¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Cela ne prend pas avec les femmes Mary McAleese, President of Ireland

Cela ne prend pas avec les femmes

by Mary McAleese

Article publié par The Tablet, le 15 mars 1997

Reproduit sur Internet avec la permission de The Tablet. Adresse : 1 King Street Cloisters, Clifton Walk, London W6 0QZ UK. Tél: 44-20-8748 8484; fax: 44-20-8748 1550; email: thetablet@the tablet.co.uk.

Mary McAleese, Présidente de la République d’Irlande (1997-2011). Voici les principaux postes qu’elle a assumés :

Y a-t-il seulement un évêque en Irlande qui ait suivi une formation sur l’égalité des hommes et des femmes face à l’emploi ? C’est une question très importante que j’ai déjà posée et qui amène une réponse prévisible très déprimante. J’aurais pu poser la même question à la Curie et au Pape et j’aurais été à peu près sûre de la réponse.

Le fait que la réponse soit un “non” retentissant pose aujourd’hui le problème avec une acuité qu’il n’avait pas voici quatre ou cinq ans. Le monde profane occidental a été fortement influencé par des décennies de critiques, de recherches très sérieuses sur l’égalité d’accès qui ont abouti à des lois. Ce mouvement a eu un impact croissant sur l’Irlande comme sur de nombreux autres pays, amenant chacun d’entre nous à un changement considérable d’attitude qui a provoqué des modifications dans l’enseignement, l’emploi, la politique en général et la politique sociale en particulier, les relations humaines comme les idées relatives à la culture. Certains bastions du conservatisme se raidissent face à cette évolution radicale. D’autres la suivent avec réticence, certains y viennent contraints tandis que d’autres encore l’accueillent franchement.

Dans un petit pays relativement homogène comme l’Irlande, avec une population cultivée et bien informée, il est toujours possible qu’une argumentation bien conçue et persuasive puisse, avec le temps, susciter un nombre de convertis atteignant la masse critique. Il se pourrait également que la structure de pouvoir de l’Église, isolée et dans les mains de représentants d’un seul sexe, avec son système de communication allant de haut en bas mais ne fonctionnant pas en sens inverse, mette beaucoup de temps à prendre au sérieux ce que disent, pensent et se persuadent les classes cultivées. Le résultat est que, à l’intérieur de l’Église d’Irlande comme ailleurs, on soit bloqué dans une situation dans laquelle sont opposés ceux qui croient à l’égalité des hommes et des femmes voulue par Dieu et ceux qui n’y croient pas.

Ce n’a jamais été seulement un débat opposant les hommes aux femmes. Plutôt, c’est un débat d’une part entre les forces rigides et conditionnées d’un monde ancien et d’autre part les voix insistantes et provocantes d’une monde nouveau qui émerge. Il y a plus que cela : ces dernières voix, en dépit du récent repliement frileux à propos de l’ordination des femmes, et peut-être aussi à cause de lui, sentent que la victoire est à la portée de la main.

Il n’y a pas si longtemps, les voix soutenant que le sexisme défigurait de manière caricaturale l’Église du Christ sur terre étaient des voix marginales, criant face à un édifice, une citadelle, si bien protégée qu’elle semblait imprenable. Dans la partie irlandaise de cet édifice, un clergé totalement masculin avait conclu une alliance parfaite, apparemment sans risque, avec les mères irlandaises. La foi se transmettait de génération en génération canalisée par ce formidable partenariat. Elle se transmettait sans difficulté car la confiance et le respect existaient d’un côté et la certitude et le paternalisme de l’autre.

Le poète W. B. Yeats définit les relations comme étant “un code de soumission infâme”. C’est là peut-être un jugement abrupt mais il découle du statut déplorable des femmes à travers le globe à son époque et cela, en fait, dans toute confession religieuse. Ses mots, cependant, trouvent un écho dans les paroles récentes de Jean-Paul II : “À chaque époque et en chaque région, notre conditionnement a constitué un obstacle au progrès de la femme. La dignité de la femme a été souvent méconnue, la femme a été souvent reléguée aux marges de la société et même réduite à la servitude... Que la responsabilité objective, spécialement dans certains contextes historiques, en revienne à certains membres de l’Église qui étaient loin de former une petite minorité, je le regrette sincèrement.”

Le fait même que le Pape ait ressenti la nécessité de revenir fréquemment, ces dernières années, sur le problème de la femme, découle de sa propre vie. Ses paroles ne sont pas celles d’un homme qui pense être du côté facile du débat. Loin de là. Ce sont les mots d’un homme qui comprend petit à petit qu’une brèche a été pratiquée dans les défenses de la citadelle et que le nombre de ses défenseurs convaincus est en diminution.

Désormais, quand des voix s’élèvent pour défendre une position des plus radicales en ce qui concerne le rôle de la femme dans l’Église, ces voix ne viennent plus des marges de l’Église. Ce ne sont pas les voix provocatrices de ceux que leurs frustrations ont poussés hors de l’Église ; ce sont plutôt les voix des fidèles (d’hommes, de femmes, de prêtres, de religieuses et, à l’occasion, d’un évêque) qui possèdent une foi solide et sont bien arrimés à l’intérieur de l’Église, qui l’aiment, qui en vivent et sont bien déterminés à y rester et à la faire changer. Celui qui a l’occasion d’assister à des réunions organisées dans l’Église où la place des femmes dans l’institution est débattue ne peut faire que noter, comme je l’ai fait, que la majorité des fidèles a changé de camp. Le processus de conversion n’est pas encore achevé mais nous ne sommes pas loin de sa fin.

Il y a ceux qui affirment que l’actuel manque de confiance des fidèles envers l’Église institutionnelle provient des récentes révélations concernant les abus sexuels commis sur des enfants par des membres du clergé et la manière très contestable dont les autorités de l’Église ont géré la crise. La vérité est plutôt que cela a simplement accéléré le rythme de la détérioration des relations entre les fidèles (en particulier les femmes) et les structures de pouvoir de l’Église. Le conditionnement sexiste auquel le Pape a fait allusion n’est plus une affaire mystérieuse. Il a été étudié, ses différentes facettes ont été mises à jour et ses comportements insidieux, dénoncés. La plupart des femmes et des hommes intelligents peuvent repérer le langage sexiste à des kilomètres, de quelques beaux atours qu’il soit revêtu, quelle que soit la position de celui qui l’emploie. Aussi quand le Saint-Père admet que l’Église pourrait avoir été un peu sexiste à une certaine époque, nous attendons qu’il fasse une autre déclaration et s’exprime de manière plus claire ; nous attendons que l’Église s’examine longuement, avec minutie, en profondeur.

L’Église est en train de tenter de comprendre comment sa propre pensée, l’idée même qu’elle se fait de Dieu, a été déformée, défigurée, par 2000 ans de convention sociale travestie en théologie et, pire encore, présentée comme la volonté de Dieu. Mais la déclaration attendue ne vient pas. Au lieu de cela, on arme et on brandit le revolver - que dis-je - le canon de l’infaillibilité en mettant les coupables en joue.

Les fidèles se rendent-ils sans résistance ? Se soumettent-ils humblement à un édit qui a la prétention de lier l’Église pour l’éternité ? Non, en Irlande, ils ne lâchent pas prise. Désormais, ils répondent aux arguments avancés, armés des découvertes d’une recherche moderne et décapante qui place les théologiens dogmatiques sous des spots qui jettent une lumière crue qui ne laisse rien dans l’ombre. Désormais, on entend des femmes à la foi profonde déclarer qu’elles se sentent appelées au sacerdoce. Elles parlent avec une confiance en soi toute nouvelle et elles sont écoutées avec un respect inattendu.

Réside dans ce débat une ironie cruelle. Les deux camps estiment qu’ils combattent pour l’existence même de l’Église. Ils ne peuvent avoir raison tous les deux. Les défenseurs de la ligne vaticane, qui adoptent de plus en plus le ton des apparatchiks du parti communiste débitant des clichés éculés, ont souvent considéré l’Irlande comme le dernier bastion du catholicisme, le seul endroit du monde où la foi ne vacillera jamais, où l’on trouvera toujours le témoignage d’une fidélité indéniable.

Curieusement, j’estime qu’ils ont raison, mais pour de mauvaises raisons. Peu de hiérarchie dans l’Église doit livrer une bataille aussi rude pour défendre sa crédibilité et sa pertinence comme la hiérarchie irlandaise. Elle a besoin d’alliés, en particulier du côté des femmes de foi. Celles-ci veulent forger de nouvelles alliances, mais les femmes d’aujourd’hui tiennent un langage que beaucoup de représentants de la gent masculine ne comprennent tout simplement pas et qui les place dans une position difficile. C’est le langage du monde de demain, non le langage du séminaire d’hier.

Ce langage dépassé doit être désappris. Il est rapidement devenu un signe d’inadaptation et sa date de péremption est depuis longtemps dépassée.

Mary McAleesse

Aller à Faire face à un Christ qui... par Mary McAleese

Retour à Le devoir de parler


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It Won’t Wash With Women
Mary McAleese, President of Ireland

It Won’t Wash With Women

by Mary McAleese

From The Tablet, March 15th., 1997.

Reprinted on the Internet with permission from The Tablet. Address: 1 King Street Cloisters, Clifton Walk, London W6 0QZ UK. Tel: 44-20-8748 8484; fax: 44-20-8748 1550; email: thetablet@the tablet.co.uk.

Mary McAleese, President of the Republic of Ireland (1997-2011). Among the academic posts she held:

  • Reed Professor of Criminal Law, Trinity College, Dublin (1975)
  • Director of the Institute of Professional Legal Studies (1987)
  • Pro-Vice Chancellor, Queen’s University Belfast (1994)
  • President of the Republic of Ireland (1997)

Have any Catholic bishops in Ireland undergone equal opportunities training? It is a serious question that I have asked before with a depressingly predictable answer. I could have asked the same question about the Pope and the Curia and been tolerably sure of the answer.

The fact that the answer is a resounding “no” is problematic today in a way that it was not even four or five years ago. The Western secular world has felt the impact of decades of serious equal opportunities debate critique, research and legislation. Its momentum has gathered in Ireland as in many other countries, bringing all of us up a steep learning curve which has changed the face of education, employment, social policy, politics, human relationships and cultural perspectives. Some bastions of conservatism remain slumped at the bottom of the curve. Others climbed it reluctantly, some were pushed and yet others jumped it.

In a small, relatively homogeneous country such as Ireland, with a well-educated and well-read population, there was always the possibility that a fluent and a persuasive argument would over time produce a critical mass of converts. There was also the possibility that the Church’s isolated, single-sex power structure, with its communication highway facilitating the downward but not the upward flow of information, would be slow to appreciate what the chattering classes were saying, thinking and concluding. The upshot is that within the Irish Church as elsewhere there is a nervous deadlock between those who believe in the God-ordained equality of women and those who do not.

It has never been just a debate between men and women. Rather, it has been a debate between the rigid, conditioning forces of an old world and the challenging, insistent voices of the new emerging world. What is more, that latter, despite the recent chilling retrenchment on the ordination of women and indeed possibly because of it, scent victory not far off.

Not so long ago the voices alleging that sexism was grotesquely disfiguring Christ’s church on earth were voices from the margins, shouting at an edifice, a citadel, so well protected it seemed to be impenetrable. Inside the Irish division of that edifice, an all-male clergy had a perfect and seemingly safe alliance with Irish mothers. Faith flowed from generation to generation, down the conduit established by that formidable partnership. It flowed freely because there was trust, deference, even servitude on one side, presumption and paternalism on the other.

The poet, W.B. Yeats, describes the relationships as “a code of ignoble submission”- a harsh judgment perhaps, given the adverse social status of women across the globe and in virtually every religious denomination in his day. His words, however, find an echo in the more recent words of Pope John Paul II when he said: “In every time and place our conditioning has been an obstacle to the progress of women. Women’s dignity has often been unacknowledged, they have often been relegated to the margins of society and even reduced to servitude ... If objective blame especially in historical contexts has belonged to not just a few members of the church, for this I am truly sorry. “

The very fact that this Pope has felt it necessary to return frequently in the past few years to the subject of women, tells its own story. His words are not those of a man who believes he is on the comfortable side of a debate. Far from it; they are the words of a man who is slowly realising that the citadel’s defences have been breached and its once staunch defenders are a declining population.

Nowadays, when voices are raised in support of a much more radical view of the role of women in the Church, the voices do not come from remote margins or fringes. They are not the test voices of those whose frustrations have driven them out of the Church; they are instead the voices of people (men, women, priests, nuns and the occasional bishop) whose feet and faith are planted foursquare inside the Church, who love it, live it and are determined to stay in it and to change it. Anyone attending church-based meetings where the subject of women and the Church is being discussed cannot help but notice, as I have, that the faithful mainstream has changed sides. The conversion process is not yet complete but it is not far from it.

There are those who assert that the current hiatus in trust between the faithful and the institutional Church has been largely caused by the recent spate of child sexual abuse scandals affecting clergy and their poor management by church authorities. The truth, rather, is that they have merely quickened the pace of decline in the deteriorating relationship between the faithful (particularly women) and the Church’s power structures. The sexist conditioning which Pope John Paul mentioned is no longer mysterious terrain. It has been picked over, its layers exposed, its insidious little ways outed. Most intelligent men and women can recognise sexist cant, no matter how nobly dressed up, no matter how elevated the speaker, from miles away. So when the Holy Father admits the Church just might have been a teensy-weensy bit sexist at times, we wait for the next obvious statement - that the Church is going to take a long, hard, scholarly look at itself.

It is going to try to understand how its own thinking, its very own understanding of God, has been skewed and damaged by 2,000 years of shameful codology dressed up as theology and, worse still, God’s will. But the statement does not come. Instead the big gun? the howitzer of infallibility, is armed and aimed.

Do the faithful lie down and take it? Do they humbly submit to an edict which purports to bind in perpetuity? Not in Ireland, they don’t. Nowadays, they argue back, armed with the insights of fresh, modern scholarship which puts conservative dogmatic theologians under a harsh and unforgiving spotlight. Nowadays, women of profound faith can be heard to say that they feel called to the priesthood. They speak with a new-found confidence and are listened to with a new-found respect.

A crucial irony exists in this debate. Both sides believe they are fighting for the very life and existence of the Church. They cannot both be right. Defenders of the Vatican line, who sound more and more like Communist Party apparatchiks hawking redundant clichés, have often in the past characterised Ireland as Catholicism’s heartland, the one place where the faith would never waver, where a sure witness to fidelity could be always found.

Curiously, I believe they are right - but for the wrong reasons. Few hierarchies face as tough a battle to maintain credibility and relevance as the Irish hierarchy. They need allies, in particular among women of faith. Those women are willing to forge new alliances, but today the women talk a language many of these men simply do not understand and have difficulty relating to. It is the language of tomorrow’s world, not the language of yesterday’s seminary.

That old language has yet to be unlearnt. It is rapidly becoming a badge of irrelevance and long past its sell-by date.

Mary McAleese

Go to Coping with a Christ who ... by Mary McAleese?

Return to the duty of speaking out?


Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.