¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Les droits humains et l’ordination des femmes

Les droits humains et l’ordination des femmes

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

L’exclusion des femmes de la prêtrise dans l’Église catholique est de plus en plus considérée comme une discrimination bien que Rome proclame le contraire. Les dernières décennies ont été témoins d’une sensibilité qui s’est accrue de manière phénoménale vis-à-vis des droits des femmes et du besoin de réparer les injustices commises envers elles par le passé. En 1975, le Royaume-Uni a voté le Sex Discrimination Act (loi sur la discrimination sexuelle). En 1976, la Communauté Économique Européenne a passé une directive qui inclut le principe de l’égalité des hommes et des femmes. Le 18 décembre 1979, l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté une Convention internationale pour l’élimination de toutes formes de discrimination envers les femmes. Celle-ci a été ratifiée et adoptée comme loi dans la majorité des pays membres. Quelles que soient les excuses ou les échappatoires juridiques auxquelles les traditionalistes puissent recourir, dans le monde de demain un sacerdoce exclusivement masculin apparaîtra comme un anachronisme discriminatoire.

Ceci a été signalé à Rome à maintes reprises. Le cas le plus célèbre est celui de l’intervention de Sœur Theresa Kane devant Jean-Paul II en octobre 1979. En tant que présidente de la Conférence des Religieuses des États-Unis, elle s’est adressée au Saint-Père lors de sa visite à Washington. Elle a déclaré :

“En tant que femmes, nous avons bien reçu les messages très forts venant de notre Église proclamant la dignité et le respect de toutes les personnes. En tant que femmes, nous avons sérieusement réfléchi à ces paroles. Cette méditation nous conduits à déclarer que l’Église, dans sa lutte pour être fidèle à son appel à la dignité et au respect de toutes les personnes, doit y répondre en permettant aux femmes en tant que personnes humaines d’avoir accès à tous les ministères de notre l’Église. “Origins 18 octobre 1979, p. 285.

Le Pape a refusé le dialogue. Au cours des années suivantes, les diverses tentatives de Sœur Kane pour obtenir un entretien avec le Pape ont avorté. La version de l’incident présentée par le Vatican est que Sœur Kane a dépassé les limites. Mais l’énorme publicité donnée à cet événement par les grands médias et le large soutien qu’elle a reçu montrent qu’elle a exprimé un sentiment que nombre de femmes catholiques ressentent : “L’Église nous traite injustement”.

En 1976, quand j’ai écrit Did Christ Rule out Women Priests ? (Le Christ a-t-il exclu les femmes de la prêtrise ?), j’ai réfléchi à la question de l’égalité. J’ai décidé de ne pas l’aborder dans la discussion. Je voulais rencontrer Rome sur son propre terrain théologique. Je me sentais également mal à l’aise d’associer ordination et droits. J’estimais et j’estime toujours qu’une personne devrait être appelée à un ministère, en étant interpellée par sa communauté, par l’Église. Certes, personne ne peut réclamer le “droit” d’être ordonné. Mais j’en suis maintenant venu à considérer que les “droits” peuvent être vus sous un autre angle.

Soutenir qu’aucun individu n’a le droit d’être ordonné est une chose. Une toute autre chose est de lui refuser l’ordination sous prétexte qu’il appartient à un certain groupe, à une certaine classe, à un certain pays. Ne devrions-nous pas parler de discrimination si tous les Chinois, tous les Mexicains, les Néo-Zélandais étaient exclus de la prêtrise simplement parce qu’ils sont citoyens de Chine, du Mexique ou de Nouvelle-Zélande ? Pareillement, exclure les femmes pour la simple raison qu’elles sont femmes est un acte de discrimination.

Le Comité spécial de la Société Théologique Catholique d’Amérique, dans son rapport sur “La Tradition et l’ordination des femmes”, mentionne une autre raison importante en théologie morale : l’exclusion des femmes “n’a pas de sens”.

“L’argument découlant de la loi divine selon lequel “le Christ a voulu les choses ainsi”  (Ordinatio Sacerdotalis § 2) n’est pas en lui-même suffisant pour répondre à l’argument d’une discrimination injuste. L’insuffisance de celui-ci ne découle pas tellement de la fragilité des justifications historiques et scripturaires mais bien du fait qu’il ne satisfait pas aux exigences de la théologie morale catholique traditionnelle. Car la tradition morale catholique a toujours reposé sur la conviction que la volonté divine n’est jamais arbitraire et que les normes morales doivent donc tout à fait “avoir du sens”. D’où il ne suffit jamais de simplement dire : “Ceci est la loi ”. Dieu veut qu’on lui obéisse mais aussi en sachant au moins en partie pourquoi.”

Le rapport “La Tradition et l’ordination des femmes” a été accepté par la Société Théologique Catholique d’Amérique le 6 juin 1997.

Prétendre qu’il n’y a pas de discrimination “parce que c’est la volonté du Christ” n’a d’autre résultat que de rejeter le blâme sur le Christ. C’est alors le présenter comme un des pires acteurs de la discrimination de l’histoire du monde - un des pires car il a fait de nombreuses victimes et les a privées de valeurs spirituelles très riches. Il ressort à l’évidence de tout ce qui est dit sur ce site que cette position est absurde. Ce n’est pas le Christ qui empêche les femmes d’être les ministres de sa puissance salvatrice.

Texte de John Wijngaards.
Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Human Rights and Women's Ordination

Human Rights and Women's Ordination

Image of Christ

Women too bear Christ's image Women reflect Christ's feminine traits Women too can act as another Christ Women too represent Christ's love Women are equal 'in Christ'

The exclusion of women from the Catholic priesthood is more and more seen as an act of discrimination notwithstanding Rome's profession to the contrary. The last decades have seen a phenomenal increase of international sensitivity regarding women's rights and the need to redress injustices committed in the past. The United Kingdom accepted the Sex Discrimination Act in 1975. The European Economic Community passed a law in 1976 which included the principle of equal treatment for men and women. On 18th December 1979 the General Assembly of the United Nations endorsed an International Convention on the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women. This has now been ratified and passed as law in a majority of member nations. Whatever excuses or legal loopholes traditionalists may resort to, in the world of tomorrow an exclusively male priesthood will appear a discriminatory anachronism.

This has been pointed out to Rome repeatedly. The most celebrated case was Sister Theresa Kane's intervention to John Paul II in October 1979. As president of the Leadership Conference of Women Religious, she addressed the Holy Father during his visit to Washington. She said:

‘As women, we have heard the powerful messages of our Church professing dignity and reverence for all persons. As women, we have pondered upon these words. Our contemplation leads us to state that the Church in its struggle to be faithful to its call for reverence and dignity for all persons must respond by providing the possibility of women as persons being included in all ministries of our Church’.Origins 18 October 1979, p. 285.

The Pope refused to enter into dialogue. Even in subsequent years various attempts by Sister Kane to obtain an interview with the Holy Father failed. The Vatican version of the incident was that she had overstepped her limits. But the enormous publicity given to the event by the world media and the wide support she received, show that she had expressed something many Catholic women feel: 'the Church treats us unjustly.'

When I wrote Did Christ Rule out Women Priests? in 1976, I reflected on the question of equal rights. I decided not to bring them into the discussion. I wanted to meet Rome on its own theological ground. I also felt uneasy about associating ordination and rights. I felt and still feel that a person should be called to the ministry - called that is by the community, the Church. No one can claim the 'right' to be ordained. But I have now come to see that 'rights' do come in from another angle.

It is one thing to hold that no individual has the right to be ordained, quite another to refuse ordination because he or she belongs to a particular group, class or nation. Should we not speak of discrimination if all Chinese, all Mexicans, all New Zealanders were excluded from the priestly ministry simply because they belong to those nations? Excluding women because they are women is a similar act of discrimination.

The Task Force of the Catholic Theological Society of America, in its report on ‘Tradition and the Ordination of Women’, mentions another reason important in moral theology: the banning of women ‘does not make sense’.

“The argument from divine law, that ‘Christ established things this way’ (Ordinatio Sacerdotalis § 2), is not in itself sufficient to satisfy questions of unjust discrimination. The insufficiency here lies not so much in the fragility of scriptural and historical warrants for the argument, but in its failure to meet the demands of traditional Catholic moral theology. That is, the Catholic moral tradition has consistently premised itself on the belief that the divine will is not arbitrary, and that moral norms must thus overall ‘make sense’. Hence, it is never sufficient to simply say: ‘This is the law’. God asks not only for obedience but also for some degree of understanding.”

The Report ‘Tradition and the Ordination of Women’ was endorsed the Catholic Theological Society of America on 6 June 1997.

Pretending there is no discrimination ‘because it was Christ's will’, does no more than shift the blame on Christ. He is then presented as one of the worst discriminators in the history of the world - one of the worst as it victimises so many people and as it deprives them of such deep spiritual values. It will be clear from all that the evidence presented on this website that this claim would be preposterous. It is not Christ who has kept women from ministering his saving power.

Read also:


John Wijngaards



This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.