¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Profession de foi et serment de fidélité

Profession de foi et serment de fidélité

Osservatore Romano 13 mars 1989, page 3

Introduction Officielle

Les croyants appelés à exercer un office dans l’Église sont tenus de faire une profession de foi, selon la forme approuvée par le Saint Siège (voir Canon 833). En plus, l’obligation d’un serment de fidélité particulier concernant les devoirs particuliers de la charge à assumer, d’abord prescrits seulement aux évêques, a été étendue aux catégories mentionnées au Canon 833, 5-8. Il est apparu donc indispensable de préparer des textes adaptés pour les mettre à jour en ce qui concerne leur style et leur contenu et les mettre plus en phase avec les enseignements de Vatican II et des documents qui en étaient issus.

La première partie de la formule de profession de foi est en entier tirée du texte précédent en vigueur depuis 1969 et contenant le Credo de Nicène-Cosmopolite (voir AS 59 1967, p 1058). La seconde partie a été modifiée et sous divisée en trois paragraphes pour mieux distinguer le type de vérité et l’assentiment relatif requis.

La formule du serment de fidélité prononcé au moment de prendre la charge à exercer au nom de l’Église doit compléter la profession de foi. Elle est prescrite à une certaine catégorie de croyants désignés dans le Canon 833, 5-8. C’est une nouvelle composition dans laquelle certaines variantes des paragraphes quatre et cinq est à l’usage des plus grands supérieurs des institutions de vie consacrée et des sociétés de vie apostolique (voir canon 833,8)

Le texte de la nouvelle profession de foi et du serment de fidélité est en vigueur depuis le 1er Mars 1989.

La Profession de foi

(Voici la formule qui sera désormais utilisée dans les cas qui ont été prescrits par la loi pour faire la profession de foi.)

‘Moi,….avec une foi ferme, je crois et je professe tout collectivement et individuellement ce qui est contenu dans le Symbole de la Foi, c’est-à-dire :

« Je crois en un Dieu unique et Père tout puissant, qui a fait le Ciel et la terre et tout ce qui est visible et invisible et en Notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ, le Fils unique de Dieu qui est né du Père avant tous les âges, Dieu né de Dieu, Vie née de la Vie, vrai Dieu, né du vrai Dieu, engendré et non crée, consubstantiel au Père dont il a été fait. Qui pour nous les êtres humains et pour notre salut est descendu du ciel et a pris chair par le Saint Esprit de la vierge Marie et est devenu un être humain ; il a été crucifié pour nous sous Ponce Pilate, est mort et a été enseveli. Il est ressuscité le troisième jour selon les Écritures et est monté aux cieux et est assis à la droite du Père et il reviendra dans la gloire pour juger les vivants et les morts et son règne n’aura pas de fin. Je crois aussi au saint Esprit le Seigneur et celui qui donne la vie, qui procède du Père et du Fils, qui, avec le Père et le Fils, est adoré et glorifié, qui a parlé aux prophètes. Et je crois en l’Église, une, sainte, Catholique et Apostolique. Je confesse un seul baptême pour le pardon des péchés et j’espère la résurrection des morts et la vie du monde à venir. Amen. »

Je crois aussi avec une foi ferme toutes les choses qui sont contenues dans la parole écrite de Dieu ou dans la tradition et qui ont été proposées par l’Église dans un jugement solennel, dans soit le magistère universel et ordinaire comme divinement révélé et qui doit être cru.

J’embrasse aussi fermement et je garde tout ce qui, collectivement ou individuellement, en ce qui concerne la doctrine de la foi et de la morale, est définitivement proposé par la même autorité.

J’adhère aussi avec une obéissance religieuse de la volonté et de la foi aux doctrines que, soit le pontife Romain, soit le collège des évêques, prononcent quand ils exercent le magistère authentique, même s’ils n’ont pas l’intention de les proclamer dans un acte définitif.

Le serment de fidélité à prononcer quand on entreprend d’assumer une charge au nom de l’Église.

Moi… en prenant cette charge, je promets de toujours garder la communion avec l’Église Catholique soit dans les paroles que je dirai soit dans les actes que je poserai.

Avec grande diligence et fidélité, j’accomplirai les tâches dont je tiens les devoirs que j’ai en ce qui concerne l’Église, soit l’église universelle ou une église particulière, dans laquelle j’aurai été appelé à exercer mon service selon les prescriptions de la loi.

Dans l’accomplissement de la tâche qui m’a été confiée au nom de l’église, je garderai intact le dépôt de la foi, je l’exercerai fidèlement et je le défendrai. J’éviterai toutes les doctrines contraires à ce dépôt.

Je suivrai la discipline commune à toute l’église et je promouvrai l’observance des lois ecclésiastiques, spécialement les lois qui sont contenues dans le code du droit canon. Avec une obéissance chrétienne, j’accomplirai ce que les pasteurs sacrés, en tant qu’authentiques docteurs de la foi et professeurs déclarent ou ce qu’ils disent avec les gouverneurs de l’église et je rendrai un service fidèle aux évêques diocésains afin que l’action apostolique, au nom de l’Église et mandatée par elle, sera remplie en toute communion avec elle.

Que Dieu et sa Sainte Bible que je touche maintenant de la main puissent m’y aider.

Question importante

Les évêques, les prêtres, les théologiens sont-ils encore liés par ce « serment de fidélité » s’ils en viennent à se rendre compte que les arguments à l’encontre de l’ordination des femmes sont invalides ?

NON. Ils ne sont pas liés. Dans ce cas, le serment cesse ‘ab intrinseco’ [de l’intérieur] au moins en ce qui concerne l’ordination des femmes.

Traduction : Françoise Bourguignon



This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

Veuillez signaler que ce document
est publié par www.womenpriests.org!

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Profession of Faith and Oath of Fidelity

Profession of Faith and Oath of Fidelity

Osservatore Romano 13th March 1989, page 3

Official Introduction

The faithful called to exercise an office in the Church’s name are bound to make a profession of faith, according to the form approved by the Apostolic Sea (see Canon 833). In addition, the obligation of especial oath of fidelity concerning particular duties inherent in the office to be assumed, previously prescribed solely for bishops, has been extended to the categories mentioned in Canon 833, 5-8. Therefore it became necessary to prepare suitable texts for the purpose of updating them as regards style and contents to bring them more into line with the teaching of the Second Vatican Council and subsequent documents

For the formula of the profession of faith, the first part is taken in full from the preceding text in force since 1969, and containing the Nicene -Constantinopolitan Creed (see AS 59 1967, p. 1058). The second part has been modified and sub-divided in three paragraphs in order to distinguish better the type of truth and the relative assent required.

The formula of the oath of fidelity on taking up an office to be exercised in the Church’s name is intended to compliment the profession of faith. It is prescribed for the categories of the faithful listed in Canon 833,5-8. It is a new composition; in it certain variations of paragraph four and five are envisaged for its use by major superiors of institutes of consecrated life and of societies of apostolic life ( see canon 833,8).

The text of the new profession of faith and the oath of fidelity come into force from the 1 March 1989.

The Profession of Faith

(This is the formula which will now need to be used in cases in which it has been prescribed by law to make the profession of faith).

‘ I,...., with firm faith believe and profess everything collectively and individually which is contained in the Symbol of Faith, namely:

I believe in the one God and almighty Father, maker of heaven and earth, of all that is visible and invisible, and in the one Lord Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God, who was born from the Father before all ages, God from god, Life from life, true God from true God, born not made, consubstantial with the father through whom all has been made. Who because of us human beings and of our salvation descended from heaven and was made flesh through the Holy Spirit from the virgin Mary and became a human being; he was crucified for us under Pontius Pilate, died and was buried. He rose again on the third day according to the scriptures and ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the father and he will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead and his reign will have no end. I also believe in the Holy Spirit the Lord and giver of life, who proceeds from the father and the son, who with the father and the son is adored and glorified, who has spoken to the prophets. And I believe in the one, holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church. I confess one baptism for the forgiveness of sins and expect the resurrection of the dead and the life of the world to come amen.

I also believe with firm faith all those things which are contained in God’s written word or in tradition and which have been proposed by the Church in a solemn judgment, in either the ordinary or universal magisterium as Divinely revealed and to be believed.

I also firmly embrace and keep everything collectively and individually which with regard to the doctrine of faith and morals is definitively proposed by the same authority.

I also adhere with a religious obedience of will and mind the doctrines which either the Roman Pontiff or the college of bishops pronounce when they exercise the authentic magisterium even though they do not intend to proclaim them in a definitive act.

The Oath of Fidelity to be taken when undertaking an Office in the name of the Church

I....in taking up this office promise to always maintain communion with the Catholic Church either in words that i will speak or in my way of acting.

With great diligence and fidelity I will fulfil the tasks which I hold the duties which I have with regard to the Church, whether it is the universal church or the particular church in which I have been called to exercise my service according to the prescripts of the law.

In the fulfilment of my task which has been committed to me in the name of the church, I will keep the deposit of faith undiminished, I will hand it on faithfully and defend them. I will avoid whatever doctrines are contrary to them.

I will follow the common discipline of the whole church and I will promote the observance of all ecclesiastical laws, especially of those which are contained in the code of canon law. With Christian obedience I will fulfil whatever the sacred pastors, as the authentic doctors of faith and teachers declare or which the governors of the church state and I will give faithful service to the diocesan bishops in order that the apostolic action in the name and the mandate of the Church to the exercise will be fulfilled in communion with that church.

May so God help me and his holy Gospel which I now touch with my hands.

Important Question

Are bishops, parish priests, theologians, etc. still bound by the ‘oath of fidelity’ if they come to realise that the arguments against ordaining women are invalid?

No, they are not. In that case, the oath ceases ‘ab intrinseco’ [from within] at least with regard to the ordination of women.

See also;
Version published in 1998



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.