¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Comptez pas sur moi pour ça!

"I would want to be a priest"

Comptez pas sur moi pour ça!

Réponse à Ordinatio Sacerdotalis (1994) et aux déclarations du Cardinal Ratzinger (1995) disant que la discussion sur l’ordination des femmes et close.]

Par Mélanie Mc Donnagh, journaliste à l’Evening Standard à Londres.

Extrait de The Tablet, 26 août 1995, pp 841-843

Republié avec la permission de The Tablet. Adresse : 1 King Street Cloisters, Clifton Walk, Londres W6 0QZ UK. Tel :44-20 8748 8484 ; fax :44-20 87 48 1550 ; email :thetablet@the tablet.co.UK.

On devrait se sentir flattées. Voici une conférence mondiale des Nations Unies consacrée aux femmes et le Pape y avait envoyé une lettre pour applaudir les mérites de ce sexe. Pas de doute qu’il y ait beaucoup à dire de ces deux événements. Les sujets traités à Pékin n’étaient pas simplement des sujets féministes mais comprenaient des matières comme la grande disparité entre les valeurs attribuées au travail des hommes et des femmes dans le tiers-monde. Sans aucun doute également, la conférence allait stigmatiser l’infanticide des petites filles pour l’édification de la nation hôte où prévaut cette pratique. Quant à la lettre du pape, elle comportait une prudente apologie de la part prise par l’Église dans l’asservissement des femmes:«je suis vraiment désolé que l’Église ait encouru un blâme objectif pour cela». En plus de ceci, dans ses communications de l’Angélus, le pape a, d’une manière répétitive, parlé au sujet des femmes, en préparation de la conférence.

On retire de tout cela un sentiment de malaise. Peut-être que l’objection se trouve dans les prémisses sous-jacentes à la fois à la conférence et à la réponse du pape à celle-ci qui est de savoir s’il est possible de parler ainsi du sexe féminin dans sa totalité.

Bien sûr qu’il y a d’évidentes différences entre les sexes. J’ai passé beaucoup de temps dans ma vie à écrire à ce sujet. Et bien sûr que les femmes généralisent à propos des hommes d’une manière ordinairement méprisante. Mais il est tout simplement inconcevable que les nations Unies organisent une conférence sur les hommes. Il est impossible de penser que le pape parle du génie des mâles en les remerciant pour le rôle particulier qu’ils jouent dans le monde. La raison en est que la position des hommes va de soi et est considérée comme la norme. On peut généraliser sur les femmes parce que quelque part, elles s’écartent de la norme. Les stéréotypes disent qu’elles sont plus émotives, plus intuitives, plus soucieuses du bien d’autrui que les hommes.Vous ne pouvez pas parler des hommes, écrire à leur sujet ou faire des conférences sur eux parce que vous finissez par parler de la condition humaine – Je veux dire, prenez par exemple la façon dont le pape s’est adressé aux femmes: «Merci à vous les femmes qui êtes des mères, ….vous devenez le vrai sourire de Dieu sur l’enfant nouveau-né….merci à vous les femmes qui êtes des épouses…merci à vous les femmes qui êtes des filles et à vous les femmes qui êdtes des sœurs…merci à vous, femmes travailleuses». S’il avait dû s’adresser aux hommes de cette manière, les hommes n’auraient pas su quelle attitude prendre devant ce discours. Cela n’a aucun sens de remercier les hommes qui travaillent parce que jusqu’à il y a peu de temps, c’étaient eux seuls qui travaillaient. Et parler comme il l’a fait de la vocation des femmes à la maternité, revient à définir le sexe féminin de la manière la plus gentille, comme étant essentiellement orienté vers la reproduction de l’espèce. Nous le sommes peut-être, mais les hommes aussi partagent cette fonction parentale. Personne toutefois ne pense à définir les hommes par leur paternité même s’ils se montrent dévoués à leur progéniture.

En fait, j’aime bien les petites courtoisies qui enjolivent les relations entre sexes différents: la déférence que les hommes, dans certaines circonstances, témoignent aux femmes est une source de plaisir et une expression de civilité. Et je suppose que ces coutumes sont basées sur des hypothèses sociales générales sur les sexes. Mais je troue ennuyeux que les femmes se mettent elles-mêmes de cette façon dans un ghetto en acceptant la gigantesque généralisation sur laquelle est basée la conférence de Pékin. Et la généralisation dans ce unit les femmes est plus grande qu’en ce qui les divise en termes de nationalité, religion, tempérament, profession. On ne suppose pas une solidarité instinctive entre hommes juste par de leur sexe.

Il existe certains problèmes sur statut des hommes qui vaudraient qu’on en discute. Le premier est qu’ils ne vivent pas aussi longtemps que les femmes. Si c’était le contraire, la longévité serait un problème féministe. Un autre problème est que dans certaines parties de l’Europe occidentale, le chômage est spécifiquement un problème masculin parce que les hommes sont moins désireux et moins capables d’accepter les places moins payées et temporaires que les femmes. Mais nous n’allons jamais diminuer les hommes en organisant une conférence des Nations Unies à leur sujet. Jusqu’à récemment, les hommes n’avaient même pas leurs propres magazines. Il existait des journaux pour les hommes en tant que sportifs, politiciens, colombophiles, théologiens. Mais c’étaient les femmes qui avaient des magazines simplement pour elles, particulièrement traitant de la cuisine, de la beauté, des bébés et de la santé. Les hommes ne se définissent pas eux-mêmes simplement comme hommes.

C’est déjà assez pénible d’avoir un statut de minorité si par race, religion ou autre chose, vous êtes vraiment une minorité.Mais prétendre que vous avez un statut de minorité quand vous êtes la partie de la population la plus forte, la plus saine, celle qui lit le plus, qui va le moins en prison et plus à l’église…c’est bien étrange. Et la conférence des femmes a précisément cet effet.

Melanie McDonagh

Traduction: Françoise Bourguignon

Retour au devoir de parler



This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

Veuillez signaler que ce document est publié par www.womenpriests.org!

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Count me out!

"I would want to be a priest"

Count me out!

[Response to Ordinatio Sacerdotalis (1994) and statements by Cardinal Ratzinger (1995) that discussion on the ordination of women is closed.]

by Melanie McDonagh, journalist on the Evening Standard in London.

From The Tablet, 26 August 1995, pp. 841 - 843.

Reprinted on the Internet with permission from The Tablet. Address: 1 King Street Cloisters, Clifton Walk, London W6 0QZ UK. Tel: 44-20-8748 8484; fax: 44-20-8748 1550; email: thetablet@the tablet.co.uk.

In a way, one should feel flattered. There is an entire United Nations world conference being devoted to the subject of Women and the Pope has addressed a letter to the sex applauding its merits. No doubt there is much to be said for both these things. The subjects being addressed in Beijing will not just be modishly feminist but will include such matters as the wide disparity between the value placed on the labour of men and women in the Third World. No doubt also the conference will point out the wrongness of female infanticide for the benefit of the host nation, where the practice is prevalent. As for the Pope’s letter, it included a guarded apology for the Church’s part in the subjugation of women: “if objective blame has belonged to not just a few members of the Church, for this I am truly sorry”. In addition, of late, in his Angelus addresses, the Pope has addressed the subject of women repeatedly, in preparation for the conference.

There remains a kind of unease about all this. Perhaps the objection is to the essential premise underlying both the conference and the Pope’s response to it, which is that it is possible to talk about the entire sex in this way.

Of course there are very obvious differences between the sexes. I spend much of my time writing about them. And of course women generalise about men, in a colloquial, dismissive sort of way. But it is simply inconceivable that the UN could be organising a conference about Men. It is impossible to imagine the Pope talking about the genius of Men, thanking them for their special role in the world. The reason is that the position of men is taken for granted, assumed to be the norm. You can generalise about women because, somehow, they depart from the norm. They are more emotional, more intuitive, more nurturing than men, or so the stereotype goes. You cannot address men, or write about them, or hold conferences about them, because you end up talking about the human condition - I mean, just take the way the Pope addressed women: “Thank you, women who are mothers....You become God’s own smile upon the newborn child....Thank you, women who are wives....Thank you, women who are daughters and women who are sisters....Thank you, women who work.” If he were to address his own sex in this way men would not know what to make of it. It does not make sense to thank men who work, because until very lately it was men who did the work. And to talk, as he does, about women’s vocation to motherhood, is to define the sex, in the nicest possible way, as being essentially orientated towards reproduction. Perhaps we are, but men too share the parental function. Nobody, however, tries to define men by virtue of their being fathers, no matter how devoted they are to their children.

As a matter of fact, I enjoy the small courtesies that enliven relations between the sexes: the deference that men, in some circumstances, pay to women is a source of pleasure and an expression of civility. And these customs are based, I suppose, on general social assumptions about the sexes. But I find it worrying that women can put themselves in a ghetto in this way, by indulging the gigantic generalisation on which the Beijing conference is based. And the generalisation is that what unites women is greater than what divides them, in terms of nationality, religion, temperament, profession. One does not assume an instinctive solidarity between men by virtue of their sex.

There are certain issues to do with the status of men that would warrant discussion. One is that they do not live as long as women. If the reverse were the case, longevity would be a feminist issue. Another is that in parts of Western Europe, unemployment is a specifically male problem because they are less willing and able to take on the lower-paid, temporary and part-time positions that women fill. But we are unlikely ever to patronise men by holding UN conferences about them. Until lately, men did not even have their own magazines. There were journals for men as sportsmen, as politicians, as pigeon fanciers, as theologians. But it was women who had magazines simply for their own sex; chiefly to do with cooking, beauty, babies and health. Men, you see, did not define themselves just as men.

It is bad enough to have minority status if, by race, religion or whatever, you are actually in a minority. But to pretend to minority status when you are the tougher, healthier part of the population, the part that reads more, goes to prison less and to church more...that is bizarre. And women’s conferences have precisely that effect.

Melanie McDonagh

Return to the duty of speaking out?


Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.