¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Le Manuscrit Bessarion

Le Manuscrit Bessarion

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Connu également sous le nom de "Grotta Ferrata, gr. Gbl",
l’Euchologion Patriarchal
ou encore sous le nom du "manuscrit Georges Varus".

L'Ordination des diaconesses dans la Tradition Grecque/Byzantine.

Ce manuscrit contenant un rituel "utilisé par le Patriarche" fut trouvé dans le monastère grec de Crypta Ferrata. Il fut rédigé à Constantinople même aux environs de 1020 après J.C.. Georges Varus, un prêtre originaire de Crète le donna au Cardinal Julian de Sainte Sabine au Concile de Florence (1438 - 1445 après J.C.). Les rites contenus dans le texte sont très anciens, certainement postérieurs au 7ème et au 8ème siècles après J.C. (Comparez le texte avec le manuscrit Barberini gr 336)
Une édition définitive du yexte grec a été faite par Miguel Arranz, l'Eucologio Constantinopolano agli Inizi del Secolo XI, Editrice Pontifica Università Gregoriana, Rome 1996. Le texte publié ici peut être trouvé aux pages 153 à 160.

Le manuscrit avait d'abord été publié et traduit en latin par Jean Morinus, dans Commentarius (sic!) de Sacris Ecclesiae Ordinationibus, publié Kalverstraat, Anvers 1695, pages 63-35.. Jean Morinus dit dans l'introduction :"C'est un codex très ancien, vieux d'environ 700 ans…"

Le Manuscrit Bessarion (GrottaFerrata gr. Gbl)

Texte traduit du grec et rendu disponible sur Internet par John Wijngaards..

Dans le texte original, l'ordination du diacre et de la diaconesse sont décrites séparément. Je les publie ici en regard l'une de l'autre pour montrer que les ordinations sont quasiment les mêmes.

‘Prières dites à l'ordination (cheirotonia) d'un diacre’ ‘Prières dites à l'ordination (cheirotonia) d'une diaconesse’
Après l'offertoire sacré, les portes ( du sanctuaire) sont ouvertes et, avant que le diacre ne prononce les litanies "Tous les Saints", et après que les prières "Ses grâces" ont été dites, l'homme qui est ordonné diacre est conduit devant l'Archevêque. Et lorsque (l'expression) "Grâce Divine" a été dite, le postulant plie seulement le genou droit. L'Archevêque trace le signe de la croix sur son front trois fois de suite et, gardant sa main imposée sur la tête (de l'homme), prie : Après l'offertoire sacré, les portes (du sanctuaire) sont ouvertes et, avant que le Diacre n'entame la litanie "tous les saints", la femme qui est ordonnée diaconesse est amenée (devant l'Archevêque). Et après que (l'expression) ‘Grâce Divine’ (voir texte ) ait été dite à voix haute, la postulante incline la tête. L'Evêque" lui impose la main sur la tête, fait trois fois le signe de la croix et prie:
“Seigneur notre Dieu, par ta providence, tu envoies les oeuvres et l'abondance de ton Esprit Saint sur ceux qui par ton pouvoir insondable sont constitués ministres liturgiques pour servir tes immaculés mystères; qu'il te plaise Seigneur de préserver cet homme que tu veux que j'élève à la tâche du diaconat (leitourgia du diaconnat), dans tout le sérieux d'une stricte bonne conduite afin qu'il puisse garder le mystère de la foi avec une conscience pure.
Et accorde-lui la grâce que tu as donnée à Etienne, ton premier martyr.
Et, après l'avoir appelé à oeuvrer à ton ministère, selon ton bon plaisir, rends-le digne d'assumer le degré (de responsabilité) que tu lui as confié.
Car ceux qui en seront dignes monteront eux-mêmes très haut.
Rends parfait ton serviteur car en toi est le pouvoir et le royaume.”
“Dieu Saint et Tout-Puissant, par l'incarnation de ton Fils Unique, né d'une Vierge, tu as sanctifié le sexe féminin. Tu as accordé non seulement aux hommes, mais aux femmes aussi la grâce venant (de dessus) du Saint-Esprit. S'il te plaît Seigneur daigne veiller sur ta servante et consacre-la à la tâche du diaconat, mets en elle le don abondant et riche de ton Saint Esprit.
Préserve-la afin qu'elle puisse toujours accomplir le ministère (leitourgia) avec une foi orthodoxe, une conduite irréprochable en accord avec ce qui te plaît.
Car toute gloire et tout honneur te sont dus.”
L'Archidiacre fait à ce moment les intercessions comme cela a été dit précédemment. Entretemps, l'Archevêque gardant la main sur la tête du postulant, prie ainsi : Après l'"Amen", un des diacres fait alors les intercessions habituelles. Pendant ce temps, l'Archevêque, gardant la main sur la tête de la femme qui doit être ordonnée, prie ainsi :
“ Seigneur, notre Sauveur, d'une voix incorruptible, tu l'as prédit, tu l'as annoncé qu'il sera le premier qui exercera le ministère du diaconat, tel qu'il est écrit dans ton Saint Evangile :‘Celui qui veut être le premier d'entre vous, doit être votre serviteur (diakonos)’, qu'il te plaise Maître de toutes choses, de remplir de ton Esprit Saint celui que tu as rendu capable d'entrer dans le ministère (leitourgia) du diaconat avec toute la foi, la charité, le pouvoir et la sainteté.
Maintenant Seigneur veille sur cet homme. Car la grâce est accordée à ceux que tu juges capables, non par l'imposition de mes mains, mais par la visite de ta riche miséricorde de telle manière que, purifié du péché, il puisse au jour redouté du jugement t'être présenté sans culpabilité et recevoir la récompense de ta promesse infaillible.
Car tu es notre Dieu, Dieu de miséricorde et sauveur, Celui dont nous proclamons la gloire, Père, Fils et Saint-Esprit.”
“Seigneur, Maître, ne rejette pas les femmes qui se consacrent à toi et qui veulent d'une manière convenable, servir ta Sainte Demeure, mais reçois-les dans l'ordre de tes ministres (leitourgon ).
Accorde aussi le don de ton Esprit-Saint à ta servante qui veut se consacrer à toi et assumer le travail et les offices du diaconat, comme tu as accordé à Phoébé la grâce de ton diaconat, elle que tu avais appelée à la charge de ce ministère (leitourgia ).
Accorde-lui, Seigneur, qu'elle puisse persévérer sans culpabilité dans ton Temple sacré, qu'elle puisse soigneusement observer dans son comportement particulièrement la prudence et la chasteté.
De plus, rends ta servante parfaite de telle sorte que quand elle se trouvera face au siège du jugement de ton Christ, elle puisse obtenir la véritable récompense de sa bonne conduite grâce à la miséricorde et à la générosité de ton Fils Unique.”
Et après l' ‘Amen’, l'écharpe de l'ordonné (phénolis) lui est enlevée et (l'Evêque) lui impose l'étole (to horarion). Il l'embrasse, lui tend l'éventail sacré et lui fait éventer les saints dons exposés sur la table (l'autel). L'Archevêque lui met l'étole du diaconat (to diakonikon horarion ) autour du cou, sous son foulard (de femme) (maphorion),en tirant les deux extrémités de l'étole vers l'avant.
Quand ( au moment de la communion) le nouvel ordonné a communié au Corps Sacré , l'Archevêque lui tend le saint calice. A son tour, il fait participer à la communion au Saint Sang tous ceux qui s'approchent de lui. Quand (au moment de la communion) la femme nouvellement ordonnée a communié au précieux corps et au précieux sang, l'Archevêque lui tend la vaisselle sainte. Elle l'accepte et, sans rien distribuer aux autres, la remet sur la table sainte (de l'autel).
   

Une analyse de ce rite d'ordination démontre que l'ordination d'une diaconesse est le même que celui du diacre et indubitablement sacramentel.

Traduction française par François Bourguignon.

Introduction? Vue d'ensemble? Manuscrits? Recherche?
On peut maintenant obtenir la documentation complète sur tous
les anciens textes des diaconesses
en texte imprimé!

This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Bessarion Manuscript

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

The Bessarion Manuscript

also known as Grotta Ferrata, gr. Gb1,
the Patriarchal Euchologion
or as the George Varus manuscript

The Ordination of Women Deacons in the Byzantine/Greek Tradition

This manuscript, containing a ritual ‘used by the Patriarch’, is found in the Greek monastery of Crypta Ferrata. It was written at Constantinople itself in around 1020 AD. George Varus, a priest from Crete, had given it to Cardinal Julian of St. Sabina during the Council of Florence (1438 - 1445 AD). The rites contained in the text are very old, certainly not later than the 7th and 8th centuries AD. (Compare the text with the Barberini gr. 336 manuscript!)

A definitive edition of the Greek text has been done by Miguel Arranz, L’Eucologio Constantinopolitano agli Inizi del Secolo XI, Editrice Pontifica Università Gregoriana, Rome 1996. The text here published can be found on pages 153-160.

The manuscript had first been published and translated into Latin by John Morinus, in Commentarius [sic!] de Sacris Ecclesiae Ordinationibus, publ. Kalverstraat, Antwerp 1695; here pp. 63 - 65. John Morinus says in his introduction: “This is a very ancient codex, almost 700 years old . . . ”

The Bessarion Manuscript (Grottaferrata gr. Gb1)

Text translated from the Greek, and made available on the Internet, by John Wijngaards.

In the original text, the ordination of the male deacon and the woman deacon are described separately. I publish them here side by side to show that the two ordinations are substantially the same.

‘Prayers at the ordination (cheirotonia) of a deacon’ ‘Prayers at the ordination (cheirotonia) of a deaconess’
After the sacred offertory, the doors [of the sanctuary] are opened and, before the Deacon starts the litany ‘All Saints’, and after the prayer ‘his mercies’ has been said, the man who is to ordained Deacon is brought before the Archbishop. And when the ‘Divine Grace’ [statement] (see text) has been said, the ordinand bends only the right knee. The Archbishop puts the sign of the cross on his forehead three times, keeps his hand imposed on his head and prays: After the sacred offertory, the doors [of the sanctuary] are opened and, before the Deacon starts the litany ‘All Saints’, the woman who is to ordained Deacon is brought up [before the Archbishop]. And after he has said the ‘Divine Grace’ [statement] (see text) with a loud voice, the woman to be ordained bows her head. The Bishop imposes his hand on her head , makes the sign of the cross on it three times, and prays:
“Lord our God, in your providence you send the working and abundance of your Holy Spirit on those who through your inscrutable power are constituted liturgical ministers to serve your immaculate mysteries, please, preserve, Lord, this man whom you want me to promote to the Deacon's task [leitourgia of the diaconate], in all seriousness and strictness of good behaviour, that he may guard the mystery of faith with a pure conscience.
And give him the grace which you have given to Stephen your first martyr.
And after having called him to the work of your ministry, in your good pleasure make him worthy to perform the degree [of responsibility] you entrust to him.
For those who perform it well, will acquire for themselves a high degree.
Make your servant perfect, for yours are the kingdom and the power.”
“Holy and Omnipotent Lord, through the birth of your Only Son our God from a Virgin according to the flesh, you have sanctified the female sex. You grant not only to men, but also to women the grace and coming (from above) of the Holy Spirit. Please, Lord, look on this your maid servant and dedicate her to the task of your diaconate, and pour out into her the rich and abundant giving of your Holy Spirit.
Preserve her so that she may always perform her ministry (leitourgia) with orthodox faith and irreproachable conduct, according to what is pleasing to you.
For to you is due all glory and honour.”
The Archdeacon now makes the intercessions, as stated before. Meanwhile the Archbishop keeping his hand on the head of the ordinand, prays as follows: After the ‘Amen’, one of the Deacons now makes the usual intercessions. Meanwhile the Archbishop keeping his hand on the head of the woman to be ordained, prays as follows:
“God, our Saviour, with incorruptible voice you have foretold it, you announced that he would be first who would perform the ministry of the diaconate, as is written in your holy Gospel: ‘Who ever wants to be first among you, must be your servant [diakonos]’, please, Lord of all, fill this servant of yours whom you have made worthy to enter the ministry [leitourgia] of Deacon, through the lifegiving coming of your Holy Spirit with all faith, charity, power and holiness.
Now, Lord, look upon this man. For grace is given to those you deem worthy, not by the imposition of my hands, but by the visitation of your rich mercy, so that, purified from sin, he may on that fearful day of your judgment be presented to you without guilt, and receive the reward of your unfailing promise.
For you are our God, God of mercy and salvation, and to you we give glory, Father, Son and Holy Spirit. ”
“Lord, Master, you do not reject women who dedicate themselves to you and who are willing, in a becoming way, to serve your Holy House, but admit them to the order of your ministers [leitourgôn].
Grant the gift of your Holy Spirit also to this your maid servant who wants to dedicate herself to you, and fulfil in her the work and the office of the ministry of the diaconate, as you have granted to Phoebe the grace of your diaconate, whom you had called to the work of this ministry [leitourgia].
Give her, Lord, that she may persevere without guilt in your Holy Temple, that she may carefully guard her behaviour, especially her prudence and chastity.
Moreover, make your maid servant perfect , so that, when she will stand before the judgement seat of your Christ, she may obtain the worthy reward of her good conduct, through the mercy and generosity of your Only Son.”
And after the ‘Amen’, the ordinand’s scarf [phenolis] is taken from him and [the Archbishop] imposes the stole [to horarion] on him. He kisses him and hands him the holy fan and makes him fan the holy gifts when they are exposed on the [altar] table. The Archbishop puts the stole of the diaconate [to diakonikon horarion] round her neck, under her [woman's] scarf [maphorion], pulling the two extremities of the stole towards the front.
When [at the time of communion] the newly ordained has taken part of the sacred body, the Archbishop hands him the holy chalice. He in turn makes all those who approach him take part in the sacred blood. When [at the time of communion] the newly ordained has taken part of the precious body and blood, the Archbishop hands her the holy vessel. She accepts it and, without distributing it to others, puts it back on the holy table [of the altar].
   

An analysis of this ordination rite shows that the ordination of the woman deacon is the same as that for the male deacon, and undoubtedly sacramental.

Introduction? Overview? Manuscripts? Search?
Full documentation on all the ancient
Women Deacon Texts
is now available in print!

John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.