FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!
header

Responsive image
ANFANG GRÜNDE GEGEN DEN PAPST?! DEBATTE SICHT
Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Der Ausschluss von Frauen vom katholischen Priestertum wird immer mehr als ein Akt der Diskriminierung gesehen, obwohl sich Ro: Menschenrechte und Frauenordination

Menschenrechte und Frauenordination

Frauen können nicht katholischen Priester werden. Dies wird immer mehr als ein Akt der Diskriminierung gesehen, obwohl sich Rom zu gegenteiligen (gegenläufigen) Idealen bekennt. In den letzten Jahrzehnten stieg die internationale Sensibilität massiv bezüglich der Rechte der Frauen und bezüglich der notwendigen Neuorientierung gegen Ungerechtigkeiten der Vergangenheit/die aus der Vergangenheit herrühren. Das UK erließ 1975 den Sex Discrimination Act, die Europäische Gemeinschaft erließ 1976 ein Gleichstellungsgesetz. Am 18. Dezember 1979 die Generalversammlung der UN die International Convention on the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women. Dieses wurde inzwischen ratifiziert und in den meisten Mitgliedstaaten in staatliches Recht umgesetzt. In welche Ausreden oder rechtlichen Spitzfindigkeiten die Traditionalisten sich auch flüchten mögen, in der Welt von Morgen wird ein ausschließlich männliches Priestertum als diskriminierender Anachronismus erscheinen.

Dies wurde wiederholt an Rom herangetragen. Der bekannteste Fall war Schwester Kanes Intervention bei Papst Johannes Paul II. im Oktober 1979. Als Präsidentin der Oberenkonferenz hielt sie vor dem Heiligen Vater bei seinem Besuch in Washington folgende Rede:

„Wir Frauen haben die Botschaft unserer Kirche gehört, die über Menschenwürde und Respekt vor allen Menschen spricht. Als Frauen haben wir über diese Worte nachgedacht. Unsere Überlegungen bringen uns dazu: Die Kirche muss in ihrem Kampf um die Treue und ihrem Ruf für Achtung und Würde aller Menschen dem entsprechen, indem sie Frauen alle Dienste und Ämter öffnet.“ Origins 18 October 1979, p. 285.

Der Papst ließ sich auf keinen Dialog ein. Auch in den folgenden Jahren kam kein Gespräch zwischen Schwester Kane und dem Papst zustande. Der Kommentar des Vatikans bezüglich der Rede von Schwester Kane sprach von Anmaßung. Aber die Publicity, die die Weltmedien dem Ereignis einräumten und der weiten Unterstützung, die sie erführ, zeigt, dass sie ausgesprochen hat, was viele Katholikinnen fühlen: die Kirche behandelt uns ungerecht.

Als ich 1976 „Did Christ Rule Out Women Priests“ schrieb, reflektierte ich die Frage der rechtlichen Gleichstellung, inwiefern die Frage der gleichen Rechte hier relevant sei. Ich entschied mich dafür, darauf nicht einzugehen, weil ich auf der theologischen Linie Roms argumentieren wollte. Außerdem hatte ich ein ungutes Gefühl dabei, Weihe und Recht in einen Topf zu werfen. Ich meinte – und ich denke das immer noch – dass ein Mensch in den Dienst berufen werden soll, berufen von seiner Gemeinschaft, der Kirche. Niemand kann ein Recht auf Weihe in Anspruch nehmen. Aber das Thema Rechte kommt meines Erachtens aus einem anderen Blickwinkel dazu.

Es ist eine Position, dass kein Individuum einen Anspruch hat, geweiht zu werden; aber eine völlig andere, die Weihe zu verweigern, weil er/sie einer bestimmten Gruppe, Klasse oder Nation angehört. Würden wir es nicht auch Diskriminierung nennen, wenn alle Chinesen, Mexikaner oder Neuseeländer vom Priesterlichen Dienst ausgeschlossen würden, weil sie eben diesen Nationen angehörten? Frauen aufgrund ihres Geschlechts auszuschließen ist eine vergleichbare Diskriminierung.

Die Task Force der Catholic Theological Society of America liefert in ihrem Bericht eine andere wichtige Begründung aus der Moraltheologie: Frauen auszuschließen „macht keinen Sinn.“

“Das Argument vom göttlichen Recht her, „dass Christus es so bestimmt hätte“ (Ordinatio Sacerdotalis §2), reicht nicht aus, um den Vorwurf der ungerechten Diskriminierung zu entkräften. Der Mangel beläuft sich nicht darin, dass die Belege aus der heiligen Schrift und der Tradition zweifelbar sind, sondern dass sie nicht den Anforderungen der katholischen Moraltheologie entsprechen. Das heißt, die katholischen Tradition hat sich immer selbst als Grundlage fest gesetzt, dass der göttliche Wille nicht willkürliche festgesetzt werden kann, und deswegen moralische Normen zu allererst „sinnvoll“ sein müssen. Deswegen reicht es nicht aus, zu sagen, das ist das Gesetz. Gott fordert nicht nur Gehorsam, sondern auch ein gewisses Maß an Verständnis. .”

The Report ‘Tradition and the Ordination of Women’ was endorsed the Catholic Theological Society of America on 6 June 1997.

Vorzugeben, dass es keine Diskriminierung gebe, weil Christus es so wolle, wälzt die Schuld auf Christus ab. Dabei wird er als einer der größten Chauvinisten der Geschichte dargestellt. Einer der schlimmsten, weil so viele Menschen, dem zum Opfer fallen und solchen tiefen spirituellen Gewinn entbehren müssen. Die meisten Texte der Website machen klar, dass diese These unhaltbar ist. Nicht Christus hält die Frauen vom priesterlichen Dienst ab, die frohe Botschaft seiner Erlösung weiterzugeben.

Weitere Literatur :



This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Human Rights and Women's Ordination

Human Rights and Women's Ordination

Image of Christ

Women too bear Christ's image Women reflect Christ's feminine traits Women too can act as another Christ Women too represent Christ's love Women are equal 'in Christ'

The exclusion of women from the Catholic priesthood is more and more seen as an act of discrimination notwithstanding Rome's profession to the contrary. The last decades have seen a phenomenal increase of international sensitivity regarding women's rights and the need to redress injustices committed in the past. The United Kingdom accepted the Sex Discrimination Act in 1975. The European Economic Community passed a law in 1976 which included the principle of equal treatment for men and women. On 18th December 1979 the General Assembly of the United Nations endorsed an International Convention on the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women. This has now been ratified and passed as law in a majority of member nations. Whatever excuses or legal loopholes traditionalists may resort to, in the world of tomorrow an exclusively male priesthood will appear a discriminatory anachronism.

This has been pointed out to Rome repeatedly. The most celebrated case was Sister Theresa Kane's intervention to John Paul II in October 1979. As president of the Leadership Conference of Women Religious, she addressed the Holy Father during his visit to Washington. She said:

‘As women, we have heard the powerful messages of our Church professing dignity and reverence for all persons. As women, we have pondered upon these words. Our contemplation leads us to state that the Church in its struggle to be faithful to its call for reverence and dignity for all persons must respond by providing the possibility of women as persons being included in all ministries of our Church’.Origins 18 October 1979, p. 285.

The Pope refused to enter into dialogue. Even in subsequent years various attempts by Sister Kane to obtain an interview with the Holy Father failed. The Vatican version of the incident was that she had overstepped her limits. But the enormous publicity given to the event by the world media and the wide support she received, show that she had expressed something many Catholic women feel: 'the Church treats us unjustly.'

When I wrote Did Christ Rule out Women Priests? in 1976, I reflected on the question of equal rights. I decided not to bring them into the discussion. I wanted to meet Rome on its own theological ground. I also felt uneasy about associating ordination and rights. I felt and still feel that a person should be called to the ministry - called that is by the community, the Church. No one can claim the 'right' to be ordained. But I have now come to see that 'rights' do come in from another angle.

It is one thing to hold that no individual has the right to be ordained, quite another to refuse ordination because he or she belongs to a particular group, class or nation. Should we not speak of discrimination if all Chinese, all Mexicans, all New Zealanders were excluded from the priestly ministry simply because they belong to those nations? Excluding women because they are women is a similar act of discrimination.

The Task Force of the Catholic Theological Society of America, in its report on ‘Tradition and the Ordination of Women’, mentions another reason important in moral theology: the banning of women ‘does not make sense’.

“The argument from divine law, that ‘Christ established things this way’ (Ordinatio Sacerdotalis § 2), is not in itself sufficient to satisfy questions of unjust discrimination. The insufficiency here lies not so much in the fragility of scriptural and historical warrants for the argument, but in its failure to meet the demands of traditional Catholic moral theology. That is, the Catholic moral tradition has consistently premised itself on the belief that the divine will is not arbitrary, and that moral norms must thus overall ‘make sense’. Hence, it is never sufficient to simply say: ‘This is the law’. God asks not only for obedience but also for some degree of understanding.”

The Report ‘Tradition and the Ordination of Women’ was endorsed the Catholic Theological Society of America on 6 June 1997.

Pretending there is no discrimination ‘because it was Christ's will’, does no more than shift the blame on Christ. He is then presented as one of the worst discriminators in the history of the world - one of the worst as it victimises so many people and as it deprives them of such deep spiritual values. It will be clear from all that the evidence presented on this website that this claim would be preposterous. It is not Christ who has kept women from ministering his saving power.

Read also:


John Wijngaards



This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.