¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
La Tradition latente, à travers les siècles, a ouvert la possibilité d’ordonner des femmes au sacerdoce

La Tradition latente, à travers les siècles, montre la possibilité d’ordonner des femmes au sacerdoce

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

L’Église a toujours estimé que sa véritable Tradition n’est pas exprimée complètement à travers ses pratiques et ses déclarations. La Tradition contient aussi “l’Évangile que notre Seigneur n’a pas écrit mais enseigné verbalement et implanté dans le cœur des gens, et dont les évangélistes ont mis plus tard une partie par écrit, tandis qu’une grande partie était simplement confiée aux cœurs des fidèles” (Joseph Ratzinger, ”On the Interpretation of the Tridentine Decree on Tradition" (De l’interprétation du décret tridentin sur la Tradition"), in Revelation and Tradition, par K. Rahner and J. Ratzinger, Burns & Oates, Londres 1966, pp. 50-68). Cette Tradition est connue sous le nom de “l’Évangile du cœur”.

Je soutiens que, à travers les siècles, les catholiques ont su, au cœur de leurs cœurs et dans la moelle de leurs os que les hommes et les femmes étaient égaux devant Dieu et qu’il n’existe aucune objection fondamentale à l’ordination des femmes au sacerdoce. Cette conviction intime était le “sensus fidelium”, le sens chrétien de la foi, l’esprit de l’Église : Ecclesiae Catholicae sensus, ou parfois consensus Ecclesiae, en se rappelant, que dans ces expressions, le mot “Église” signifie toute la communauté des croyants.

Voici ce qu’il est important de retenir de la Tradition latente :

• Une telle vérité intérieure peut ne pas être reconnue durant une longue période. Le cardinal Newman l’appelait la réalité et la permanence de la connaissance intérieure, pour la distinguer de la confession explicite de la foi. “L’absence, ou l’absence partielle, ou la nature incomplète des déclarations dogmatiques ne prouvent nullement, dans l’esprit de l’Église, l’absence d’impressions ou de jugements implicites. Des siècles peuvent s’écouler sans qu’une vérité ne soit formellement exprimée alors qu’elle a existé dans la vie secrète de l’âme de millions de fidèles.”

• La vérité intérieure suit la croissance typique d’une semence. “La Tradition est vivante parce qu’elle est transmise par des esprits vivants, des esprits qui vivent à une époque donnée. Ceux-ci rencontrent des problèmes ou découvrent certaines ressources, en un temps donné, qui les conduisent à enrichir la Tradition, ou la vérité qu’elle contient, des réactions ainsi que des caractéristiques de quelque chose de vivant : adaptation, réaction, croissance et fécondité. La Tradition est vivante parce qu’elle réside dans des esprits qui vivent par elle, en traversant une histoire composée d’actions, de problèmes, de doutes, d’oppositions, de nouveaux apports et de questions qui demandent réponse.” (Johann Möhler).

• La Tradition est une prise de conscience progressive de l’Église. Son rôle dans l’Église est similaire à celui de la prise de conscience dans la vie personnelle : intelligence et souvenir, évaluation d’identité, intuition de ce qui convient, témoignage et expression de la personnalité. Cette prise de conscience dans l’Église, toutefois, est particulière car elle vient du Christ. Elle garde des données qu’elle a reçues en dépôt.

Pour en savoir plus sur la Tradition latente!

Si nous examinons l’histoire de l’Église (notre histoire en tant que communauté croyant au Christ), nous découvrons que, par-dessous l’opposition culturelle à l’ordination des femmes, une conscience constante qui va à contre-courant des idées sociales et culturelles officiellement acceptées. Cette conscience de la capacité de la femme à être ordonnée prêtre s’est manifesté de différentes façons :

1. Au cours des siècles, les fidèles ont eu une dévotion envers Marie prêtre. Ils voyaient intuitivement, grâce à leur “sens de la foi”, que Marie a partagé le sacerdoce de Jésus plus que n’importe qui d’autre. Cette idée suggérait implicitement la forte conviction, habituellement non exprimée, que Marie, bien que femme, aurait pu sans difficulté être ordonnée prêtre, au même titre que n’importe quel homme. À certains moments, cette conviction a été exprimée explicitement. Voici une série de documents sur Marie Prêtre présentée sur ce site.

2. Il y a eu jadis quelques cas isolés de femmes ordonnées prêtres, en particulier dans le sud de l’Italie. “Comme historien de l’Antiquité chrétienne, je dois souligner que la Tradition des cinq ou six premiers siècles n’a pas été unanime à condamner le sacerdoce féminin comme on le prétend habituellement” (George Otranto ; lisez l’article d’Otranto avec une introduction du Dr. Mary Ann Rossi ou (en résumé) la conférence d’Otranto).

3. Tous les sacrements sont administrés au nom du Christ. Déjà les femmes administrent les sacrements de baptême et de mariage.

4. À travers les siècles, des femmes exceptionnelles ont manifesté la conscience de leur égalité avec les hommes dans le Christ, aussi manifestant leur vocation a une participation entière au sacrement de l’Ordre.

Je suis en train de travailler à toutes ces pages.

Vos commentaires, suggestions et conseils seront très bienvenus !

Texte de John Wijngaards.
Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The latent Tradition, throughout the centuries, that implied the possibility of women being ordained to the priesthood

The latent Tradition, throughout the centuries, that implied the possibility of women being ordained to the priesthood

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

The Church has always believed that its true Tradition is not fully expressed in external statements or practices. Tradition also contains “the gospel which our Lord did not write, but taught by word of mouth and implanted in people’s hearts, and part of which the evangelists later wrote down, while much was simply entrusted to the hearts of the faithful” (Joseph Ratzinger, ‘On the Interpretation of the Tridentine Decree on Tradition’, in Revelation and Tradition, by K. Rahner and J. Ratzinger, Burns & Oates, London 1966, pp. 50-68.) This Tradition is known as ‘the Gospel in the Heart’.

It is my contention that, throughout the centuries, Catholics have known, in their heart of hearts and in the marrow of their bones, that women are equal before God and that there cannot be a fundamental objection to the ordination of women to the priesthood. This inner conviction was the ‘sensus fidelium’, the Christian sense of faith, the mind of the Church: Ecclesiae Catholicae sensus, or sometimes consensus Ecclesiae, remembering that in these last expressions ‘Church’ stands for the whole community of believers.

It is important here to note about Latent Tradition:

  • Such an inner truth may not be explicitly recognised for a long time. Cardinal Newman called it the reality and permanence of inward knowledge, as distinct from explicit confession. “The absence, or partial absence, or incompleteness of dogmatic statements is no proof of the absence of impressions or implicit judgments, in the mind of the Church. Even centuries might pass without the formal expression of a truth, which had been all along the secret life of millions of faithful souls.”
  • The inner truth goes through the typical development of a living seed. “Tradition is living because it is carried by living minds—minds living in time. These minds meet with problems or acquire resources, in time, which lead them to endow Tradition, or the truth it contains, with the reactions and characteristics of a living thing: adaptation, reaction, growth and fruitfulness. Tradition is living because it resides in minds that live by it, in a history which comprises activity, problems, doubts, opposition, new contributions, and questions that need answering” (Johann Möhler).
  • Tradition is the Church’s growing awareness. Its role in the Church is similar to that played by awareness in a person’s life: comprehension and memory, gauge of identity, instinct of what is fitting, witness and expression of personality. This awareness, however, is special, because the awareness comes from Christ. It holds data it has received as a deposit.

Read more about this in Latent Tradition!

As we examine the history of the Church -- our history as Christ's believing community --, we discover, underneath the cultural opposition against women priests, a constant awareness that ran counter to the officially sanctioned social and cultural ideas. This awareness of women's capability of Holy Orders has manifested itself in a number of ways:

  1. Throughout the centuries the faithful have had a devotion to Mary as priest. They intuitively saw, with their ‘Catholic sense’, that Mary shared in Jesus' priesthood more than anyone else. Implicitly it contained the strong, but usually unspoken conviction, that Mary, though a woman, could easily have been ordained a priest, as much as any man. At times this conviction is expressed explicitly. See here a full overview of documents on Mary Priest on this web site.
  2. There have been isolated cases of women having been ordained priests, especially in the South of Italy. ‘As an historian of Christian antiquity, I need to emphasize that the tradition of the first five to six centuries has not been so unanimous in condemning the female priesthood as is usually held’ (George Otranto; read Otranto's article with introduction by Dr. Mary Ann Rossi or (in shorter form) Otranto's lecture).
  3. For many centuries St Mary Magdalen was venerated as a woman saint who had preached (something presumed to be the sole privilege of priests) and who had even taught the apostles the correct doctrine when they went astray.
  4. All sacraments are administered in the name of Christ. But women administer both the sacrament of baptism and marriage.
  5. Throughout the centuries outstanding women have testified to their awareness of their equality in Christ, implying also a full share in Christ's sacramental priesthood.

Read:


John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.