Le Code de Droit canonique de 1917

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Un Code de Droit canonique, basé sur l’ancien Codex Juris Canonici, a été promulgué par le Pape Benoît XV en 1917 et il est resté d’application jusqu’en 1983. Le Code a subi un certain nombre d’atténuations sous l’impulsion du Concile Vatican II.

Traduction du latin de John Wijngaards, traduite ensuite en français par Jacques Dessaucy.

Les femmes conservent le domicile de leur mari

Canon 93, § 1. "Une femme qui n’est pas légitimement séparée de son mari, conserve automatiquement le domicile de son mari."

Seuls les hommes peuvent disposer du pouvoir d’ordre et de juridiction ecclésiastique

Canon 118. "Seuls les clercs [de sexe masculin] peuvent disposer du pouvoir d’ordre et de juridiction ecclésiastique ou obtenir des bénéfices et des pensions ecclésiastiques."

Les femmes ne peuvent être membres à part entière d’associations pieuses

Canon 709, § 2. "[Concernant les confraternités ou les associations pieuses établies pour promouvoir des œuvres charitables ou de dévotion], les femmes ne peuvent en être membres, sauf dans le but de gagner des indulgences et d’obtenir les faveurs spirituelles accordées aux membres masculins."

Les femmes sont les dernières de la liste des ministres de baptême

Canon 742 § 1. "En cas d’urgence, n’importe qui peut baptiser."

Canon 742 § 2. "Mais si un prêtre est disponible, il sera préféré à un diacre, un diacre à un sous-diacre, un clerc à un laïc et une homme à une femme, à moins qu’il convienne mieux qu’une femme baptise, pour des raisons de décence, ou si une femme est plus familière de la forme du baptême et la manière de baptiser."

Les femmes ne peuvent pas distribuer la sainte communion

Canon 845, § 1. "Le ministre ordinaire de la sainte communion est uniquement le prêtre."

Canon 845, § 2. "Le ministre extraordinaire de la sainte communion est le diacre, avec la permission de l’évêque du lieu ou du prêtre de la paroisse, et cela ne peut être accordé que pour des raisons sérieuses, qui peuvent être légitimement supposées en cas d’urgence."

Atténuation. Selon une Instruction générale, Fidei Custos, publiée par la Congrégation des Sacrements le 30 avril 1969, qui concerne la distribution extraordinaire de la communion, des femmes laïques comme des religieuses peuvent en principe se voir confier la distribution de la communion sous certaines conditions. Mais selon l’ordre de succession décrit au § 3 de l’Instruction, quand il faut choisir des distributeurs extraordinaires, les femmes laïques sont en queue de liste. Selon le § 5 de l’Instruction, il faut y avoir recours uniquement en cas d’urgence, quand une personne plus qualifiée ne peut être trouvée — ce qui veut dire un homme ou au moins une religieuse ! "... Une femme particulièrement pieuse peut être choisie en cas d’urgence, c’est-à-dire quand aucune autre personne convenable n’est disponible."

Les filles ou les femmes ne peuvent être servants de messe à l'autel

Canon 813. § 2. " Le servant de messe ne peut être une femme, à moins qu'aucun homme ne soit disponible et qu'il y ait une bonne raison de le faire ainsi ; il doit alors être entendu que la femme répond au prêtre à distance et ne peut en aucun cas s'approcher de l'autel. "

Ré-affirmation. " Jusqu'à quel point les femmes peuvent assumer la tâche liturgique, à laquelle le baptême leur donne le droit et le devoir de participer, doit encore être étudié plus en profondeur ; mais, dans l'organisation actuelle de la liturgie, les femmes ne peuvent pas assurer un ministère autour de l'autel, cela est certain. Car leur ministére dépend de l'Église et l'Église catholique n'a jamais chargè des femmes d'un ministére liturgique. Par conséquent, toute innovation arbitraire sera considérée comme une violation grave de la discipline ecclésiastique et devra être réprimée avec fermeté. " (Commission Liturgique, 25 janvier 1966).

" Selon les normes liturgiques déterminées par l'Église, il est interdit aux femmes - qu'elles soient des jeunes filles, des femmes mariées ou des religieuses - de servir le prêtre à l'autel, que ce soit dans une église, une maison, un couvent, un collège ou une institution féminine. " (Troisième Instruction sur la mise en oeuvre de la Constitution sur la Liturgie, Acta Apostolicae Sedis 62 (1970 p. 700).

Seuls les hommes peuvent recevoir les Ordres Sacrés

Canon 968, § 1. "Seuls les hommes qui ont été baptisés peuvent recevoir l’ordination sacrée."

Hommes et femmes doivent être assis séparément dans l’église

Canon 1262 § 1. "Il est souhaitable que, suivant une ancienne coutume de l’Église, les femmes soient séparées des hommes dans l’église."

Les femmes doivent porter un voile sur la tête à l’église

Canon 1262 § 2. "Les hommes doivent assister à la messe, soit dans l’église ou à l’extérieur, la tête nue, à moins que des coutumes locales acceptées ou des circonstances spéciales ne s’y opposent : les femmes, cependant, doivent porter un voile sur la tête et être habillées avec modestie, particulièrement lorsqu’elles s’approchent de la table du Seigneur."

Les linges sacrés doivent d’abord être lavés par des hommes avant d’être manipulés par des femmes

Canon 1306 § 1. "Calices, patènes, purificatoires, pales et corporaux avant d’être lavés ne peuvent être touchés que par des clercs qui en ont la responsabilité."

Canon 1306 § 2. "Le premier lavage des purificatoires, etc. ne peut être assuré que par un clerc des ordres supérieurs."

Atténuation. Le moto proprio du Pape Paul VI Pastorale Munus du 30 novembre 1963, autorise les évêques dans leur diocèse à donner la permission à des clercs ayant reçu les ordres mineurs, à des religieux et à des femmes pieuses d’accomplir le premier lavage des pales, corporaux et purificateurs (Acta Apostolae Sedis 56 (1964) p. 10).

Les femmes ne peuvent enseigner à l’église

Canon 1342 § 2. "Il est interdit à tous les laïcs de prêcher dans une église, même s’ils appartiennent à des congrégations religieuses."

Atténuation. La Constitution sur la Liturgie de Vatican II permet une exception : "On favorisera la célébration sacrée de la Parole de Dieu... surtout dans les localités privées de prêtre : en ce cas un diacre, ou quelqu’un d’autre délégué par l’évêque, dirigera la célébration."

En 1965, la Consilium ad exsequendam Constitutionem de sacra Liturgia a répondu négativement à la question peu provocante de savoir si une femme convenablement préparée pouvait faire office de lecteur dans les messes auxquelles ne participent que des femmes : l’office de lecteur, fut-il répondu, est un acte liturgique dont l’accomplissement ne peut être confié qu’à des hommes. Pour cette raison, dans le cas mentionné, l’épître doit être lu par le célébrant.Notitiae , publié dans le Consilium ad exsequendam Constitutionem de sacra Liturgia, 1, 1965, pp. 139-140, n° 41 et n° 42.

Les femmes ne peuvent pas lire l’Écriture sainte à l’église

Atténuation. "L’Introduction générale au missel romain", Institutio Generalis Missalis Romani, ch. 3, art.66, qui a été publiée en 1969, permet à la Conférence épiscopale d’autoriser des femmes à faire les lectures précédant l’Évangile, en demeurant en dehors du chœur, au cas où aucun homme qualifié pour l’office de lecteur n’est présent (Misale Romanum, Typis Polyglottis Vaticanus, 1970, p. 45). La discrimination à l’égard des femmes contenue dans cette règle ne doit pas être sous-estimée : la femme est admise à la fonction de lecteur uniquement en cas de nécessité, et l’accès du chœur lui est interdit.

"La "Troisième Instruction concernant la mise en œuvre correcte de la Constitution sur la Liturgie" du 5 novembre 1970 déclare en son n° 7a que la Conférence épiscopale peut décider où la femme doit se tenir pour faire la lecture. Acta Apostolae Sedis 62 (1970), p. 700

Les femmes ne peuvent agir que par l’intermédiaire d’un procurateur de sexe masculin

"[Dans un procès en canonisation] tout fidèle peut requérir qu’un cas soit examiné... Les hommes peuvent agir personnellement ou par l’intermédiaire d’un procurateur dûment nommé; les femmes ne peuvent le faire que par l’intermédiaire d’un procurateur." Canon 2004, § 1


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

The Code of Canon Law, 1917

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

The Code of Canon Law, 1917

A new Code of Canon Law, based on the previous Codex Juris Canonici, was promulgated under Pope Benedict XV in 1917 and remained in force until 1983. The Code underwent a number of relaxations under influence of the Second Vatican Council.

Source: Codex Iuris Canonici, ed. Herder, Freiburg 1918. Translation from the Latin by John Wijngaards.

Women take their domicile from their husbands

Canon 93, § 1 “A wife who is not legitimately separated from her husband, automatically retains her husband's domicile.”

Only men can hold ecclesiastical orders and offices

Canon 118. “Only [male] clerics can hold the power of order or ecclesiastical jurisdiction, or obtain benefices and ecclesiastical pensions”.

Women cannot be full members of pious organizations

Canon 709, § 2.. “[With regard to confraternities or pious unions established to promote devotional or charitable works], women cannot be given membership in them, except for the purpose of gaining the indulgences and spiritual graces granted to the male members.”

Women are the last choice of minister for baptism

Canon 742 § 1. “In case of emergency, any one can baptize.”
Canon 742 § 2.“But if there is a priest, he is preferred to a deacon, a deacon to a subdeacon, a cleric to a lay man and a man to a woman, unless it is more convenient that a woman rather than a man baptize, for decency's sake, or if a woman is better acquainted with the form and mode of baptizing.”

Women may not distribute holy communion

Canon 845, par. 1.. “The ordinary minister of holy communion is only the priest.”
Canon 845. par. 2. “The extraordinary minister of holy communion is the deacon, with permission of the local bishop or the parish priest, only to be granted for a serious reason, which may legitimately be presumed in a case of emergency.”

Relaxation. On the basis of a general Instruction , Fidei Custos, released by the Congregation of Sacraments on April 30, 1969, which concerns extraordinary distribution of Communion, lay women as well as nuns may be in principle empowered to distribute Communion, under certain conditions. But according to the order of succession described in § 3 of the Instruction, by which the choice is made for extraordinary distributors, lay women are listed in the last place. According to § 5 of the Instruction, they are to be used only in emergencies, when a more suitable person cannot be found—which can only mean a man or at least a nun! “... A woman of special devoutness may be chosen in emergencies, namely whenever any other suitable person cannot be found. ”

Girls or women may not be Mass servers at the altar

Canon 813, § 2. “The mass server should not be a woman, unless no man can be found and there is a good reason, and then on this understanding that the woman responds from a distance and does in no way approach the altar.”

Re-endorsement. “How far the liturgical task of women, to which baptism gives them a right and duty will go, still needs to be studied further; but, in the actual organization of the liturgy, women do not fulfil a ministry around the altar, that is certain. For their ministry depends on the will of the Church and the Catholic Church has not ever entrusted liturgical ministry to women. Therefore, every arbitrary innovation in this matter shall be considered a grave infringement of ecclesiastical discipline and will need to be suppressed with firmness.” (Liturgical Commission, 25 January 1966).

“According to the liturgical norms handed on in the Church, women, whether young girls, married women or nuns, are forbidden to serve the priest at the altar, whether in church, in a home, a convent, a college or an institute for women” (Third Instruction on the implementation of the Constituion on the Liturgy, Acta Apostolicae Sedis 62 (1970) p. 700).

Only men can be ordained to Holy Orders

Canon 968, § 1. “Only a baptized male can receive sacred ordination.”

Men and women should sit separately in church

Canon 1262, § 1. “It is desirable that, in harmony with ancient Church order, the women in church be separated from the men.”

Women should have their heads veiled in church

Canon 1262, § 2. “Men should attend Mass, either in church or outside church, with bare heads, unless approved local custom or special circumstances suggest otherwise; women, however, should have their heads veiled and should be modestly dressed, especially when they approach the table of the Lord.”

Sacred linen must first be washed by men, before women touch them

Canon 1306, § 1. “Chalices, patens, purificators, palls and corporals before being washed should only be touched by clerics who are responsible for maintaining them. ”
Canon 1306, § 2. “The first washing of purificators etc. should only be undertaken by a cleric of the higher orders.”

Relaxation. The moto proprio “Pastorale Munus” of Pope VI, 30 November 1963, allowed local Bishops to give permission also to clerics of minor orders, lay religious and pious women to perform the first washing of pawls, corporals and purificators (Acta Apostolicae Sedis 56 (1964) p. 10).

Women may not preach in church

Canon 1342, § 2“All lay people are forbidden to preach in church, even if they belong to religious congregations.”

Relaxation. Vatican II, Constitution on the Liturgy, allowed an exception. “The sacred celebration of the Word of God should be promoted .... especially which lack a priest, in which case a deacon or another man delegated by the Bishop can conduct the celebration.” (1964)

In 1965 the Consilium ad exsequendam Constitutionem de sacra Liturgia gave a negative answer to the modest question whether an appropriately prepared woman could take over the lector’s office in a mass for women alone: the office of lector, it was answered, is a liturgical duty, which is conferred upon men only. For this reason the Epistle is to be read by the celebrant in the case mentioned. Notitiae, pub. by the Consilium ad exsequendam Constitutionem de Sacra Liturgia, 1, 1965, pp. 139-140, n. 41 and n. 42.

Women may not read out Sacred Scripture in church

Relaxation. The “General Introduction to the Roman Missal”, Institutio Generalis Missalis Romani, ch. 3, art. 66, which was released in 1969, gives permission to the Bishops’ Conference to allow women to read the lessons preceding that of the Gospel, while remaining outside the sanctuary, in case no man qualified for the duty of lector is present. ( Missale Romanum, Typis Polyglottis Vaticanus, 1970, p. 45. ) The discrimination against woman contained in this regulation cannot be overlooked: she is admitted to the function of lector only in emergency, and the sanctuary is taboo for her.

The “Third Instruction concerning the orderly implementation of the Constitution on the Liturgy, ” of November 5, 1970: declared in no. 7a that the Bishops’ Conference may decide where the woman is to stand for the reading. Acta Apostolicae Sedis 62 (1970), p. 700.

Women need to act through a male procurator

“[In the canonization process] anyone of the faithful can request that a case be instigated . . . . Men can act through themselves or through a properly appointed procurator; women only through a procurator”, Canon 2004, § 1


John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!

 


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

since 1 Jan 2014 . . .

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Please, support our campaign
for women priests

new term
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.