¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Les femmes peuvent-elles représenter le Christ à l’eucharistie ?

Les femmes peuvent-elles représenter le Christ à l’eucharistie ?

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Rome prétend que les femmes ne peuvent pas être ordonnées prêtres parce que le prêtre agit “en la personne du Christ”. Le Christ, qui était un homme, ne peut valablement être représenté que par un prêtre de sexe masculin. Lisez l’argumentation complète de Inter Insigniores, § 24-28.

Cette argumentation ne tient pas pour les raisons suivantes :

1. Les arguments tels qu’ils sont présentés par Thomas d’Aquin et ses disciples sont très contestables et ne peuvent plus être acceptés aujourd’hui.
Une femme aussi agit in persona Christi parce que la femme et l’homme sont égaux dans le Christ.

2. Être “à l’image de Dieu”, dans l’Écriture comme dans la Tradition, ne fait pas référence à la masculinité du Christ, mais bien à sa personnalité d’enfant de Dieu.
Les femmes également sont à l’image du Christ comme enfants adoptifs de Dieu.

3. Le Christ comporte des traits féminins aussi bien que des traits masculins.
Une femme représente mieux le Christ avec les traits féminins de celui-ci et le symbolisme féminin de sa mission qui est de donner la vie.

4. Lors du baptême et du mariage, la femme représente pleinement le Christ.
Comme ministre de ces sacrements, la femme agit déjà “comme un autre Christ”.

5. L’essence du sacerdoce du Christ demande que soit “signifié” son amour, non pas son sexe masculin.
Une femme, aussi bien qu’un homme, peut représenter l’amour du Christ, qui est l’essence de son sacerdoce.

Note : Les raisons invoquées ici le sont sans aucun ordre de priorité et elles peuvent se recouvrir partiellement l’une l’autre.

Il faut noter que l’argument “iconique”n’est pas “traditionnel”. Il n’apparaît qu’au Moyen Âge.

“Quant à l’argument selon lequel le prêtre doit être un homme pour représenter le Christ, il faut noter que le Nouveau Testament ne semble porter aucun intérêt d’aucune sorte à la masculinité du Christ. J’ai trouvé seulement trois textes dans lesquels le mot aner est utilisé en parlant du Christ (Luc 24, 19 ; Jean 1, 30 ; Actes 2, 22), et aucun ne tire profit de la “masculinité”du Christ. Il est intéressant de remarquer que dans Rom 15, le Christ est présenté comme “un seul homme”dont l’obéissance rachète la désobéissance d’ “un seul homme”, le mot employé dans les deux cas est anthropos, pas aner. La question ici n’est pas de contester la masculinité du Christ ni de suggérer qu’elle n’affectait pas les relations que l’on avait avec lui, mais simplement de montrer que mettre un accent théologique très fort sur la masculinité de l’humanité du Christ est étranger au Nouveau Testament.”

Joseph A. Komonchak, “Theological Questions on the Ordination of Women”(Questions théologiques concernant l’ordination du Christ”), in Women and the Catholic Priesthood, pp. 241-259, ici p. 250.

“L’argument selon lequel une représentation masculine est nécessaire est virtuellement sans précédent dans la Tradition. Celle-ci n’avance aucune des raisons traditionnelles qui ont fait que le sacerdoce ou l’épiscopat aient été interdit aux femmes. Accepter cet argument et les conséquences pratiques qu’il entraîne, par conséquent, n’est pas maintenir la tradition, mais la modifier en en altérant le sens. C’est imprimer un sens tout à fait nouveau au refus de longue date de l’Église d’ordonner des femmes. Ceci pas seulement, ou même principalement, parce l’idée selon laquelle un presbyte ou un évêque doivent en quelque sorte “refléter”le Christ d’une manière spéciale est arrivée plutôt tard sur la scène de l’histoire chrétienne. Ce qui est franchement neuf, c’est l’idée que la masculinité du Christ est une de ses caractéristiques que le sacerdoce ecclésial doit à tout prix refléter. De plus, cette nouveauté ne relève pas de la catégorie des fruits mineurs et secondaires résultant de rêveries pieuses. Elle touche en définitive des questions se rapportant à la Christologie et à l’économie du salut ; et pour cette raison, elle demande d’être examinée très soigneusement et avec sens critique.”

“... Donc [après avoir étudié les sources], en résumé, nous pouvons affirmer avec assurance que la masculinité du Christ n’est d’aucun intérêt christologique dans la tradition patristique. En outre, il est possible de déceler dans le développement des idées patristiques sur le sujet une logique qui suggère pourquoi il n’est jamais arrivé que les Pères de l’Église jouent plus avec le sexe de Jésus plus qu’ils ne l’ont fait avec sa race. Ce que les Pères de l’Église en sont venus à comprendre par “incarnation”est la similarité du Verbe de Dieu dans son humanité avec tous ceux qui sont inclus dans l’étendue de sa rédemption. C’est sa similarité, exprimée par le mot anthropos, qui explique pour eux la logique du Verbe fait chair. ‘Il s’est fait homme pour que nous devenions Dieu’ dit l’un d’eux (Athanase, De Incarnatione, § 54). Et probablement que ce “nous”(et donc cette humanité) comprend les femmes. Faire de la masculinité du Christ un principe christologique revient à limiter ou à nier l’universalité de sa rédemption.”

“... À la lumière de ces considérations, on peut dire que, dans une perspective strictement christologique, et aussi théologique, le fait de la masculinité de Jésus n’est pas, pour la tradition classique, un facteur constitutif de la notion de “Dieu-avec-nous”. Il ne sert à définir ni ce que l’on veut dire par “nous”dans cette expression , ni ce que veut dire “Dieu”. Ainsi nous sommes laissés à peu près où nous en étions à la fin du dernier chapitre. La masculinité n’est pas constitutive de Jésus en tant que Christ. Au contraire, la Christologie le considère comme l’être humain exemplatif, l’être humain constituant une catégorie qui inclut vraisemblablement les êtres humains de sexe féminin. La question alors se pose : pourquoi la masculinité serait-elle une des importantes conditions que doit remplir une personne pour  “représenter”le Christ dans le ministère de la Parole et du Sacrement ?”

R.A. Norris, “The Ordination of Women and the Maleness of the Christ”(”L’ordination des femmes et la masculinité du Christ"), in Feminine in the Church (Le féminin dans l’Église), publié par Monica Furlong, SPCK, Londres 1984, pp. 71-85 ; ici p. 73.

Texte de John Wijngaards.
Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can Women Represent Christ at the Eucharist?

Image of Christ

Women too bear Christ's image Women reflect Christ's feminine traits Women too can act as another Christ Women too represent Christ's love Women are equal 'in Christ'

Can Women Represent Christ at the Eucharist?

Rome says that women cannot be ordained priests because the priest acts ‘in the person of Christ’. Christ, who was a male, can only be adequately represented by a male priest. Read the full argument in Inter Insigniores, § 24-28.

The argumentation is wrong for the following reasons

  1. The argument as presented by Thomas Aquinas and his followers is seriously flawed and cannot be accepted as valid today.
    A woman too can act in persona Christi because women and men are equal in Christ.
  2. Being the ‘image of Christ’ both in Scripture and Tradition does not refer to resemblance to Christ’s maleness, but to Christ’s personhood as Child of God.
    Women too bear Christ's image as adopted children of God.
  3. Christ has feminine traits as well as masculine traits.
    A woman represents Christ better in his feminine traits and the feminine symbolism of his life giving mission.
  4. In baptism and marriage women fully represent Christ.
    As ministers of these sacraments women already act as ‘other Christs’.
  5. The essence of Christ’s priesthood demands ‘signifying’ his love, not his male gender.
    A woman, as much as any man, can represent Christ’s love, which is the essence of his priesthood.

Note. The reasons are presented here without any implied priority in their sequence and admitting of some overlap.

It should be noted also that Rome's ‘iconic’ argument is not ‘traditional’. We do not find it until the Middle Ages.

“As for the argument of a male priest needing to represent Christ, it may be noted that the NT does not seem to have any theological interest whatever in the maleness of Christ. I have found only three texts in which the word aner is used of Christ (Lk 24:19; Jn 1:30; Acts 2:22), and none of them exploits Christ’s “maleness.” It is interesting that in Rom 5, where Christ is presented as the “one man” through whose obedience the disobedience of the “one man,” Adam, was undone, the word for both figures is anthropos, not aner. The point, obviously, is not to question Christ’s maleness nor to suggest that one’s relationship to him is not affected by it, but simply to show that theological emphasis on the maleness of Christ’s humanity is foreign to the NT.”

Joseph A. Komonchak, ‘Theological Questions on the Ordination of Women’, in Women and the Catholic Priesthood, pp. 241-259; here p. 250.

“The argument based on the need of male representation is virtually unprecedented in Tradition. It does not in fact state any of the traditional grounds on which ordination to presbyterate or episcopate has been denied to women. To accept the argument and its practical consequence, therefore, is not to maintain tradition, but to alter it by altering its meaning. It is to accord a quite new sense to the Church’s long-standing refusal to ordain women. This is not only, or even principally, because the idea that a presbyter or bishop somehow ‘images’ Jesus in a special way is one which arrived rather late on the scene in Christian history. What is genuinely novel in it is the idea that Jesus’ maleness is at least one of the crucial things about him which ecclesial priesthoods must image. This novelty, furthermore, does not fall into the category of minor and peripheral products of pious musing. It touches ultimately upon questions having to do with Christology and with the economy of salvation; and for that reason it demands the most careful and sceptical scrutiny.”

“. . . Thus [after studying the sources] we may say quite firmly in summary that the maleness of Jesus is of no christological interest in patristic tradition. Furthermore, it is possible to detect in the development of patristic ideas on the subject a logic which suggests why it never occurred to the Fathers to make any more play with Jesus’sex than they did with his race. What the Fathers learned to understand by ‘incarnation’ was the likeness of the Word of God in his humanity to all those who are included within the scope of his redemption. It is this likeness, expressed in the word anthropos, which for them explains the logic of the Word’s becoming flesh. ‘For he became human that we might become divine,’ said one of them (Athanasius, De Incarnatione § 54). And presumably this ‘we’ (and therefore this humanity) includes women. To make of the maleness of Christ a christological principle is to qualify or deny the universality of his redemption.”

“ . . . . In the light of these considerations, it must be said that as from a strictly christological, so from a theological, perspective the fact of Jesus’ maleness is not, for the classical tradition, a constitutive factor in the meaning of ‘God-with-us’. It is definitive neither of what is meant by ‘us’ in that expression, nor of what is meant by ‘God’. So we are left roughly where we were at the end of the last section. Maleness is not constitutive of Jesus as the Christ. On the contrary, Christology envisages him as the representative human being - a category which presumably includes female human beings. The question then arises: Why would maleness be significant among the conditions which qualify a person to ‘represent’ the Christ in the ministry of Word and Sacrament?”

R.A.Norris, ‘The Ordination of Women and the Maleness of the Christ’, in Feminine in the Church, ed. by Monica Furlong, SPCK, London 1984, pp. 71-85; here p. 73, 78, 80.


John Wijngaards




This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.