthly possessions.

Jesus stated: “ Do not call yourself ‘teacher’, for you have one Teacher and you are all brothers and sisters. Call no man ‘father’ on earth, for you have one Father, who is in heaven” (Matthew 23,8-9).

Does Jesus really forbid these titles? What did he have in mind?

“I tell you, do not take any oaths . . . . Let what you say be simply ‘Yes’ or ‘No’.” (Matthew 5,33-37.

Does Jesus ban the taking of sworn statements in court? Was that his real intention? Notice, Jesus himself speaks under oath in Matthew 26,63-64.

“Do not offer resistance to violence. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other too” (Matthew 5,38-41).

Does Jesus veto self defence? Does he prohibit a state to have police, or an army? What did he want to say? Note how Jesus himself protests when he is struck on the cheek (John 18,22-23). Read also Romans 13,4.

Let us proceed further by studying another text. Jesus, we are told, prayed for a whole night. Then he called certain people to himself, ‘those whom he wanted’. They were the twelve apostles, chosen to help him announce the Kingdom of God.

“These are their names: first Simon who is called Peter, and his brother Andrew; James the son of Zebedee, and his brother John; Philip and Bartholomew; Thomas, and Matthew the tax collector; James, the son of Alphaeus, and Thaddaeus; Simon the Zealot and Judas Iscariot” (Matthew 10,1-4; Mark 3,16-19; Luke 6,13-16).

These were twelve men. There was not a single woman among them! On other occasions, the Congregation for Doctrine argues, Jesus showed great sensitivity to women. ‘More than once he broke with social custom in their regard. But not here. He refused to take even one woman into the apostolic team. It proves that Jesus did not want women to become leaders in his Church! By deliberately not selecting even one woman, he excluded women from priestly ordination for all time to come’.

The argument fails because it goes beyond the intended scope of Jesus' action.

  • For all twelve apostles were Jews; there was not a single non-Jew among them. But does it then follow that Jesus wanted only Jews as bishops and priests?
  • Also, all twelve apostles were free persons; not one among them had been born in slavery. Would that exclude former slaves from ordination?
  • Why then would his choice of men rather than women be a deliberate exclusion?

The truth is that Jesus chose twelve free, Jewish men because in the social conditions of his time that was the most practical thing for him to do. Jesus had only a limited scope: to begin the recruitment of future leaders. In no way did he intend to decide for future generations that certain categories of people should be excluded from leadership. That was clearly outside the scope of his action at that moment.

The intended scope of the ‘household codes’

The same applies to what the New Testament says in the socalled household code passages. They suggest how people in different conditions of life should behave. Here is one typical extract:

“WIVES, be subject to your husbands, as is proper in the Lord.
HUSBANDS, love your wives. Do not treat them harshly . . .
SLAVES, obey your earthly masters in everything; not only when you are under their supervision, as if you only had to please human beings, but with sincerity, out of respect for the Master. Whatever your job is, put your whole heart into it, as a service to the Lord and not for human beings. For you know that the Lord will repay you by making you his heirs. It is Christ the Lord that you are serving . . . .
MASTERS, treat your slaves justly and fairly. Realise that you too have a Master in heaven”.

Colossians 3,18 - 4,1; see also Ephesians 5,22 - 6,9; 1 Peter 2,18 - 3,7; 1 Timothy 6,1-2.

The scope of such passages is, obviously, to encourage Christian households to live together in harmony. Christian leaders probably copied the practice of having such lists of instructions from the Jews, who used to instruct proselytes in similar ways. The specific form the suggestions take derive partly from a new Christian perspective and partly from the standard expectations of society at the time. The intention is to guide Christian families within the specific situation of the time.

D.DAUBE, The New Testament and Rabbinic Judaism, London 1956, pp. 90-140, 336-351; D.SCHROEDER, Die Haustafeln des Neuen Testaments, Hamburg 1959; J.E.CROUCH, The Origin and Intention of the Colossian Haustafel, Göttingen 1972; W.LILLIE, ‘The Pauline House-tables’, The Expository Times 86 (1975) pp. 179-183.

And that is also their limitation. For the catechists who taught these household codes did not address such fundamental questions as the basic equality of men and women, or the inalienable right of every slave to be a free person. That was simply outside their scope. Such basic matters are touched upon elsewhere, when Paul asserts that there is no distinction between men and women, free person or slave, Greek or Jew (Galatians 3,28; Colossians 3,11; Romans 10,12). Here the purpose is simply immediate, practical advice.

It is, therefore, entirely mistaken to claim that these household texts give inspired backing to slavery or to the subjection of women to men. But this is precisely how they have been used by theologians in the past, and how they are still being used by some fundamentalist Christians today. The mistake lies in imputing an intention to the inspired authors which they did not have.

Costly mistakes have been made by people who read Scripture superficially; who believe it is the sound of the words and not the intention of the speaker that matters; or who infer an intention into a text that was outside the scope of the biblical author.

The rule of the intended scope is closely related to the other rules:

John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.