Le Code de Droit canonique de 1983

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Source : The Code of Canon Law. A Text and Commentary [Le Code de Droit canonique. Le texte et son commentaire], par J.A. Coriden, T. J. Green et D. E. Heintschel, Londres 1985 ; il y sera fait référence ici sous l’abréviation CCLTC.

Obligations de tous les fidèles vis-à-vis du magistère

Canon 212 § 1. " Les fidèles conscients de leur propre responsabilité sont tenus d’adhérer par obéissance chrétienne à ce que les Pasteurs sacrés, comme représentants du Christ, déclarent en tant que maîtres de la foi ou décident en tant que chefs de l’Église. "

Canon 212 § 2. " Les fidèles ont la liberté de faire connaître aux Pasteurs de l’Église les besoins surtout spirituels, ainsi que leurs souhaits. "

Canon 212 § 3. " Selon le savoir, la compétence et le prestige dont ils jouissent, ils ont le droit et parfois le devoir de donner aux Pasteurs sacrés leur opinion sur ce qui touche le bien de l’Église et de la faire connaître aux autres fidèles, restant sauvent l’intégrité de la foi et des mœurs et la révérence due aux Pasteurs, et en tenant compte de l’utilité commune et de la dignité des personnes. "

La liberté de recherche des théologiens

Canon 218. " Ceux qui s’adonnent aux disciplines sacrées jouissent d’une juste liberté de recherche comme aussi d’expression prudente de leur opinion dans les matières où ils ont compétents, en gardant le respect dû au magistère de l’Église. "

Seuls des hommes peuvent être institués lecteurs ou acolytes

Canon 230 § 1. " Les hommes laïcs qui ont l’âge et les qualités requises établies par décret de la conférence des Évêques, peuvent être admis d’une manière stable par le rite liturgique prescrit aux ministères de lecteur et d’acolyte ; cependant, cette collation de ministère ne leur confère pas le droit à la subsistance ou à une rémunération de la part de l’Église. "

Note : " L’institution de ces deux ministères sur base permanente est réservée aux hommes ; ils doivent avoir atteint l’âge fixé par la conférence épiscopale. Aux États-Unis, la limite est fixée à 18 ans. Il faut respecter un rituel liturgique déterminé. Toutefois, cette institution n’est pas un degré du sacrement de l’Ordre. Il ne faut pas nécessairement avoir été ordonné évêque pour conférer validement ces ministères ; cela peut-être fait par l’évêque ou le supérieur majeur d’un ordre religieux. Après avoir été institué, un ministre n’a aucun droit à une rétribution de la part de l’Église ; il ne devient pas clerc (c. 266, § 1). " CCLTC, p. 167.

" Un autre problème rencontré depuis 1972 est que cette institution est réservée aux seuls hommes. La raison de cette restriction a été mise en question au cours du processus de révision du Code. Ce sont véritablement des ministères laïcs qui ne sont pas des étapes vers les Ordres sacrés, et la restriction aux seuls hommes apparaît comme une discrimination injustifiable. Cette limitation a cependant été maintenue dans le canon. La difficulté vient en pratique de ce que les fonctions permanentes de lecteurs et d’acolytes ont été déjà confiées à des femmes aussi bien qu’à des hommes. Des femmes sont autorisées à faire les lectures avant l’Évangile, et dans des pays comme les États-Unis, la conférence épiscopale a permis qu’elles lisent de l’endroit du chœur où est proclamé l’Évangile. Dans de nombreux diocèses, des femmes sont autorisées à distribuer la communion en tant que ministres extraordinaires. Quelle serait la réaction des communautés si certains de ceux qui assurent ces ministères étaient institués alors que d’autres, aussi qualifiés et ayant la même expérience, se voyaient refuser l’institution en raison de leur sexe ? Cela semblerait contredire le canon 208 sur l’égalité des fidèles. " CCLTC, p. 168.

En vertu d’"une députation temporaire", des laïcs, y compris des femmes, peuvent être lecteurs, servants de messe, chantres, prédicateurs, animateurs d’assemblées de prière, ministres du baptême et de la communion

Canon 230, § 2. " Là où le besoin de l’Église le demande par défaut de ministres, les laïcs peuvent aussi, même s’ils ne sont ni lecteurs, ni acolytes, suppléer à certaines de leurs fonctions, à savoir exercer le ministère de la parole, présider les prières liturgiques, conférer le baptême et distribuer la sainte communion, selon les dispositions du droit. "

" Reconnaissant ce qui se passe en pratique et en étant fidèle à ce que permet Sacrosanctum Concilium 29, l’Instruction Générale sur le Missel Romain (n° 68-70) a prévu que des laïcs des deux sexes sans limite canonique d’âge (quoiqu’il est clair qu’ils doivent être suffisamment âgés pour assurer convenablement le service) peuvent rendre les mêmes services que les lecteurs et acolytes institués. Ces rôles complémentaires sont désignés dans les documents préparatoires au Code comme ministères liturgiques ; bien que le canon n’ait pas recours à la même terminologie, ces services peuvent néanmoins être à juste titre appelés ‘ministères’. " CCLTC, p. 168.

" Le Code de 1917 réservait le ministère à l’autel aux seuls hommes (CIC 813). Le Code révisé ne conserve pas ce canon ; en vertu du canon 6, § 1, il ne fait plus partie du Droit canonique. Cependant, le canon 2 spécifie que les lois liturgiques demeurent en vigueur. Les articles de l’Instruction Générale sur le Missel Romain (n° 70) permettent de confier à des femmes des ministères qui s’exercent en dehors du chœur. Elles peuvent aussi être autorisées à exercer certains d’entre eux qui s’accomplissent dans le chœur ; faire les lectures avant l’Évangile est explicitement mentionné (n° 70) et référence est faite à la distribution de l’Eucharistie, qui admet implicitement les femmes dans le chœur (n° 68). Bien qu’une instruction ultérieure indique que les femmes ne peuvent être servants à l’autel, le Code ne reprend plus cette disposition et cette dernière instruction n’est donc plus en force. Les articles de l’Instruction Générale sur le Missel Romain doivent être interprétés en harmonie avec les situations des Églises particulières. " CCLTC, p. 168.

La portée de l’infaillibilité du magistère

Canon 749 § 1. " Le Pontife Suprême, en vertu de sa charge, jouit de l’infaillibilité dans le magistère lorsque, comme Pasteur et Docteur suprême de tous les fidèles auquel il appartient de confirmer ses frères dans la foi, il proclame par un acte définitif une doctrine à tenir sur la foi ou les mœurs. "

Canon 749 § 2. " Le Collège des Évêques jouit lui aussi de l’infaillibilité dans le magistère lorsque les Évêques assemblés en Concile Œcuménique exercent le magistère comme docteurs et juges de la foi et des mœurs, et déclarent pour l’Église tout entière qu’il faut tenir de manière définitive une doctrine qui concerne la foi et les mœurs ; ou bien encore lorsque que les Évêques, dispersés à travers le monde, gardant le lien de communion entre eux et le successeur de Pierre, enseignant authentiquement en union avec ce même Pontife Romain en ce qui concerne la foi et les mœurs, s’accordent sur un point de doctrine à tenir de manière définitive. "

Canon 749 § 3. " Aucune doctrine n’est considérée comme infailliblement définie que si cela est manifestement établi. "

Degrés de réponse au magistère

Canon 750. " On doit croire de foi divine et catholique tout ce qui est contenu dans la parole de Dieu écrite ou transmise par la tradition, c’est-à-dire dans l’unique dépôt de la foi confié à l’Église, et qui est en même temps proposé comme divinement révélé par le magistère solennel de l’Église ou par son magistère ordinaire et universel, à savoir ce qui est manifesté par la commune adhésion des fidèles sous la conduite du magistère sacré ; tous sont donc tenus d’éviter toute doctrine contraire. "

Canon 752. " Ce n’est pas vraiment un assentiment de foi, mais une soumission religieuse de l’intelligence et de la volonté qu’il faut accorder à une doctrine que le Pontife Suprême ou le Collège des Évêques énonce en matière de foi et de mœurs, lorsqu’ils exercent le magistère authentique même s’ils n’ont pas l’intention de la proclamer par un acte définitif ; les fidèles veilleront donc à éviter ce qui ne concorde pas avec cette doctrine. "

L’autorité enseignante des évêques

Canon 753. " Les Évêques qui sont en communion avec le chef du Collège et ses membres, séparément ou réunis en conférence des Évêques ou en conciles particuliers, bien qu’ils ne jouissent pas de l’infaillibilité quand ils enseignent, sont les authentiques docteurs et maîtres de la foi des fidèles confiés à leurs soins ; à ce magistère authentique de leurs Évêques, les fidèles sont tenus d’adhérer avec une soumission religieuse de l’esprit. "

Seuls les hommes peuvent recevoir les ordres sacrés

Canon 1024. " Seul un homme baptisé reçoit validement l’ordination sacrée. "

" Si l’Église veut que son magistère reste crédible, la question peut être posée de savoir si la discrimination basée sur le sexe se justifie dans l’Église à la fois à cause de l’autorité de l’Écriture et en fonction du besoin qu’elle a d’être cohérente en pratique avec ce qu’elle prêche en matière sociale. "

"Une version antérieure de la liste des droits incluait un canon reposant sur Gaudium et Spes déclarant que les obligations et les droits communs à tous les Chrétiens s’appliquaient sans discrimination sur la base, entre autres, de la condition sociale ou du sexe. Cela n’a pas été retenu dans la liste finale. Dans ce Code de 1983 un effort sincère a été fait, cependant, pour supprimer de nombreuses expressions relatives à la discrimination sexuelle que l’on trouvait dans le code précédent. Par exemple, il n’existe plus de discrimination sur la base du sexe en matière de domicile (c. 104), de passage d’un rite à l’autre (c. 112), dans les précautions que les clercs doivent prendre pour garder la continence (c. 277, § 2), de règles concernant le confessionnal (c. 964) ou du choix de l’endroit du mariage (c. 1115) ou de l’enterrement (c. 1177). Les cas des convertis, des polygames et des polyandres sont traités de la même manière (c. 1148, § 1). Les règles concernant les religieux s’appliquent pareillement aux hommes et aux femmes à moins qu’à partir du contexte ou de la nature de la chose, il s’avère qu’il en va autrement (c. 606). La plus notable exception est la règle de la clôture papale qui s’applique uniquement aux monastères de moniales (c. 667 § 3). Les femmes peuvent être juge dans les tribunaux ecclésiastiques (c. 1421, § 2), elles peuvent être autorisées à prêcher dans les églises (c. 766), et être appelées à participer à la charge pastorale d’une paroisse (c. 517, § 2). "

"La principale discrimination dans le Code est celle existant entre clercs et laïcs, plutôt qu’entre sexes. Les deux exceptions sont les restrictions qui permettent d’instituer officiellement des laïcs de sexe masculin comme lecteurs ou acolytes (c. 230, § 1), et l’empêchement pour enlèvement qui peut se poser uniquement lorsqu’un homme enlève une femme et non dans le cas inverse (c. 1089). "

" Cependant l’exclusion des femmes du ministère ordonné subsiste (c. 1024), et par conséquent elles sont exclues de tous les rôles, fonctions et ministères qui sont réservés aux clercs. Tous ceux-ci n’entraînent pas l’exercice du pouvoir qui est celui de l’Ordre. Seuls les ordonnés sont capables d’exercer le pouvoir de gouvernement dans l’Église (c. 219 § 1), et les rôles qui entraînent ce pouvoir sont réservés aux clercs (c. 274, § 1). "

"Dans l’Église, ceci n’exclut pas les femmes des rôles actifs qui demandent de la créativité. Concrétiser pleinement la nouvelle manière de penser caractéristique du Code révisé demandera du temps et de l’application, en donnant à tous dans l’Église l’occasion d’explorer largement toutes les implications des canons sur l’égalité des hommes et des femmes, sur leurs obligations et leurs droits. Un approfondissement théologique devra permettre de clarifier la relation existant entre le ministère ordonné et le pouvoir de gouvernement, en particulier à la lumière de la restriction empêchant les femmes d’être ordonnées. Il faut bien admettre cependant que la poursuite de cette discrimination, même basée sur des arguments théologiques, peut en décourager beaucoup dans l’Église." CCLTC, p. 141.

Consultez également :

Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Code of Church Law, 1983

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

The Code of Church Law, 1983

Source: The Code of Canon Law. A Text and Commentary, ed. J.A.Coriden, T.J.Green and D.E.Heintschel, London 1985; quoted here as CCLTC.

Duties of the faithful regarding the magisterium

Canon 212, § 1. “The Christian faithful, conscious of their own responsibility, are bound by Christian obedience to follow what the sacred pastors, as representatives of Christ, declare as teachers of the faith or determine as leaders of the Church.”

Canon 212, § 2. “The Christian faithful are free to make known their needs, especially spiritual ones, and their desires to the pastors of the Church.”

Canon 212, § 3 . “In accord with the knowledge, competence and preeminence which they possess, the Christian faithful have the right and even at times a duty to manifest to the sacred pastors their opinion on matters which pertain to the good of the Church, and they have a right to make their opinion known to the other Christian faithful, with due regard for the integrity of faith and morals and reverence towards their pastors, and with consideration for the common good and the dignity of persons.”

The academic freedom of theologians

Canon 218. “Those who are engaged in the sacred disciplines enjoy a lawful freedom of inquiry and of prudently expressing their opinions on matters in which they have expertise, while observing a due respect for the magisterium of the Church.”

Only men can be installed as lectors or acolytes

Canon 230, §1. “Lay men who possess the age and qualifications determined by decree of the conference of bishops can be installed on a stable basis in the ministries of lector and acolyte in accord with the prescribed liturgical rite; the conferral of these ministries, however, does not confer on these lay men a right to obtain support or remuneration from the Church.”

Note. ‘Installation on a permanent or stable basis in these two ministries is limited to men and to those who have reached the age specified by the conference of bishops. In the United States that age is eighteen. A special liturgical rite is to be followed. Installation, however, is not an order. Episcopal orders are not required to install lay men validly in these ministries; this is to be done by the bishop or the major superior of a religious order. By installation a minister does not acquire any claim to financial support in the Church; he does not become a cleric (c. 266, §1).’ CCLTC, p. 167.

‘Another problem encountered since 1972 is the restriction of installation in these ministries to men. The basis for this restriction has been questioned throughout the process for revising the Code. These are truly lay ministries, are not intended as steps toward sacred orders, and the restriction to males appears an unwarranted discrimination. The limitation, however, has been retained in the canon. The difficulty in practice is that many of the functions installed lectors and acolytes are to perform have already been entrusted to women as well as men. Women are authorized to proclaim the readings before the gospel, and in some countries such as the United States the conference of bishops has permitted them to read from the same location inside the sanctuary where the gospel will be proclaimed. Women are authorized in many dioceses to distribute the Eucharist as extraordinary ministers. What would be the impact on the community if some who provide these ministries were to be installed but others, equally qualified and experienced, were to be denied installation merely on the basis of sex? It would seem to belie the provisions of canon 208 on the equality of the baptized. ’ CCLTC, p. 168.

By ‘temporary deputation’ lay persons, including women, may be readers, Mass servers, cantors, preachers, leaders of prayer services, ministers of baptism and communion

Canon 230, §2. “Lay persons can fulfill the function of lector during liturgical actions by temporary deputation; likewise all lay persons can fulfill the functions of commentator or cantor or other functions, in accord with the norm of law.”

Canon 230, § 3. “When the necessity of the Church warrants it and when ministers are lacking, lay persons, even if they are not lectors or acolytes, can also supply for certain of their offices, namely, to exercise the ministry of the word, to preside over liturgical prayers, to confer baptism, and to distribute Holy Communion in accord with the prescriptions of law.”

‘ Recognizing the practical facts and being faithful to the possibilities in Sacrosanctum Concilium 29, the General Instruction on the Roman Missal (nos. 68-70) has provided for lay persons of either sex and without canonical limitation on age (although clearly they must be old enough to do the service appropriately) to supply some of the same services as installed rectors and acolytes. These additional roles are classified in the pre-Code documents as liturgical ministries; although the canon does not employ the same terminology, these services may still properly be termed “ministries.” CCLTC, p. 168.

‘The 1917 Code restricted ministry at the altar to males (CIC 813). The revised Code does not retain that canon; in virtue of canon 6, §1 it ceases as Code law. However, canon 2 specifies that liturgical law remains in effect. The provisions of the General Instruction on the Roman Missal (no. 70) permit women to be appointed to ministries performed outside the sanctuary. They may also be permitted to perform some that are carried on inside the sanctuary; proclaiming the readings before the gospel is explicitly mentioned (no. 70) and distribution of the Eucharist is referred to, implicitly admitting women to the sanctuary (no. 68). Although a subsequent instruction indicated that women are not allowed to serve as altar servers, the Code no longer states this prohibition and the force of this later instruction ceases. The provisions of the General Instruction on the Roman Missal need to be interpreted in keeping with conditions of particular churches.’ CCLTC, p. 168.

The extent of infallibility in the magisterium

Canon 749, § 1. “The Supreme Pontiff, in virtue of his office, possesses infallible teaching authority when, a supreme pastor and teacher of all the faithful, whose task is to confirm his fellow believers in the faith, he proclaims with a definitive act that a doctrine of faith and morals is to be held as such.”

Canon 749, § 2. “The college of bishops also possesses infallible teaching authority when the bishops exercise their teaching office gathered together in an ecumenical council when, as teachers and judges of faith and morals, they declare that for the universal Church a doctrine of faith and morals must be definitively held; they also exercise it scattered throughout the world but united in a bond of communion among themselves and with the successor of Peter when together with that same Roman Pontiff in their capacity as authentic teachers of faith and morals they agree on an opinion to be held as definitive.”

Canon 749, § 3. “No doctrine is understood to be infallibly defined unless it is clearly established as such.”

Levels of response to the magisterium

Canon 750. “All that is contained in the written word of God or in tradition, that is, in the one deposit of faith entrusted to the Church and also proposed as divinely revealed either by the solemn magisterium of the Church or by its ordinary and universal magisterium, must be believed with divine and catholic faith; it is manifested by the common adherence of the Christian faithful under the leadership of the sacred magisterium; therefore, all are bound to avoid any doctrines whatever which are contrary to these truths.

Canon 752. “A religious respect of intellect and will, even if not the assent of faith, is to be paid to the teaching which the Supreme Pontiff or the college of bishops enunciate on faith or morals when they exercise the authentic magisterium even if they do not intend to proclaim it with a definitive act; therefore the Christian faithful are to take care to avoid whatever is not in harmony with that teaching.”

The teaching authority of bishops

Canon 753. “Although they do not enjoy infallible teaching authority, the bishops in communion with the head and members of the college, whether as individuals or gathered in conferences of bishops or in particular councils, are authentic teachers and instructors of the faith for the faithful entrusted to their care; the faithful must adhere to the authentic teaching of their own bishops with a religious assent of soul.”

Only men can receive Holy Orders

Canon 1024. “Only a baptized male validly receives sacred ordination.”

‘The question can be raised whether discrimination based on sex is justified within the Church both because of the scriptural warrant and because of the need for the Church to be consistent in practising what it preaches if it is to be credible in its social magisterium.’

‘An earlier version of the listing of rights included a canon based on Gaudium et Spes stating that the obligations and rights common to all Christians apply without discrimination on the basis of, among other factors, social condition or sex. This has not been retained in the final listing. There has been, however, a genuine effort in the 1983 Code to eradicate many expressions of sexual discrimination found in the former one. For example, there is no longer discrimination on the basis of sex relative to domicile (c. 104), transfer of rite (c. 112), precautions clerics are to take to protect continence (c. 277, §2), regulations concerning the confessional (c. 964) or the place of marriage (c. 1115) or burial (c. 1177). In cases of converts, polygamists and polyandrists are treated alike (c. 1148, §1). The law concerning religious applies equally to men and women unless the text or nature of the matter evidences otherwise (c. 606). The most notable exception is the regulation on papal cloister, which applies only to monasteries of nuns (c. 667,. §3). Women may serve in tribunals even as judges (c. 1421, §2), may be authorized to preach in churches (c. 766), and may be called to exercise pastoral care of local communities (c. 517, §2). ’

‘ The major discrimination in the Code is between clergy and laity, rather than between men and women. Two exceptions are the restrictions to lay men of formal installation as lectors or acolytes (c. 230, § 1), and the impediment of abduction that can be incurred only when a man abducts a woman and not vice versa (c. 1089).’

‘There remains, however, the exclusion of women from ordained ministry (c. 1024), and therefore from the offices, functions, and ministries that are restricted to clerics. Not all of these entail an exercise of the power of orders. For example, only the ordained are capable of exercising the power of governance in the Church (c. 129, §1), and offices that entail the exercise of that power are restricted to clerics (c. 274, §1).’

‘This does not exclude women from creative, active roles in the Church. To implement the new way of thinking characteristic of the revised Code will take time and effort, providing ample opportunity for all in the Church to explore the full implications of the canons on equality, obligations, and rights. There is need for further theological clarification of the relation between ordained ministry and the power of governance, especially in light of the restriction regarding women being ordained. It must also be admitted, however, that the continued discrimination, even based on theological arguments, may be discouraging to many in the Church.’ CCLTC, p. 141.

Read also:


John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.