FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!
header

Responsive image
ANFANG GRÜNDE GEGEN DEN PAPST?! DEBATTE SICHT
Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Frauen repräsentieren Christi weibliche Züge und den femininen Symbolismus seiner Leben schenkenden Mission besser

Frauen repräsentieren Christi weibliche Züge und den femininen Symbolismus seiner Leben schenkenden Mission besser

Jesus kam mit seiner anima in Berührung

C.G. Jung wies berechtigterweise darauf hin, daß zu jeder weiblichen Persönlichkeit eine männliche Komponente (animus) und zu jeder männlichen Persönlichkeit eine weibliche Komponente gehören (anima). Dies ist ein wichtiges Faktum, daß wir uns vergegenwärtigen sollten, wenn wir Christi Persönlichkeit als Mann diskutieren.

Manche Männer sind sich ihrer anima bewußter als andere. Eine Untersuchung der Evangelien verdeutlicht, daß Jesus ein großartiges Feingefühl für Frauen und für seine eigenen weiblichen Züge hatte.

Bei dem Versuch, Jesu Einstellung zu Frauen zu rekonstruieren, entdecken wir ein bestimmtes Bewußtsein für ihre Anwesenheit in seiner Hörerschaft. Jesus bedient sich für seine Beispiele sowohl Aspekte aus dem Leben von Frauen als auch aus dem Leben von Männern. Er weiß, daß Frauen ihre Schätze gut verborgen halten und daß sie zur Dämmerung ein Licht anzünden (Mt 5,15-16 und 6,19-21). Er erzählt von Kindern, die auf dem Marktplatz spielen und von Mädchen, die bei einer Hochzeit auf den Bräutigam warten (Mt 11,16-19 und 25,1-13). Oft redet er in Gleichnissen von Geschichten von Frauen und schaltet diese parallel zu Geschichten von Männern:

.

Wir können davon ausgehen, daß die Mutter Jesu, Maria, einen großen Einfluß auf ihn ausübte. Viele Ideale lernte Jesus von ihr. Sie muß ihn sehr motiviert haben, als er am Anfang seines öffentlichen Auftreten stand. Züge dessen werden beispielsweise im Evangelium nach Johannes deutlich. Während der Hochzeit zu Kana ist es Maria, die darauf dringt, daß er sein erstes Wunder wirkt. „Meine Stunde ist noch nicht gekommen." protestiert Jesus. Als sie jedoch ruhig darauf beharrte, änderte er seine Meinung und läutete das messianische Zeitalter in, indem er Wasser in Wein verwandelte (Joh 2,1-12).

An mehreren bedeutsamen Punkten in seiner eigenen Entwicklung erhielt Jesus durch Begegnungen mit Frauen Einsicht und wurde zu handeln veranlaßt.

Jesus reagierte auch auf leise Gesten von Frauen: die reuige Prostituierte, die seine Füße mit Salböl salbte; die Witwe von Nain, die hinter der Bahre ihres toten Sohnes herging; die Frau, die wegen Arthritis ganz verkrümmt war; die Witwe im Tempel, die zwei kleine Kupfermünzen in den Opferstock legt und die Frau von Jerusalem, die weinte, als sie Jesus das Kreuz tragen sah (Lk 7,36-50; 7,11-17; 13,10-17; 21,1-4 und 23,27-31).

Aufgrund dieser und anderer Texte können wir mit Sicherheit behaupten, daß der historische Jesus sehr wohl mit seiner anima in Berührung gekommen ist. Er war sich der Anliegen der Frauen bewußt. Er trug Sorge für sie. Er lernte von ihnen. In seinen Sorgen und Anregungen sah er Veranlassungen des Hlg. Geistes. Vergebung und Versöhnung, die er von seinem Vater an die Menschen herantrug, brachte er genauso für Frauen wie für Männer.

Sicherlich konnte Jesus in der kurzen Zeit seines öffentlichen Auftretens nicht alle gesellschaftlichen Vorurteile seiner Zeit umstürzen. Er trat nicht explizit für eine feministische Emanzipation ein, genauso wenig wie er sich für die Abschaffung der Sklaverei einsetzte. In seiner geistigen Haltung jedoch etablierte er Prinzipien, die alle menschlichen Beziehung revolutionieren sollten.

Vgl. Elisabeth MOLTMANN-WENDEL, The Women around Jesus, London 1982; A Land Flowing with Milk and Honey, London 1986, S. 137-148; Mary Grey, Redeeming the Dream: feminism, redemption and Christian tradition, London 1989, besonders S. 95-103.

In Jesu Tod und Auferstehung befreite er sowohl Frauen als auch Männer

Wir könnten nun, auf einer tieferen Ebene, weiterfragen: Was hat Jesu Sorge um die Frauen genützt? Sind daraus wirkliche „Befreiungsschläge" erwachsen? Ist der Auferstandene genauso wirksam, was Frauen betrifft, wie das Versprechen, das von Jesus von Nazareth gelobt wurde?

Die Antwort lautet: Ja! Mit dem Kommen Christi veränderte sich die Stellung der Frau in der Religion dramatisch. Wo sie nur indirekt zum Bund gehörte, den Mose geschlossen hatte, wurde die Frau nun in den Status der Gotteskindschaft gehoben, gleichberechtigt mit dem Mann.

Im Alten Testament wurde lediglich von den Männern als Träger des Bundes gesprochen:

Auch im traditionellen Judentum wurde die gleiche Rollenaufteilung aufrecht erhalten. Männer sollten die regulären Gebete sprechen. Männer hatten die vorrangigen Sitze in der Synagoge. Männer konnten aus der Torah lesen. Mindestens 10 Männer konstituierten das Quorum und die Minyan, eine Gruppe für das öffentliche jüdische Gebet. Im Alter von 13 Jahren wurden die Jungen in der Bar Mitzvah-Zeremonie in die religiösen Verpflichtungen der Erwachsenen eingeführt. Kein solcher Akt existierte für Mädchen.

Mit diesem Hintergrund im Kopf können wir die revolutionären Veränderungen, die durch Christus gewirkt wurden, umso mehr schätzen. Beide, Männer wie Frauen, werden durch ein und denselben Ritus, die Taufe nämlich, in den neuen Bund aufgenommen. Wie bereits erwähnt, sterben wir in der Taufe mit Christus und erstehen mit ihm auf. Männer wie Frauen erleben denselben Transformationsprozess, der sie als „neue Schöpfung" herauskommen läßt.

Aufgrund dessen haben Männer und Frauen gleichberechtigt Anteil am eucharistischen Mahl und haben dieselben religiösen Verpflichtungen; dies sind tatsächliche Veränderungen mit enormen Konsequenzen.

Paulus drückte dieses Prinzip folgendermaßen aus:

Denn ihr seid alle durch den Glauben
Gottes Kinder in Christus Jesus.
Denn ihr alle, die ihr auf Christus getauft seid,
habt Christus angezogen.
Hier ist nicht Jude noch Grieche,
hier ist nicht Sklave noch Freier,
hier ist nicht Mann noch Frau;
denn ihr seid allesamt einer in Christus Jesus.

(Gal 3,26-28)

Beachten Sie die revolutionären Veränderungen, die Christus in die Faktizität der Beziehung des Menschen zu Gott hineingebracht hat. Aber diese religiöse Faktizität brauchte, und braucht immer noch, eine Art Übersetzung in soziale und kirchliche Faktizität.

Die Römisch-Katholische Kirche diskutiert stets die Konsequenzen. Die Kirche hat über 19 Jahrhunderte gebraucht, um öffentlich zu akzeptieren, daß Sklaverei mit Gottes Schöpfungsordnung und Christi Geist unvereinbar ist (II.Vaticanum, Gaudium et Spes no.29). Nun verwehrt Rom Frauen immer noch den Zugang zum sakramentalen Priestertum. Wir können davon ausgehen, daß diese Frage letztendlich auf der Basis der von Christus verfochtenen Gleichheit der Menschen entschieden wird.

Die Männlichkeit des Gottvater-Bildes und die Männlichkeit des historischen Jesus können wirkliche Verstehensprobleme aufwerfen. Diese Probleme können jedoch gelöst werden, wenn wir die Geschlechtlichkeit in die richtige Perspektive rücken. Die „Vaterschaft" Gottes ist nur eine Metapher. Gott ist eine Mutter wie ein Vater. Und der Auferstandene ist keine männliche Gestalt, die in der Luft kreist, sondern der Heilige Geist in uns, der Leben spendet, der sowohl weibliche als auch männliche Züge hat.

Da wir alle eins sind in Christus, kann sich jede einzelne Person in Christus widergespiegelt sehen. Wie auch immer unser soziale Status oder unsere Hautfarbe geartet ist, Christus ist in uns zu einer neuen Schöpfung geworden. Alles, was uns ausmacht, gehört ihm. Nichts Menschliches in uns wird von ihm verworfen. In Christus überwinden wir all die Beschränkungen, die uns von anderen auferlegt werden.

Die Stellvertretung der vollen Persönlichkeit Christi bedingt auch die Zeichnung seiner weiblichen Züge.

Christi vollständige Persönlichkeit zu repräsentieren heißt, auch seine weiblichen Züge mit einzubeziehen. Jesus zögerte nicht, weibliche und mütterliche Bilder zu verwenden, um sein Handeln zu beschreiben. Die Liebe, die er beim Essen und Trinken mit den Sündern zeigt, ist auch jene des männlichen Hirten, der auf der Suche nach dem verlorenen Schaf verrückt in der Gegend herumläuft; jene Liebe des Vaters, der unschicklich die Straße herunterläuft, um seinen reuigen Sohn willkommen zu heißen; es ist auch jene Liebe der Frau, die auf der Suche nach einer unbedeutenden Münze ihr Haus auf den Kopf stellt (Lk 15). Christus ist gekommen, um die Kinder Jerusalems so um sich zu versammeln, wie die Flügel einer Vogelmutter ihre Brut umgeben, schützen und wärmen (Mt 23,37). Sein Tod und seine Auferstehung sind zudem die Geburtswehen des Messias (Joh 16,21; vgl. Offb 12; Mk 13,8).

Der Gebrauch weiblicher Bilder wird in der Beschreibung der Diener Jesu fortgeführt. Paulus nennt sich selbst Vater, aber ebenso zögerte er nicht, sich selbst als „Mutter, die ihre Kinder pflegt" zu bezeichnen (1 Thess 2,7) oder sich mit einer Frau mit Geburtswehen zu vergleichen bis Christus sein Volk gestaltet hat (Gal 4,19).

„Der Sinn dieser Bezüge besteht nicht darin, bezweifeln zu wollen, daß männliche Bildmotive überwiegen, aber darin darzulegen, daß es Dimensionen der göttlichen Liebe für den Menschen gibt, der versöhnenden Rolle Christi und des offiziellen christlichen Dienstes, die nur mittels weiblicher Bilder transportiert werden können. Christus stellte diese der Welt vor, obwohl er Mann war; Paulus stellte sie der Welt vor, obwohl er Mann war.

Wenn ein Mann solch weibliche Dimensionen göttlicher Liebe vorstellen kann, ist es schwierig, zu begreifen, warum auf der anderen Seite eine Frau nicht die Dimensionen göttlicher Liebe in Christus der Kirche repräsentieren soll, die mittels männlicher Bildmotivik dargestellt werden. Einigermaßen intelligente Leute verstehen die Wirksamkeit der Symbole und verschieben die Akzente nicht.

Das Argument gegen die Stellvertretung Christi durch Frauen ist oft mit strengen Normen der Symbolik gepaart, die sich meist nicht vom „Prosa-Irrtum" freimachen können.

Klärung bezüglich dieses Themas bedürfen vor allem Roms Ansichten. Es wird davon ausgegangen, daß ein Mann sowohl männliche als auch weibliche Züge repräsentieren kann, eine Frau jedoch nur weibliche? Ist die Unterordnung einer Ehefrau ihrem Mann gegenüber der einzige Grund dafür, daß Christus als Bräutigam der Kirche angesehen wird? Welche Annahmen und Neigungen, „theologische, kulturelle, psychologische und andere", liegen der Beschreibung bestimmter Einstellungen und Dienste als „männlich" bzw. „weiblich" zugrunde? Darf eine Frau etwas zu sagen haben oder ist dies schon eine Verletzung des „ewig zeitlichen Weiblichen"?"

Joseph A. Komonchak, ‘Theological Questions on the Ordinations of Women’, in: Women and the Catholic Priesthood, S. 241-259; hier S. 251-252.

Als Lebensspender ist Christus weiblicher als männlich

Paul Lakeland zieht aus der spirituellen Funktion Christi als demjenigen, der Leben spendet, Schlüsse.

„Christi soteriologische Handlung an der Menschheit wird durch Gottes Gnade kompletiert, und dadurch wird der Jüngerschaft Christi, der Kirche, neues Leben geschenkt. Die Kirche widerum wird von Gottes Gnade getragen, die auf dem Weg des Kopfes der Kirche, nämlich Christus, zu ihr gelangt.

Christus ist gleichzeitig Quelle und Vermittler des Lebens der Kirche; kooperativ mit dem Vater wird die Kirche geschaffen. Hier könnte derb eine biologische Parallele gezogen werden, mit deren Hilfe man den Sohn als die Mutter und den Vater als Vater der Kirche bezeichnen könnte – dies jedoch ist nicht unser Ansinnen. Vielmehr ist es wichtig, zu betonen, daß Christus kommt, um der Kirche neues Leben zu schenken, dieses Leben (das Leben des Geistes) aber nicht von ihm allein ausgeht. Es geht von ihm und dem Vater aus. Er ist so etwas wie der Vertreter, der Leben weitergibt. In seiner Menschlichkeit hat er es außerhalb seiner selbst (von Gott) empfangen, in seiner Göttlichkeit hat er es aus der Ewigkeit im Vater empfangen. Er ist der Kooperator, der in der Schöpfung neuen Lebens für die Kirche involviert ist, er ist die Quelle und der Träger des Lebens aus Gnade. Er handelt, anders ausgedrückt, unter einem weiblichen Vorzeichen."

„Wenn der Priester als Stellvertreter Christi angesehen wird, dann ist er dies eher im theologischen als im physischen Sinn. Der Priester vertritt Christus als Lebensspender in seinem Amt bei Eucharistie, Taufe und Beichte. Er steht im physischen Sinne am Platz Christi, handelt aber im theologischen Sinn. Christus wirkt in den von der Gnade gegebenen Sakramenten durch ihn. Ähnlich kann auch die Kirche als Vermittler der Gnade an die Welt gesehen werden, eine Vermittlung, in der das kostenlose Geschenk Gottes und die Sorge der Kirche, ihre Berufung zu erfüllen wie „Teig" vermengt wird. Wie sie sich selbst gibt, so gibt sie Gott in Christus. Dies ist ein weiterer Aspekt des Christseins in der Welt; das mag allerdings den Leser verwirren. Die Verwirrung selbst ist jedoch lehrreich, da genau dies passiert, wenn wir uns mit Metaphern und Symbolen beschäftigen."

„Die ihnen inherente Wahrheit ist eine universale Wahrheit, und viele Facetten menschlicher Existenz sind unter diesem Aspekt zu beleuchten. Die Kirche, der Priester, Christus, sie alle sind bis zum religiösen Grund ihrer Seinswirklichkeit unentwirrbar männlich und weiblich. Wenn man mit den Argumenten lediglich aussagen möchte, daß viele priesterliche Aktivitäten Parallelen zu spezifisch männlichen Handlungen haben, kann dies nur bestätigt werden. Was allerdings beachtet werden muß: wenn ein Mann das Priesteramt ausüben und Funktionen übernehmen kann, die in weiblichen Symbolismus reinreichen, dann greift kein Argument, das sich unter dem Aspekt gegen Frauenordination ausspricht, daß sie bestimmte von der Symbolik eher männliche Handlungen nicht ausführen könne. Tatsächlich aber ist ihre Adäquatheit für das Priesteramt in der Vermittlung und Mithilfe im Leben der Gnade weitaus eindeutiger als die eines Mannes."

Paul Lakeland, Can Women be Priests?, Mercier Press, Dublin 1975, S. 67-68. Vgl. auch seine theologiekritische Theorie: The Discourse of the Church, Abingdon, Nashville 1990.

John Wijngaards

Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

"Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org"

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Tina Bruns.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2017 . . .

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A woman represents Christ better in his feminine traits and the feminine symbolism of his life giving mission

Image of Christ

Women too bear Christ's image Women reflect Christ's feminine traits Women too can act as another Christ Women too represent Christ's love Women are equal 'in Christ'

A woman represents Christ better in his feminine traits and the feminine symbolism of his life giving mission




Jesus was in touch with his anima

Jung has rightly pointed out that every woman has a ‘male side’ to her personality, which he called the animus, and every man a ‘female side’, his anima. This is an important fact to remember when we discuss Christ’s personality as a male.

Some men are more conscious of, and sensitive to, their anima. From a study of the Gospel it is clear that Jesus Christ possessed a great sensitivity to women and to the feminine traits in his own personality.

When we try to reconstruct Jesus’ attitude to women, we detect an awareness of their presence among his audience. Jesus draws his examples from the life of women, no less than from the life of men. He knows that women keep their treasures in boxes, and that they light a lamp at dusk (Matthew 6,19-21 and 5,15-16). He speaks of children playing in the market place and of girls waiting for the bridegroom at a wedding (Matthew 11,16-19 and 25,1-13). He often tells his parables in pairs, with a story about a woman running parallel to a story about a man:

  • the housewife who mixes leaven in the dough/ the farmer who plants a mustard seed (Luke 13,18-21);
  • the woman who lost a coin/ the shepherd who lost a sheep (Luke 15,3-10);
  • the widow pestering the judge/ the friend waking up his neighbour at night (Luke 11,5-13 and 18,1-8).

We can be sure that Mary, Jesus’ mother, had a great influence on him. Jesus learned many of his ideals from her. She must have encouraged him when he began his public ministry. A trace of this has been recorded in the Gospel of John. During the wedding at Cana it was Mary who urged him to perform his first miracle. ‘My hour has not yet come’, Jesus protested. But when she quietly insisted, he changed his mind and ushered in the messianic era by turning water into wine (John 2,1-12).

At various crucial stages in his own development Jesus gained insights and was prompted to action through encounters with women.

  • When the woman who suffered of a flow of blood touched Jesus from behind, ‘he perceived in himself that power had gone forth from him’. Perhaps, Jesus’ healing ministry took its beginning from such encounters (Mark 5,21-43).
  • The Syro-Phoenician woman pleaded with Jesus to drive the demon from her daughter. Jesus refused because he felt his mission was restricted to his own people. However, the woman argues with him; and Jesus gives in, thus making a first step on the way to his universal mission (Mark 7,24-30).
  • In the house of Mary and Martha Jesus meets, perhaps for the first time, a woman who, like the men who sit at his feet, wants to be a disciple. Jesus is impressed by this and encourages her ‘discipleship’ even if it runs counter to conventional expectations of a woman’s role (Luke 10,38-42; see also 8,1-3).

Jesus also responded to the silent gestures of women: the repentant prostitute who poured ointment on his feet, the widow of Nain who walked behind the bier of her dead son, the woman who was bent double with arthritis, the widow in the Temple who put two small coins in the offering box, and the women of Jerusalem who wept as they saw Jesus carrying his cross (Luke 7,36-50; 7,11-17; 13,10-17; 21,1-4 and 23,27-31).

From all these and other texts we can be sure that the historical Jesus was very much in touch with his own anima. He was aware of the concerns of women. He cared about them. He learned from them. He recognised in their needs, and their suggestions, promptings by the Spirit. The forgiveness and reconciliation he brought from his Father, were as much for women as for men.

It is true, Jesus could not, during the short span of his public ministry, overturn all the social prejudices of the time. He did not take a stand for feminist emancipation, as little as he campaigned to abolish slavery. But, in his attitude he established principles that would revolutionise all human relationships.

See also Elisabeth MOLTMANN-WENDEL, The Women around Jesus, London 1982; A Land Flowing with Milk and Honey, London 1986, pp. 137-148; Mary GREY, Redeeeming the Dream: feminism, redemption and Christian tradition, London 1989, esp. pp. 95-103.

By dying and rising for us, Jesus liberated women as well as men

We could now proceed to a deeper level and ask: What use has Jesus’ concern been to women? Has it actually resulted in facts of liberation? Has the Risen Christ proved as effective for women as the promise held out by Jesus of Nazareth?

The answer is: yes! The position of women in religion changed dramatically with the coming of Christ. Whereas she had only belonged indirectly to the covenant of Moses, woman was now made a child of God on an equal footing with man.

In the Old Testament, it was only the men who were the immediate bearers of the covenant.

  • It was the male children who were circumcised when they were eight days old. The covenant, therefore, was concluded directly with the men. Women belonged to it only through men - first as daughters of their fathers, then as wives of their husbands.
  • It was the men who were expected to offer sacrifices in the Temple. Three times a year, at the three major feasts, all the menfolk were to appear before Yahweh’s face. The women could come along and take part in the sacrificial meal, as did children, slaves and guests. But it was not really their own sacrifice.
  • In the Temple at Jerusalem, Jewish women could enter inside the wall of separation into the court of women. They were not allowed to proceed further. The men, on the other hand, could enter the court of Israel. It was this court that faced the altar of holocausts and it was there that the priests accepted the gifts for the sacrifice.
  • When Mary and Joseph presented Jesus in the Temple, Mary had to stay back in the court of women, while Joseph carried the child Jesus and the turtle doves into the court of Israel. It was there, in the women’s enclosure, that they met Simeon and Anna (Luke 2,22-38).

Also in traditional Judaism the same distinction persisted. It was the men who were required to recite the regular prayers. Men had the principal seats in the synagogues. Men could read from the Torah. Only ten males could form the quorum, minyan, required for public prayers. At the age of 13, boys were initiated into their adult religious duties by the Bar Mitzvah ceremony. No such thing existed for girls.

It is with this background in mind that we can appreciate the revolutionary change brought by Christ. For both men and women are initiated into the new covenant by one and the same rite, namely baptism. We have already seen above that in baptism we die with Jesus and rise with Jesus. Both men and women undergo this transformation and come out as ‘a new creation’.

On account of this, both men and women share equally in the eucharistic meal and have equal religious duties. These are factual changes with enormous consequences.

Paul expressed the principle in these words:

All of you are children of God
through faith in Christ Jesus.
All of you who have been baptized in Christ,
have clothed yourselves in Christ.
Thus there is no longer Jew nor Greek,
free nor slave,
male nor female.
For you are all one in Christ Jesus.

Galatians 3,27-28

Notice the revolutionary changes Christ has brought about in the factuality of human relationships to God. But this religious factuality still needed, and needs, translation into social and ecclesial factuality.

The Catholic Church is still discussing all the consequences. It took the Church more than 19 centuries to publicly accept that slavery is incompatible with God's design and against the mind of Christ (Vatican II, Gaudium et Spes no 29). Now Rome is still resisting the admission of women to the sacramental priesthood. We can be sure that ultimately this question will be resolved on the basis of the fundamental equality established by Christ.

The maleness of the Father-God image and the maleness of the historical Jesus can pose real problems of understanding. These problems can be overcome if we put the gender in its right perspective. The ‘fatherhood’ of God is no more than a metaphor. God is as much a mother as a father. And the Risen Christ is not a male figure hovering about, but the Spirit in us, the giver of life, who has both feminine and masculine traits.

Since we are all one in Christ, every single person can rightly see himself/herself reflected in Christ. Whatever our social status or colour of skin, Christ has become a new creation in us. Everything that is part of us belongs to him. Nothing human in us is rejected by him. In Christ we transcend all the limitations put on us by others.

Representing Christ’s full personality requires representing also his feminine traits

Jesus did not hesitate to use feminine and maternal images to describe his work. The love he shows in eating and drinking with sinners is that of the male shepherd foolishly off in search of the one lost sheep; it is that of the father indecorously running down the road to welcome his penitent son; but it is also that of the woman who turns the house upside-down in search of an insignificant coin (Luke 15). Christ has come to gather Jerusalem’s children to himself as a mother-bird’s wings surround, protect and warm her brood (Matthew 23,37). And his death and resurrection are the birth-pangs of the Messiah (John 16,21; see Revelation 12; Mark 13,8).

The use of feminine images is continued in the description of Jesus’ ministers. Paul called himself a father, but he also did not hesitate to call himself a “nurse taking care of her children” ( 1 Thessalonians 2,7) or to compare himself to a woman suffering birth-pangs until Christ be formed in his people (Galatians 4,19).

“The point of these references is not to pretend that male images do not predominate, but to suggest that there are dimensions of God’s love for man, of Christ’s redemptive role, and of official Christian ministry which only feminine images can communicate. Christ represented these to the world, although he was a male; Paul represented them to the church, although he was a male. If a male could represent such feminine dimensions of the divine love, it is difficult to see why a woman cannot, in turn, represent to the Church dimensions of God’s love in Christ for which masculine images are used. Reasonably intelligent people understand how all these symbols function and do not press them beyond their intent. The argument against a woman’s representing Christ often works with rather rigid norms of symbolization which do not always escape the “prose fallacy . . . ”

“It is the assumptions of Rome’s argument that most need clarification. Is it assumed that, while a man can represent both the masculine and the feminine, a woman can represent only the feminine? Are God’s initiative and free grace more masculine than feminine? Is a wife’s subordination to her husband the only reason why Christ may be considered the Church’s Bridegroom? What assumptions and predispositions—theological, cultural, psychological, and otherwise—lie behind the description of certain attitudes and ministries as “masculine” and others as “feminine”?" May women have a say in the matter, or is this already a violation of ‘the eternal feminine’? ”

Joseph A. Komonchak, ‘Theological Questions on the Ordination of Women’, in Women and the Catholic Priesthood, pp. 241-259; here pp. 251-252.

As a giver of life, Christ is more feminine than masculine

Paul Lakeland draws implications from the spiritual function of Christ, as the one who gives us life.

“Christ’s saving act for humankind is accomplished by the grace of God, and through this grace new life is brought to the followers of Christ, the Church. The Church is then sustained by the grace of God flowing through the head of the Church, which is Christ. Christ is at once the source and the mediator of the life of the Church; in cooperation with the Father the Church is born. There is matter here for a crudely biological parallel which would make the Son the mother and the Father the father of the Church, but such is not our intention. Rather, it is to highlight the fact that Christ comes to bring new life to the Church, but the new life he brings (the life of the Spirit) is not something which comes from him alone. It comes from him and the Father. He is then the agent of handing on life which, in his humanity, he has received from another (God), and in his divinity he has received from all eternity in the Father. He is the cooperator who is involved in the creation of new life for the Church, he is the source and the carrier of the life of grace. He is, in other words, acting under a feminine symbol.”

“If the priest is the representative of Christ, then he is so in the theological significance rather than the bodily presence of Christ. The priest in his function at the Eucharist, at baptism, in penance, is in the place of Christ as the bringer of new life through himself. He stands in the place of Christ in a physical sense, but in a theological sense Christ acts through him in the gift of grace in the sacraments. Similarly, the whole Church can be seen as the mediator of grace to the world, a mediation in which the free gift of God and the concern of the Church to live up to her vocation as ‘leaven’ are intermingled. As she gives herself, so she gives God in Christ. This is a further aspect of being Christ in the world; it may also confuse the reader. But the confusion itself is instructive, since it is precisely what happens when we move into the realm of metaphor and symbol.”

“ The truth which they contain is universal truth, and so many aspects of existence can be considered under the light of the truth which they express. The Church, the priest, Christ, are inextricably masculine and feminine to the depths of their religious significance. If the arguments are only saying that there is a way of looking at the priest’s activity in which it has parallels with some specifically masculine acts, then that is quite true. What has to be recognised is that if a man can be a priest and yet exercise those functions which can be seen in the light of feminine symbolism, then it is no argument against women priests to say that they would have to perform certain symbolically masculine acts. In fact, their suitability for priesthood as mediation and cooperation in the life of grace is far clearer than it is for men. ”

Paul Lakeland, Can Women be Priests?, Mercier Press, Dublin 1975, pp. 67-68. see also his Theology and Critical Theory: The Discourse of the Church, : Abingdon, Nashville 1990.


John Wijngaards




This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.