¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Des femmes prêtres ? La boucler ou oser parler ?

"I would want to be a priest"

Des femmes prêtres ? La boucler ou oser parler ?

Par le Professeur René van Eyden

Conférence devant un public de 1500 participants à l’assemblée générale de Act Mei Bewegind en Hollande (le 2 novembre 1996). En réponse à Ordinatio Sacerdotalis (1994) et Déclarations du Cardinal Ratzinger (1994) disant que la discussion à propos de l’ordination des femmes était close.

Ce fut un jour historique. Les Catholiques du monde entier ont su qu’une doctrine avait été décidée de manière infaillible et ensuite ils ont commencé à d

Le thème dont je veux discuter est le suivant : allons-nous coopérer volontairement et souffrir en silence ou parler en public et promouvoir de nouvelles pratiques ?

Je veux seulement aborder un aspect de l’ensemble qui concerne les femmes et le ministère, en particulier : pourquoi y a-t-il tant de chefs pastoraux et leurs paroissiens qui acceptent la pratique officielle d’exclure les femmes et que cela demeure sans être contredit, même s’ils jugent eux-mêmes qu’il s’agit d’une mauvaise pratique? Que signifie cette complicité dans un tel contexte.

Permettez-moi de vous décrire deux expériences : deux ordinations de prêtres auxquelles j’ai assisté récemment.

Expériences opposées

La première ordination a été célébrée dans une paroisse de Hollande. Les paroissiens avaient tout mis en oeuvre pour faire une belle célébration. Il y avait des chants, des décorations, des livrets spéciaux avec les textes avaient été préparés, etc, etc. c’était seulement l’arrière-plan de l’événement réel : la liturgie romaine de l’ordination à la prêtrise. C’était un événement extrêmement clérical, un rituel réservé seulement aux hommes ordonnés. Pas une femme, pas même une travailleuse pastorale en vue dans le sanctuaire. Dans l’homélie et dans les prières, il n’y avait pas la moindre allusion au sujet de l’exclusion (provisoire ?) des femmes. L’évêque et un grand cercle de prêtres, tous mâles, imposent les mains. Pour les fidèles mais sans la participation de ces derniers.

Une différence énorme avec la cérémonie où deux femmes furent, pour la première fois, ordonnées prêtres dans l’Église Vieille Catholique en Allemagne, à Constance, le lundi de Pentecôte du 27 mai 1996. C’était une liturgie portée par la communauté tout entière, un évêque qui irradiait son implication personnelle, qui ne se posait pas au-dessus mais au milieu des fidèles et des prêtres, tous également frères et sœurs dans le ministère.

Un contraste incroyable ! D’un côté la cérémonie romaine cléricale, stérile et patriarcale et de l’autre, une fête de l’Esprit qui réchauffait le cœur.

La douleur et l’humiliation provoquée par la première sorte de cérémonie pour une femme impliquée dans l’apostolat paroissial a été décrite de façon émouvante par Maria Mulder (Trouw 3 juillet 1992 : « Effrayante expérience lors de l’ordination d’un prêtre »). L’exclusion d’une femme, non à cause de son manque de qualités pastorales, mais seulement parce qu’elle est une femme,e est extrêmement humiliante pour toutes les femmes.

L’exclusion des femmes des ministères ordonnés a été étudiée de manière exhaustive (note 1). La conclusion est claire : d’un point de vue pastoral, certaines femmes sont privées d’un droit dans l’Église, toutes les femmes sont humiliées et la communauté des croyants est privée de la direction pastorale dont elle a besoin. D’un point de vue théologique, c’est une trahison de l’identité du ministère et de l’Église et cela implique une compréhension atrophiée de la vraie mission de Jésus et de son, message.

Dans une lettre ouverte de l’association’Vrouwmens’ au Cardinal Simonis à l’occasion de ‘Ordinatio Sacerdotalis’, on lit ceci : « Est-ce que cette manière de discuter n’est pas une offense à Dieu ? Et les vraies raisons sont-elles pas davantage le souci qu’ont les chefs de préserver leur pouvoir plutôt que le souci de la vérité? »

Il y avait dans la cérémonie de cette paroisse hollandaise quelque chose de réellement malsain. La liturgie se déroulait sans bavure et pas un seul mot de protestation ne s’élevait. Chacun voulait que le postulant ait une heureuse fête. Personne ne mentionnait le caractère ambivalent de l’ordination dont les femmes avaient été exclues par principe. MAIS la majorité des prêtres présents à cette occasion n’étaient pas vraiment d’accord avec l’exclusion des femmes. Ils se rendaient bien compte de l’erreur dans la théologie de l’Église et dans la mention du ministère dans le texte de l’ordination. Ils étaient conscients du fait que beaucoup de leurs collègues pastoraux féminins dans la paroisse étaient profondément blessées.

Pourquoi alors continuons-nous à supporter cela ?

D’après une recherche parmi les prêtres catholiques romains en Hollande, il est clair que 68% d’entre eux pensent que les femmes devraient être ordonnées ce qui est une majorité confortable Pastores en Ambt, VPW Nederland, juin 1994)

Une question se pose alors : pourquoi est-ce que chacun collabore ainsi avec les prêtres qui imposent les mains etc ? Pourquoi est ce que chacun la boucle ? Pendant la cérémonie, on n’entendait dans le public aucune protestation contre l’exclusion décidée par Rome. Il n’y avait aucun signe de solidarité avec les femmes ? Pourquoi est-ce que chacun embrayait-t-il si joyeusement dans la voie traditionnelle?

Beaucoup de participants étaient conscients des erreurs fondamentales dans la vision officielle de l’Église et dans sa pratique officielle, mais quoi que fasse celle-ci, les mêmes personnes y coopéraient sans protester.

Les mécanismes de la répression

Comment expliquer cette inconsistance?

Elle naît de la manière dont fonctionne un système répressif.

En dépit de beaucoup de forces contradictoires, un système répressif peut continuer à dominer longtemps, aussi longtemps que coexistent trois facteurs :

  1. Les pressions de ceux qui dominent
  2. Le degré de rigidité au sein des structures institutionnelles du système
  3. la complicité consciente ou inconsciente des dominés

Si nous appliquons ceci à notre sujet, nous pouvons dire que l’exclusion des femmes est possible à cause de la combinaison de ces trois facteurs, une combinaison qui, malheureusement perdure sans faillir.

Comment combattre un système répressif?

Si je veux combattre l’exclusion des femmes du ministère (ou, d’autres formes de répression), je peux le faire de trois manières : en me centrant sur les chefs répressifs, sur les structures du système ou sur les ‘pauvres types’ qui agissent souvent en complices.

1.Se centrer sur les chefs.

Les dirigeants de l’Église basent leur exclusion des femmes sur une série de principes théologiques. Notre stratégie devrait être d’essayer de modifier ces perceptions en procurant aux gens de meilleurs arguments. Toutefois, cela s’avère souvent une entreprise assez stérile.

Le pape est toujours en train d’expliquer aux femmes et cela depuis bien longtemps comment elles doivent se considérer elles-mêmes, ce que signifie ‘être une femme’, ce qu’une femme doit faire et ne doit pas faire, ce qu’elle peut et ne peut pas faire. De solides argumentations se sont mises en travers cette théologie romaine, mais sans aucun effet. La vérité est prisonnière du piège du pouvoir (note 2).

Les dirigeant de l’Église n’aiment pas le mot ‘pouvoir’. On préfère l’appeler ‘autorité’. Jan Roes appelle ceci ‘réduire le concept de la vérité à la capacité de prendre des décisions d’un côté, et, à l’obéissance au magistère souverain, de l’autre’(In Kerk Geboren, Nijmegen 1994, p 56). Nous avons déjà atteint le stage où l’exclusion des femmes a été appelée une ‘doctrine infaillible’ et de cette manière, Rome a dit son dernier mot.

2. Se centrer sur les structures.

Exclure les femmes du ministère ordonné est seulement la pointe de l’iceberg, la partie la plus importante flotte, invisible, sous l’eau. C’est la masse des anciennes structures patriarcales et des idéologies. L’inégalité du pouvoir entre les hommes et les femmes s’est, au cours du temps, rigidifiée en une institution patriarcale et idéologique.

Ici, notre stratégie pour changer les institutions et ses structures, devrait consister dans l’organisation d’un contre-pouvoir. Ce ne semble pas une tâche facile non plus. Jusqu’à présent, on n’a fait que des réformes superficielles. Les tentatives dans cette direction n’ont pas eu plus de succès que d’essayer d’enfoncer une épingle dans un bloc de granite.

3. La complicité des dominés.

Le troisième facteur est la complicité de ceux qui souffrent de la répression. Dans le passé, l’exclusion des femmes était ressentie comme une évidence par l’Église, une partie de l’ordre établi qui allait de soi. Ceci est dans le droit-fil de la philosophie officielle de l’Église ; les dirigeants pastoraux et les paroissiens s’y conforment, particulièrement en ce qui concerne leurs actes publics.Ils suivent les règles, même s’ils ont des doutes. Le pouvoir du système romain est aussi conservé intact par ceux qui sont en son pouvoir.

La stratégie qui est demandée ici est plus proche de nous. Cela signifie se changer, se libérer en conscience des règles qui oppriment, ne plus regarder le monde avec le regard d’une plus haute autorité, écouter ceux qui sont à la marge et délibérément choisir de les accompagner.

Cette attitude permet aux hommes et aux femmes de se sentir libres, à la fois personnellement et collectivement, de critiquer la doctrine officielle et de contester la pratique de l’exclusion des femmes dans des situations spécifiques. Par la suite une ‘interaction’ salutaire peut survenir. Selon le théologien J.B. Metz, le renouvellement nécessaire dans un système de doctrine rigidifié depuis toujours ne peut se produire que lorsque surviennent des ‘interruptions’ (note 3).

Le but de réformer l’Église et le ministère.

L’ordination des femmes à la prêtrise n’est pas un objectif isolé. Ce qui est en jeu est beaucoup plus large : un renouvellement général du ministère de l’Église comme l’indique le slogan de la conférence pour l’ordination des femmes : ‘Nouvelle femme – Nouvelle Église – Nouveau sacerdoce’.

Si les femmes se mettaient à assumer le sacerdoce en le laissant tel quel, on renforcerait l’institution patriarcale de l’Église comme elle existe actuellement. Il y des gens qui considèrent que l’arrivée des femmes dans les ministères ordonnés est indésirable. Mais d’autres ont expérimenté qu’une fois que les femmes remplissent un ministère d’Église, ce dernier devient d’office ‘un ministère différent’. (note 4).

Ce qui est important, c’est qu’il devrait y avoir de la place pour une diversion dans la vision et la stratégie :ne pas travailler les uns contre les autres, mais ensemble afin d’atteindre la même finalité. Pour les hommes dans une Église dominée par les hommes, c’est un processus fatigant.

Complicité

Dans beaucoup d’études féministes, on a noté que les changements de mentalité se font plus facilement que les changements de pratique. Cela veut dire qu’il y a une grande différence entre penser et faire. Cela permet aux hommes de rester complices par leur attitude conformiste, même s’ils tombent d’accord que telle ou telle chose devrait bien changer dans l’Église.

Le mot ‘complice’ peut sembler déconcertant aux hommes qui croient faire seulement ce qu’on attend d’eux.Que signifie donc ce terme ? Lieve Troch a dit des choses excellentes sur la complicité dans son livre ‘Verzet in het geheim van Vreugde’(Zoetemeer 1996). Nous parlons de complicité dans les personnes ou les groupes si le conflit contre l’injustice n’est pas ouvertement exprimé et n’a pas de forme concrète. Dans ce cas, ceux qui se conforment sont co-responsables de la poursuite de la dominance et de la répression.

La complicité ne se situe pas seulement dans le comportement personnel mais aussi dans le comportement collectif. Ce n’est pas nécessairement la même chose que le comportement coupable.

Souvent les gens ne sont même pas entièrement conscients du fait qu’en réalité ils sont eux-mêmes co-responsables de la perpétuation d’une injustice spécifique à cause de leur comportement conformiste et leur manque de critique. Ce phénomène s’appelle la complicité inconsciente. Si cela se produit à large échelle, cela peut être encore plus nuisible à ceux qui sont injustement traités que des formes de complicité conscientes.

Depuis que la discussion sur les femmes et le ministère a été déclarée close, un nouveau problème a surgi dans l’Église. Si les dirigeants pastoraux et les fidèles maintenant restent silencieux, ils deviendront complices dans le sens plein du terme.

Plus que jamais, il est important de reconnaître toutes les formes de complicité et de les rejeter. Comment pouvons-nous préserver une intégrité collective si nos actes ne sont pas en conformité avec les discernements que nous avons acquis ? La façon dont nous serons cohérents en cela dépendra aussi du soutien que nous nous donnerons les uns les autres à travers des communications personnelles et des contacts organisés.

Si nous essayons de nous opposer à l’exclusion des femmes par une protestation publique, nous recevrons quelques soutiens mais aussi des oppositions. Par exemple, nous serons accusés de diviser l’Église en critiquant ses dirigeants. Hamma-Renate Laurien, membre du comité central des Catholiques Hollandais dit : « Parler haut est non seulement un droit de la foi pour tous ceux qui veulent que l’Église ait plus de crédibilité, la loyauté critique est ce que nous devons avoir, également en ce qui concerne les femmes et la prêtrise ».Elle déclare que notre espoir dans l’avenir de l’Église gît dans « nos communautés paroissiales, dans notre conseil paroissial, nos conseils pastoraux diocésains et de notre orthopraxie (= manière d’agir correcte), c’est-à-dire, la pratique basée sur la foi comme cela se passe dans les communautés de base de l’Église. » Son livre est un plaidoyer pour qu’il y ait une discussion honnête dans l’Église sur l’ordination des femmes (note 5)

Comment donner forme à la protestation et à la solidarité

Je voudrais conclure en donnant des exemples concrets sur la manière dont l’opposition aux dirigeants de l’Église et la solidarité avec les femmes peuvent s’exprimer.

Une chose que nous ne devons pas faire, c’est rester silencieux, partager la complicité dans une exclusion abusive des femmes hors des ministères ordonnés. D’une manière comme d’une autre, il nous faut parler !

René van Eyden

Notes :

1. L’interdiction par Rome de continuer à débattre sur l’ordination a fait surgir un flot de publications théologiques. Voyez par exemple : Walter Gross (ed) Frauenordination . Stand der Diskussion in der Katholischen Kirche, Munich 1996.

2. La documentation sur les droits humains dans l’Église (Mensenrechten in de Kerk, commission Justicia en Pax, Nederland, Oegstgeest 1993, p33), cite Vaclav Havel parlant des systèmes totalitaires : « Quand le centre du pouvoir coïncide avec le centre de la vérité, la corruption se cache derrière le coin ». .

3. J.B.Metz, J.B.Metz. Unterbrechungen. Theologish-politishe Persektive und Profile, Gütersloh 1981.

4. Martine Bakema et Liese Sluis (ed) Een ander ambt. 25 Jaar vrouwen in het ambt in de Gereformeerde Kerken in Nederland, Kampen 1994.

5. Hanna-Renate Laurien, Hanna-Renate Laurien, Abgeschrieben ? Plädoyer für eine faire Diskussion ûber das Priestertum der Frau, Freiburg-Basel-Wien 1995.

6. Een vrouwvriendelijke liturgie in de rooms-katholieke kerk. Advies van de werkgroep Vrouw en Kerk, de Katholieke Raad voor Kerk en Samenleving en de Unie Nederlandse Katholieke Vrouwbeweging aan de Nederlandse Bisschoppen , september 1991,pp.37-44.

7. Lisez le texte dans Archief van de kerken, vol 42 no 6 juin 1987.

8. Lisez le magazine international Diakonia,vol. 24,n·3, mai 1993.L’édition spéciale est consacrée aux hommes et montre comment les prêtres peuvent partager la peine de leurs collègues féminines dans le ministère concernant leur exclusion de l’ordination.

Retour au droit de parler?

Texte traduit par John Wijngaards et publié sur www.womenpriests.org avec la permission de l’auteur.

Retraduit en français par Françoise Bourguignon



This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Womenpriests: Keeping Mum or Speaking Out?

"I would want to be a priest"

Womenpriests: Keeping Mum or Speaking Out?

by Professor Dr. René van Eyden

Address to 1500 participants of the general assembly of the Acht Mei Beweging in the Netherlands (2 November 1996). In response to Ordinatio Sacerdotalis (1994) and statements by Cardinal Ratzinger (1995) that discussion on the ordination of women is closed. Translated by John Wijngaards and published on www.womenpriests.org with permission of the author.

It has been a historical day. Catholics all over the world hear that some doctrine has been “infallibly decided” and they then proceed in all openness to discuss the question as mature Christians with their own sense of responsibility.

The theme I want to discuss is: should we co-operate willingly and suffer in silence or speak out publicly and promote new practices?

I will touch only on one aspect of the whole area concerning women and ministry, namely: why do so many pastoral leaders and their parishioners allow the official practice of excluding women to remain uncontradicted, even though they themselves consider it a wrong practice? What does complicity mean in this context?

Let me start with describing two experiences to you: two ordinations of priests that I attended recently.

Opposite experiences

The first ordination to the priesthood was in a parish in the Netherlands. The parishioners had done everything to make it a beautiful celebration. There was song, there were decorations, special text books had been prepared, and so on. This was only the background to the real event, the Roman Liturgy of the Ordination to the Priesthood. It was an extremely clerical happening, a ritual reserved only to ordained men. Not a single woman, not even a female pastoral worker to be seen in the sanctuary. In the homily and in the prayers there was not a single hint regarding the (provisional?) exclusion of women. The bishop and a large circle of male priests impose hands. For the faithful, but without participation of the faithful.

An enormous difference was a celebration in which for the first time two women were ordained priests in the old Catholic Church in Germany, in Konstanz on Pentecost Monday 27 May 1996. This was a liturgy carried by the whole participating community, a bishop radiating involvement, standing not over but between the faithful, the priests visibly equal brothers and sisters in the ministry,

It was an incredible contrast: on the one hand the Roman ceremony clerical, sterile and patriarchal: on the other hand a heart-warming feast of the Spirit.

How painful and humiliating the former kind of ceremony can be for a woman involved in parish apostolate has been movingly described by Maria Mulder (Trouw 3 July 1992: “Chilling experience at the ordination of a priest”). Banning a woman not because of a shortage of pastoral qualities but only because she is a woman, is extremely humiliating for all women.

The exclusion of women from the ordained ministries has been studied exhaustively (note 1). The conclusion is clear: from a pastoral point of view certain women are deprived of a right in the Church, all women are humiliated and the community of believers is deprived of the pastoral leaders it needs. From a theological point of view it is a betrayal of the identity of the ministry and of the Church, and implies a defective understanding of Jesus’ own mission and message.

In an open letter written by the association “Vrouwmens” to Cardinal Simonis on the occasion of “Ordinatio Sacerdotalis” one reads: “Is this way of arguing not an offence to God? Do the real reasons not lie rather in concern about the leaders’ own position of power rather than in concern for truth?”

There was something very unwholesome in the ceremony of that Dutch parish. The liturgy devolved without hitch, not a single word of protest was raised. Everyone wants the ordinand to have a happy feast. Not a single person mentions the ambivalent character of the ordination in which women have been excluded on principle. BUT most of the priests present at the occasion are really not in agreement with the ban against women. They realise the defect in the theology of Church and ministry mention in the ordination text. They are aware of the fact that many of their pastoral colleagues in the parish who are women are deeply hurt.

Why then do we go along with it, all the same?

From research among Roman Catholic parish priests in the Netherlands it is clear that 68% believe women should be ordained, which is a comfortable majority! (Pastores en Ambt, VPW Nederland, June 1994).

The question thus arises: why does everyone so willingly co-operate, with the priests too imposing hands, and so on? Why does everyone keep his mouth shut? During the ceremony nothing was noticed of public expressions of protest against the Roman ban. There were no signs of solidarity with women. Why does everything just go merrily on in the traditional way?

Many of the participants are aware of the fundamental mistakes in the official vision of the Church and the official practice of the Church, but whenever the official Church acts, these same people co-operate without voicing any protest.

The mechanisms of repression

How can we explain this inconsistency?

It is part and parcel of how a repressive system works.

In spite of many forces to the contrary, a repressive system can continue its domination for a long time as long as three factors are safeguarded:

  1. The exertions of those who dominate.
  2. The degree of ‘toughness’ in the institutional structures of the system.
  3. The conscious and also unconscious complicity of those who are dominated.

Applied to our subject we can say that the exclusion of women is possible because of the combination of those three factors, a combination which, unfortunately, continues unabated.

How to combat a repressive system

If we want to combat the exclusion of women from the ministry (or, for that matter, other forms of repression), this can be done in three ways: by focussing on the repressive leaders, on the structures of the system, or on the ‘underdogs’ who often act as accomplices.

1. Focus on the leaders.

The leaders of the Church base their exclusion of women on a number of theological tenets. Our strategy should be to try and change the perceptions of these people by providing better arguments. However, this often proves a rather fruitless undertaking.

The Pope is already trying for many years to explain to women how they should consider themselves, what it means to be a woman, what a woman can do and cannot do, what she may do and what she may not do. Strong argumentation has been put forward against this Roman theology, but without any effect. The truth is caught in the trap of power (note 2).

Church leaders do not like the word “power”. One prefers to call it “authority”. Jan Roes calls this “reducing the concept of truth to the capacity of taking decisions on the one hand and to obedience to the sovereign magisterium on the other” (In de Kerk Geboren, Nijmegen 1994, p.56). We have already reached the stage where the exclusion of women has been called an ‘infallible doctrine’ and in this way Rome has spoken its last word.

2. Focussing on structures.

Excluding women from the ordained ministry is only the tip of the iceberg, the bulk of which floats invisibly below. There rests the ancient mass of patriarchal structures and ideologies. The inequality of power between men and women has in the course of time hardened to a patriarchal and hierarchical institution.

Here our strategy could be to try to change the institution and its structures by organising a contrary power. This too seems not an easy task. Until now no more than superficial reforms have been achieved. Attempts in this direction have had no greater success than trying to put pins into a block of granite.

3. Complicity by those who are dominated.

The third factor lies in complicity by those who suffer repression. In the past the exclusion of women was considered self-evident in the Church, part of the established order which by itself demands acceptance. This is in line with the official policy of the Church, and pastoral leaders and parishioners conform especially with regard to what they do in public. They follow the rules, even though they have some doubts. The power of the Roman system is kept intact also by those who are being held in its grasp.

The strategy that is required here is closer to home. It means changing yourself, loosening yourself from repressive rules in your own conscience, looking no longer at things with the eyes of higher authority, listening to those who are marginalised, and purposely choose their side.

This attitude allows men and women the freedom, both personally and collectively, to criticise the official doctrine and to challenge the practice of the exclusion of women, in specific situations. Then a salutary “interaction” can happen. According to the theologian J.B.Metz, necessary renewal and reform in undisturbed systems of doctrine, only happen when “interruptions” have been brought about (note 3).

The objective of reforming Church and ministry

The ordination of women to the priesthood is not an isolated objective. What is at stake is a much wider and all embracing renewal of Church ministry, as is indicated in the slogan of the women’s ordination conference: “New Woman - New Church - New priestly ministry”.

If women’s future functioning in the church’s ministry would leave that ministry unchanged, it would only strengthen the patriarchal institution of the Church that now exists. There are people who therefore consider the arrival of women in ordained ministries undesirable. But others have experienced that once women fulfil a Church ministry, that it then becomes “a different ministry” (note 4).

The important thing is that there should be space for a diversion in vision and strategy: not to work against each other, but together, in order to proceed to the same final aim. For men in a church dominated by men, it is a tiresome process.

Complicity

In many feminist studies it has been pointed out that changes in mentality arise earlier than changes in practice. This means that there can be a large difference between thinking and doing. This allows men to remain accomplices by their conforming behaviour, even though they agree that much has to be changed for women in the Church.

The word “accomplice” may sound disconcerting to men who think they simply do what is expected of them. What is meant by this term? Lieve Troch has said some very good things about complicity in her book “Verzet is het Geheim van de Vreugde” (Zoetermeer 1996). We speak of complicity in persons or groups if conflict against injustice is not openly expressed and not given concrete shape. Then conformers are co-responsible for the continuation of domination and repression.

Complicity happens not only in personal behaviour but also in collective behaviour. It is not necessarily the same as guilty behaviour.

Often people are not quite conscious of the fact that in reality they themselves are co-responsible for the continuation of a specific injustice by their conforming and uncritical behaviour. This is known as unconscious complicity. If this happens on a wide scale it may be even more damaging to those who are treated unjustly than forms of conscious complicity.

Since the discussion about women in ministries has been declared closed, a new situation has arisen in the Church. If pastoral leaders and the faithful now remain silent, they will become accomplices in the full sense of the word.

More than ever it is important to recognise all forms of complicity and to reject them. How could we preserve a collective integrity, if we do not bring our own way of acting in conformity with the insights that we have acquired? The extent to which can we be consistent in this, will also depend on the support that we give each other through personal communication and in organised contacts.

If we try to oppose the exclusion of women by public protests, we will receive some support but also opposition. We will be accused, for example, of splitting the Church by criticising the church leaders. Hamma-Renate Laurien, member of the central committee for Dutch Catholics says: “Speaking out is not only a right. It is also a duty in faith for all those who want the Church to possess more credibility. Critical loyalty is what we should have, also with regard to the issue of women and the priesthood”. She states that our hope in the future of the Church will lie “in our parish communities, in our parish councils, diocesan pastoral councils, and from our orthopraxis [= correct action], that is, the practice based on faith as it happen in the root communities of the Church”. Her book is a plea to have a fair discussion in the Church about the ordination of women (note 5).

How to give shape to protest and solidarity

I want to conclude by giving some concrete examples of how opposition to Church leaders and solidarity with women can be given expression.

  • Elizabeth Schüssler Forenza proposes that during the confession of guilt in the Eucharistic celebration we should also confess the sin of excluding women from the ministry. This could be a collective expression of guilt as a first step to transform “structural sexism” (New Woman, New Priestly Ministry. Women’s Ordination Conference, 1980).
  • The report addressed to the bishops: “A Liturgy friendly to Women” (note 6), provides important advice and recommendations concerning the ordination of women to the diaconate and the priesthood.
  • The Pastoral Letter of “Priests for Equality”, 8 december 1985, sketches a programme of action as to how we can arrive in concrete steps to the ordination of women. This is an impressive document that expresses solidarity and concern about the future of the Church. “Priests for Equality” was established in 1975 in the USA. It now consists of more than 3000 priests from 35 countries who subscribe to the Constitution for Equality in the Church (note 7).
  • In National Declaration of “Kerk Hardrop”, de Dutch parallel-organisation to the We-Are-Church of Austria, Germany, Switserland and-so-on , the second of the five main aims is: “Opening the diaconate to women. Admission of women to the ministerial priesthood. Banning women has no biblical foundation”. This kind of plea helps to stimulate awareness in the Church. It agrees with the position taken by the “Acht Mei Movement” from the beginning.
  • At times male candidates for ordination express, either during or after the ordination rite, that they disagree with the exclusion of women from the priesthood.
  • The Union of Pastoral Workers in the Netherlands (Vereniging van Pastoraal Werkenden) could put itself clearly on the side of women in pastoral ministries on the occasion of diaconate or priestly ordinations. The pastoral workers of the diocese of Salzburg in Austria have agreed among themselves: no one lets himself be ordained deacon until women will be admitted to the diaconate (note 8).
  • Every parish can find symbolical and imaginative expressions of protest and solidarity. In the parish I mentioned earlier, parishioners sent, on the day of the ordination, flowers and letters of condolence to their woman pastoral assistant. They said that at least one flag should have been half-mast, and the yellow-white flags of the Vatican should not have been hoisted at all.
  • During the ordination ceremony itself the community can express in various ways that it needs both men and women in the priestly ministry. For instance, one could give a striking role of prayer or witness to a woman preacher from a sister church during the celebration itself.

The one thing we must not do is to remain silent, to share by complicity in the unwarranted exclusion of women from the ordained ministries. Somehow or other we have to speak out!

René van Eyden

Footnotes:

Note 1. Rome’s prohibition of further debate on the ordination of women has given rise to a flood of theological publications. See, for instance: Walter Gross (ed.), Frauenordination. Stand der Diskussion in der Katholischen Kirche, Munich 1996.

Note 2. The documentation on Human Rights in the Church (Mensenrechten in de kerk, Commissie Justitia et Pax Nederland, Oegstgeest 1993, p. 33), quotes Vaclev Havel in relation to totalitarian systems: “When the centre of power coincides with the centre of truth, corruption lurks round the corner”.

Note 3. J.B.Metz, Unterbrechungen. Theologisch-politische Perspektive und Profile, Gütersloh 1981.

Note 4. Martine Bakema and Lies Sluis (ed.), Een ander ambt. 25 Jaar vrouwen in het ambt in de Gereformeerde Kerken in Nederland, Kampen 1994.

Note 5. Hanna-Renate Laurien, Abgeschrieben? Plädoyer für eine faire Diskussion über das Priestertum der Frau, Freiburg-Basel-Wien 1995.

Note 6. Een vrouwvriendelijke liturgie in de rooms-katholieke kerk. Advies van de werkgroep Vrouw en kerk, de Katholieke Raad voor Kerk en Samenleving, en de Unie Nederelandse Katholieke Vrouwenbeweging, aan de Nederlandse Bisschoppen”, september 1991, pp. 37-44.

Note 7. See the text in: Archief van de kerken, vol .42, no.6 June 1987.

Note 8. See the international magazine Diakonia, vol.24, nr.3, May 1993. The whole issue deals with men, e.g. how priests can share the pain which their female colleagues in the ministry feel on account of their exclusion from ordination.

Return to the duty of speaking out?


Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.