¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Les Conciles de l’Eglise sur les Diaconesses

Les Conciles de l’Eglise sur les Diaconesses

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

L’institution des diaconesses a rendu nécessaire le soutien de nombres de conciles œcuméniques.

Durant le premier Concile de Nicée, 325 après JC, les diaconesses sont seulement mentionnées en passant dans un canon se référant à la réconciliation des ex-membres de la secte de Paul de Samothrace (260-272 Après Jésus-Christ). Paul était un théologien syrien qui devînt la patriarche hérétique d’Antioche. Il était un ami et un officiel haut placé de la reine Zénobie de Palmyre. Paul nia les trois personnes de la Trinité. Il enseignait que la Parole était venue vivre en Jésus au baptême, mais que Jésus ne possédait pas une nature extraordinaire qui le plaçait devant les hommes, la parole étant entièrement un attribut de Dieu. Paul fut constamment mis sur la sellette et fut finalement excommunié par le concile local d’Antioche (268 Après Jésus)

«En ce qui concerne les disciples de Paul qui prennent refuge dans l’Eglise Catholique, il a été décidé qu’ils doivent absolument être rebaptisés. Si toutefois, quelques-uns d’entre eux avaient déjà fonctionné comme prêtres, s’ils semblent immaculés et irréprochables, ils devront être baptisés et ordonnés par un évêque de l’Eglise Catholique. On peut agir de la même manière avec les diaconesses ou avec qui que ce soit dans un office ecclésiastique. «En ce qui concerne les diaconesses qui tiennent cette position, nous rappelons (aux dirigeants de l’Eglise) qu’elles ne sont pas ordonnées (= cheirotonia) mais qu’elles doivent être comptées parmi les laïcs à tous points de vue» Concile de Nicée. Canon 19

Note. L’interprétation du Concile qui ne reconnaissait pas la validité des ordinations de femmes au diaconat est contredite par le jugement clair de Conciles postérieurs.

Au Concile œcuménique de Chalcédoine, 451 Après Jésus, l’âge minimal de 60 ans pour les diaconesses fut abaissé à 40 ans. Une plus ancienne pratique fut basée sur 1 Timothée 5,9.’Laissez une veuve s’enrôler si elle n’a pas moins de soixante ans.’ Le célibat volontaire était un pré requis.

‘Une femme ne recevra pas l’imposition des mains en tant que diaconesse si elle a moins de quarante ans et alors seulement après une enquête. Et si, après avoir reçu l’imposition des mains et avoir exercé son ministère, elle méprise la grâce de Dieu et se donne en mariage, elle sera anathématisée ainsi que l’homme qui s’est uni à elle.’ Calcédoine, canon 15

Le Concile de Trullo, convoqué à Constantinople en 692 après Jésus, réaffirma l’âge minimum décidé par le Concile de Calcédoine pour les diaconesses. Notez que le concile parle d’une réelle ordination’ (cheirotonia) pour les diaconesses en utilisant exactement le même terme pour les prêtres et les diacres! Quoique ce terme soit aussi occasionnellement appliqué aux ordres mineurs, il est significatif que l’ordination des diaconesses soit mentionnée en même temps que celle des prêtres et des diacres. Le théologien orthodoxe Evangelos Theodorou a remarqué que l’utilisation du terme technique ‘cheirotonia’ dans ces documents conciliaires est hautement significatif ‘E cheirotonia e cheirothesia ton diakonisson’ Theologia 25 (1954)pp.430-469;26 (1956)pp56-76. The Ordination or Appointment of Deaconesses? (en grec). Les synopsis allemands: US 33(1978)pp.162-172) Cela réuni aux autres indicateurs confirme la nature sacramentelle de l’ordination.

« Que le canon de notre Père céleste soit également confirmé en ceci: qu’un prêtre ne soit pas ordonné avant d’avoir atteint trente ans, même si c’est un homme très valable, il doit être tenu en réserve. Car notre Seigneur Jésus a été baptisé et a commencé à enseigner à trente ans. De la même manière qu’aucun diacre , et qu’aucune diaconesse ne soit ordonnée avant d’avoir atteint ses trente-cinq ans.» Concile de Trullo. Canon 14

Le second concile oecuménique de Nicée en 787 a également reconnu les Canons Apostoliques, avant les Conciles généraux et les Conciles locaux soient étendus et jusqu’à ce qu’ils tombent d’accord avec les Conciles Généraux. Cela veut dire que tout ce qui concernait les diaconesses était réaffirmé.

«Le modèle pour ceux qui ont reçu la dignité sacerdotale se trouve dans les témoignages et les instructions écrites dans les constitutions canoniques, que nous recevons avec plaisir. Nous pressons les divins canons, sur notre poitrine avec joie en nous en tenant fermement, complètement et sans changement à tous leurs préceptes, qu’ils aient été fondés par les saintes trompettes de l’Esprit, Les Saints Apôtres, par les Six Conciles Oecuméniques ou par des Conciles légalement assemblés pour promulguer les décrets des Conciles Oecuméniques ou par nos Saints Pères.» Concile de Nicée II. Canon 1

Il est vrai que deux Synodes locaux en Gaule essayèrent de supprimer le diaconat féminin ‘pour leur région’.

«Aucune diaconesse ne doit être complètement ordonnée. S’il en existe déjà quelques unes qui le sont, qu’elles se soumettent à la bénédiction donnée aux laïcs» Synode d’Orange (441, canon 26)

.«Nous abrogeons complètement pour notre région la consécration des veuves qu’elles appellent ‘diaconesses’. Si elles désirent se convertir, elles ne peuvent rien recevoir d’autre qu’une bénédiction de pénitence» Synode of Epaon 517, canon 21.

Ces conciles d’Église locaux n’avaient pas d’autorité universelle et leur opposition montre que l’institution était florissante ailleurs dans l’Église. Même en Gaule, la suppression ne fut pas un succès immédiat. Saint Rémi de Reims (533 PCN) fait mention de sa fille dans son testament, la diaconesse Hélaria.

Une opposition semblable à celle que nous trouvons en Gaule ne peut masquer le fait que les Conciles Œcuméniques ont ratifié le diaconat ordonné pour les femmes pendant plus de 6 siècles.

traduction de Françoise Bourguignon

Retour à Women Deacons - Overview?

Introduction? Vue d'ensemble? Manuscrits? Recherche?
On peut maintenant obtenir la documentation complète sur tous
les anciens textes des diaconesses
en texte imprimé!

We love our Church. True loyalty demands that we have the courage to speak up!Nous espérons que vous avez trouvé ce document utile. Il vous en coûtera une petite charité de £10/, $20, 15€ pour que vous puissiez l’avoir . Ceci parce que nous devons trouver les meilleurs auteurs, chercher les textes, obtenir la permission de les reproduire, les scanner, les éditer, établir les liens, les convertir en format html et louer un petit bureau qui nous permet d’exécuter toutes ces tâches. Nous pouvons le faire uniquement grâce à la contribution de volontaires. Aidez nous donc à construire notre bibliothèque de ressources en ligne afin que davantage de gens aient accès au débat et puisent se forger une opinion sur les femmes prêtres.

Quand vous avez bénéficié de notre bibliothèque en ligne,
chaque don que vous ferez, qu’il soit grand ou petit,
sera vraiment apprécié.

Cliquez ici pour apprendre comment procéder pour nous faire un don.



This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Letter to Women
Church Councils on Women Deacons

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

Church Councils on Women Deacons

The institution of ordained women deacons has enjoined the support of a number of Ecumenical Councils.

At the First Council of Nicea, 325 AD, deaconesses are only mentioned in passing, in a canon referring to the the reconciliation of ex-members of the sect of Paul of Samosata (260–272 AD). Paul was a Syrian Christian theologian who became the heretical patriarch of Antioch. He was a friend and high official of Queen Zenobia of Palmyra. Paul denied the three Persons of the Trinity. He taught that the Logos came to dwell in Jesus at baptism, but that Jesus possessed no extraordinary nature above other men, the Logos being entirely an attribute of God. Paul was repeatedly challenged and finally excommunicated ny the local Council of Antioch (268 AD).

“With regard to Paulianists who take refuge in the Catholic Church, it has been decided that they definitely need to be [re]baptized. If, however, some of them have previously functioned as priests, if they seem to be immaculate and irreprehensible, they need to be baptized and ordained by a bishop of the Catholic Church. In this way one must also deal with the deaconesses or with anyone in an ecclesiastical office. With regard to the deaconesses who hold this position we remind [church leaders] that they possess no ordination [=cheirotonia], but are to be reckoned among the laity in every respect.Council of Nicea, canon 19.

Note. The interpretation that the Council did not recognise the validity of any woman's ordination to the diaconate is contradicted by the clear judgment of later Councils.

At the Ecumenical Council of Chalcedon, 451 AD, an earlier minimal age of 60 years for women deacons was relaxed to 40 years. The earlier practice was based on 1 Timothy 5,9: ‘Let a widow be enrolled if she is not less than sixty years of age.’ Voluntary celibacy was understood to be a condition.

“A Woman shall not receive the laying on of hands as a deaconess under forty years of age, and then only after searching examination. And if, after she has had hands laid on her and has continued for a time to minister, she shall despise the grace of God and give herself in marriage, she shall be anathematized as well as the man united to her.” (Chalcedon, canon 15.

The Council of Trullo, convoked in Constantinople in 692 AD, re-affirmed the minimum age set by the Council of Chalcedon for women deacons. Notice that the Council speaks of a real ‘ordination’ [cheirotonia] for women deacons, using exactly the same term for priests and male deacons! Though this term is occasionally also applied to minor orders, it is significant that the ordination of women deacons is mentioned in one breath with that of priests and male deacons. The Orthodox Theologian Evangelos Theodorou has pointed out that the use of the technical term ‘cheirotonia’ in these Council documents is highly significant ('E "cheirotonia" e "cheirothesia" ton diakonisson', Theologia 25 (1954) pp. 430-469, 576-601; 26 (1956) pp. 57-76.The “Ordination” or “Appointment” of Deaconesses? [in Greek], German synopsis: US 33 (1978) pp. 162-172). Together with other indicators it confirms the sacramental nature of the ordination.

“Let the canon of our holy God-bearing Fathers be confirmed in this particular also; that a presbyter be not ordained before he is thirty years of age, even if he be a very worthy man, but let him be kept back. For our Lord Jesus Christ was baptized and began to teach when he was thirty. In like manner let no deacon be ordained before he is twenty-five, nor a deaconess before she is forty.” Council of Trullo, canon 14

The Second Ecumenical Council of Nicea in 787 AD also endorsed the Apostolic Canons, previous General Councils and local Councils to the extent they were in agreement with the General ones. This means that all the provisions regarding women deacons were re-affirmed.

“The pattern for those who have received the sacerdotal dignity is found in the testimonies and instructions laid down in the canonical constitutions, which we receive with a glad mind, . . . . and press to our bosom with gladness the divine canons, holding fast all the precepts of the same, complete and without change, whether they have been set forth by the holy trumpets of the Spirit, the renowned Apostles, or by the Six Ecumenical Councils, or by Councils locally assembled for promulgating the decrees of the said Ecumenical Councils, or by our holy Fathers.” Council of Nicea II, canon 1

It is true that two local Synods in Gaul tried to suppress the diaconate of women ‘for their region’.

“Altogether no women deacons are to be ordained. If some already exist, let them bend their heads to the blessing given to the (lay) people.” Synod of Orange (441 AD), canon 26.

. “We abrogate the consecration of widows whom they call ‘deaconesses’ completely from our region. If they wish to convert, no more than the blessing of penance should be imposed on them.” Synod of Epaon (517 AD), canon 21.

These local Church Councils had no universal authority and by their opposition show that the institution clearly flourished elsewhere in the Church. Even in Gaul the suppression was not immediately successful. St. Remigius of Reims (533 AD) makes mention in his last will of his daughter, the deaconess Helaria.

Such local opposition as we find in Gaul cannnot unnerve the fact that Ecumenical Councils endorsed the ordained diaconate of women for over six centuries.

Introduction? Overview? Manuscripts? Search?
Full documentation on all the ancient
Women Deacon Texts
is now available in print!

John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.