¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!header

Responsive image

ENTRéE

SEPT RAISONS

DéFIER LE PAPE?

RéSUMéS

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
“Les lois ecclésiastiques” et la question des femmes prêtres

“Les lois ecclésiastiques” et la question des femmes prêtres

Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Rome prétend que la “tradition” de ne pas ordonner les femmes est confirmée par un passage de ce qu’on appelle les lois ecclésiastiques : la Didascalie et les Constitutions apostoliques.

C’est pourquoi Rome déclare : “Mais, par-delà ces considérations inspirées par l’esprit du temps, on trouve exprimé, surtout dans les documents canoniques de la tradition antiochienne et égyptienne, ce motif essentiel que l’Église, en appelant uniquement des hommes à l’ordination et au ministère proprement sacerdotal, entend demeurer fidèle au type de ministère ordonné voulu par le Seigneur Jésus-Christ et religieusement maintenu par les apôtres.”
Didascalia Apostolorum, c. 15, ed. R. H. Connelly, pp. 133 et 142 ; Constitutiones Apostolicae, bk. 3, ch. 6, n° 1-2 ; ch. 9, n° 23-24 ; éd. F. H. Funk, pp. 191, 201. Les versions copte, éthiopienne et arabe du Synodos ont été traduites et publiées principalement par G. Homer, The Statutes of the Apostles or Canones Ecclesiastici, Oxford University Press, 1915 (= 1904). Inter Insigniores, § 7 ; Commentaire § 32.

Juger les faits dans le cas de la Didascalie

Le texte véritable de la Didascalie est le suivant :

... “Il n’est par conséquent ni juste ni nécessaire que les femmes enseignent, et en particulier pas en ce qui concerne le nom du Christ et la rédemption obtenue par sa Passion. Car vous n’avez pas été chargées, ô femmes, et vous en particulier les veuves, de prêcher, vous devriez plutôt prier et implorer le Seigneur Dieu. Car Lui, le Seigneur Dieu, Jésus-Christ notre Maître, nous a envoyé les Douze pour instruire le Peuple et les Gentils ; et il y avait parmi les disciples des femmes, Marie-Madeleine et Marie, la fille de Jacques et l’autre Marie ; mais Il ne les a pas envoyées instruire le peuple. Car s’il était souhaitable que les femmes enseignent, notre Maître Lui-même leur aurait commander d’enseigner. Mais informez la veuve qu’elle est l’autel de Dieu ; et qu’elle reste assise à la maison, et qu’elle ne vagabonde ni ne courre pas d’une maison à l’autre pour recevoir (quelque chose). Car l’autel de Dieu ne court pas partout mais reste à une place déterminée” Didascalie, ch. 15.

Évaluation :

1. Bien que le texte parle des “femmes” en général qui n’ont pas été choisies par le Christ pour enseigner, il vise à interdire aux veuves d’enseigner.

2. La Didascalie recommande l’ordination de femmes diacres dont nous savons qu’elles ont été ordonnées sacramentellement et validement et donc qu’elles font partie des Ordres sacrés. Les interdictions concernant les veuves ne concernent pas les diaconesses.

3. Ce texte de la Didascalie ne concerne pas directement le sacerdoce. Mais s’il le fait indirectement, par référence aux Douze, la raison qui ne permet aux femmes de devenir prêtres est alors qu’elles ne peuvent enseigner. Donc ce n’est certainement plus aujourd’hui une raison valable : selon le Droit canon actuel, les femmes peuvent aussi être chargées de lire l’Écriture durant la liturgie, de prêcher, d’enseigner ou de présider des offices liturgiques.

4. La vraie raison du manque de confiance dans les femmes pour l’enseignement n’est pas l’allusion à Jésus qui n’a choisi que des hommes, mais les préjugés régnant à l’époque. Rappelons-nous qu’alors la femme ne pouvait assumer aucune charge publique et qu’elle était considérée comme inférieure. Ce préjugé à l’égard des femmes ressort clairement du paragraphe précédent celui que nous discutons ici et qui dit : “Car quand les Gentils que l’on instruits entendent la Parole de Dieu qui n’est pas convenablement exprimée comme elle devrait, jusqu’à l’instruction sur la vie éternelle - et quand en plus elle leur est proposée par une femme - ... ils riront et se moqueront au lieu d’applaudir la parole d’enseignement ; et la femme s’exposera à un jugement sévère pour ce péché.”

Le texte de la Didascalie interdit aux veuves d’enseigner. Il ordonne aux diaconesses d’enseigner. Si l’interdiction faite aux femmes d‘enseigner est liée à une volonté de ne pas ordonner des femmes au sacerdoce, il faut l’attribuer aux préjugés sociaux et culturels de l’époque.

Juger le texte tel qu’il est recopié dans les Constitutions apostoliques

Ce texte est recopié presque mot à mot dans les Constitutions apostoliques :

“ Nous ne permettons pas “à nos femmes d’enseigner dans l’église”, mais seulement de prier et d’écouter ceux qui enseignent : car notre Maître et Seigneur, Jésus Lui-même, quand Il nous a envoyés, nous les Douze, pour faire des disciples de tous et de toutes les nations, n’a nulle part envoyé des femmes prêcher, parce qu’Il ne le souhaitait pas. Car il y avait avec nous la mère de Notre-Seigneur et ses sœurs ; aussi Marie-Madeleine, et Marie, la mère de Jacques, et Marthe et Marie, les sœurs de Lazare ; Salomé et d’autres encore. Car, s’il avait été nécessaire que les femmes enseignent, Il aurait Lui-même d’abord commandé à celles-ci aussi d’instruire le peuple avec nous. Car “si la tête de la femme est l’homme”, il n’est pas raisonnable que le reste du corps gouverne la tête. Que la veuve s’efforce d’être “l’autel de Dieu”, et qu’elle reste assise dans sa maison, et n’entre pas dans les maisons des fidèles, sous aucun prétexte, pour recevoir quelque chose ; car l’autel de Dieu ne court pas partout mais reste à une place déterminée. Par conséquent, que la vierge et la veuve évitent de courir partout, ou de traîner d’une maison à l’autre de ceux qui sont étrangers à la foi...” Constitutions apostoliques, livre 3, § 6.

Évaluation :

1. Comme dans la Didascalie, quoique le texte mentionne “les femmes” en général comme n’ayant pas été choisies par le Christ pour enseigner, son objectif principal est d’empêcher que les veuves enseignent.

2. Les Constitutions apostoliques recommande l’ordination de femmes diacres, ordination que nous savons avoir été sacramentellement valide et faisant partie des Ordres sacrés. Les interdictions concernant les veuves ne visent pas les diaconesses.

3. La référence à 1 Timothée 2, 11-15 comme source de l’interdiction faite aux femmes d’enseigner, est plus explicite que dans la Didascalie. Comme il a été expliqué dans mon commentaire à propos de ce passage, le texte de l’Écriture vise seulement une interdiction temporaire faite aux femmes de prendre la parole dans l’assemblée.

4. Les Constitutions apostoliques ont également ajouté une autre raison : “l’homme est la tête de la femme”, une citation de 1 Corinthiens 11, 2-16. Ici aussi le sens du texte de l’Écriture doit être soigneusement analysé. Entendre ce que Paul a dit comme fixant pour toujours le statut des femmes c’est dépasser le sens inspiré.

5. Encore plus que dans la Didascalie, la raison de ne pas permettre que les femmes deviennent prêtres - s’il se fait que le problème est soulevé - est que les femmes ne peuvent enseigner. Cela n’est certainement pas une raison valable. Selon l’actuel Droit canon, des femmes peuvent être chargées de lire l’Écriture durant la liturgie, d’enseigner ou de présider des offices liturgiques.

6. La raison justifiant du manque de confiance dans les femmes comme “enseignantes” ne réside pas dans les textes scripturaires invoqués, mais provient de préjugés courants à l’époque. Rappelons-nous que les femmes ne pouvaient assumer aucune charge publique et étaient considérées comme inférieures.

Le texte des Constitutions apostoliques interdit aux femmes d’enseigner. Des textes de l’Écriture sont cités pour appuyer cette interdiction, mais leur interprétation dépasse ce que ces textes voulaient indiquer. Il est probablement vrai que l’interdiction faite aux femmes d’enseigner était liée à une volonté de ne pas ordonner des femmes au sacerdoce, mais elle découle avant tout des préjugés sociaux et culturels de l’époque.

Juger le texte d’auteurs plus récents

Comme l’avait fait la Didachè, la Didascalie comme les Constitutions apostoliques prétendent avoir été écrites par les Apôtres eux-mêmes.

• Le titre exact de la Didascalie est : “La Didascalie catholique, qui est l’enseignement des Douze Saints Apôtres et Disciples de notre Sauveur”.

• L’introduction des Constitutions apostoliques commence ainsi : “Les Apôtres et les Anciens à tous ceux qui, parmi les Gentils, ont cru au Seigneur Jésus-Christ ; que la grâce et la paix du Dieu Tout-Puissant, par notre Seigneur Jésus-Christ, abondent sur vous en reconnaissance de Lui”.

Attribuer ces documents aux Apôtres n’est pas une tromperie délibérée. L’idée derrière cette présentation est que le contenu général du document correspond à l’enseignement des Apôtres. Mais pour les générations venant plus tard, la Didascalie comme les Constitutions apostoliques ont été prises pour les véritables paroles des Apôtres et par conséquent admises comme sources fiables pour la doctrine. Elles semblent avoir été proclamées telles par le Concile in Trullo (692) et par le Second Concile de Nicée (787).

Ces textes étaient également utilisés pour interpréter 1 Timothée 2, 11-15 et 1 Corinthiens 11, 2-16, comme admettant l’impossibilité pour les femmes d’être ordonnées.

Le Statuta Ecclesiae Antiqua a incorporé ce texte provenant des Constitutions apostoliques. Par la Collectio Hispana, dont il fait partie, il est devenu une source majeure pour les théologiens médiévaux et pour les canonistes.

• Ce qui explique que Thomas d’Aquin en toute confiance, mais par erreur, a cité ces textes comme des arguments tirés de l’Écriture justifiant l’impossibilité d’ordonner des femmes.

• Ce qui explique aussi pourquoi une combinaison semblable de l’ “Écriture” (1 Timothée 2, 11-15 et 1 Corinthiens 11) et de la “Tradition” devint, dans le Droit canon, la justification pour exclure les femmes de l’ordination. (Cf. Corpus Iuris Canonici (1234-1916).

• Ce qui explique que cette combinaison devint l’argument “classique” expliquant la raison pour laquelle les femmes ne peuvent être ordonnées prêtres.

Le problème avec la “tradition”, c’est que les erreurs en la matière font boule de neige. Ce texte de la Didascalie a beaucoup contribué à nourrir une opposition injustifiée contre les femmes prêtres dans l’Église.

Texte de John Wijngaards.
Traduction française par Jacques Dessaucy.


This website is maintained by the John Wijngaards Catholic Research Centre.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

WOMEN CAN BE PRIESTSheader

Responsive image

HOME

REASONS

DEFY THE POPE?!

DEBATE

MENU

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Church Orders and the question of Women Priests

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

‘Church Orders’ and the question of Women Priests

Rome claims that the ‘tradition’ of not ordaining women is confirmed by a passage in the socalled early Church Orders, the Didascalia and the Apostolic Constitutions.

This is what Rome says: “But over and above considerations inspired by the spirit of the times, one finds expressed-especially in the canonical documents of the Antiochian and Egyptian traditions-this essential reason namely, that by calling only men to the priestly Order and ministry in its true sense, the Church intends to remain faithful to the type of ordained ministry willed by the Lord Jesus Christ and carefully maintained by the Apostles. Didascalia Apostolorum, ch. 15, ed. R. H. Connolly, pp.133 and 142; Constitutiones Apostolicae, bk. 3, ch. 6, nos. 1-2; ch. 9, nos. 23-4: ed. F. H. Funk, pp. 191, 201.The Coptic, Ethiopian and Arabic versions of the Synodos have been translated and published chiefly by G. Homer, The Statutes of the Apostles or Canones Ecclesiastici, Oxford University Press, 1915 (=1904). ” Inter Insigniores, § 7; Commentary, § 32.

Judging the facts of the case in the Didascalia

The actual text in the Didascalia reads as follows:

. . . . “ It is neither right nor necessary therefore that women should be teachers, and especially concerning the name of Christ and the redemption of His passion. For you have not been appointed to this, 0 women, and especially widows, that you should teach, but that you should pray and entreat the Lord God. For He the Lord God, Jesus Christ our Teacher, sent us the Twelve to instruct the People and the Gentiles; and there were with us women disciples, Mary Magdalene and Mary the daughter of James and the other Mary; but He did not send them to instruct the people with us. For if it were required that women should teach, our Master Himself would have commanded these to give instruction with us. But let a widow know that she is the altar of God; and let her sit ever at home, and not stray or run about among the houses of the faithful to receive. For the altar of God never strays or runs about anywhere, but is fixed in one place. Didascalia, ch. 15.

Assessment:

  1. Although the text mentions ‘women’ in general as not having been chosen by Christ to teach, its aim is to restrict teaching by widows.
    • This is clear from the whole context of chapter 15 which deals exclusively with widows;
    • from the text itself: ‘you have not been appointed to this, O women, and especially widows’;
    • and from the whole preceding section which explains how defective instruction by widows leads to derision among pagans.
  2. The Didascalia recommends the ordination of women deacons which we know to have been sacramentally valid and part of Holy Orders. The prohibitions concerning widows do not affect deaconesses.
  3. The text in the Didascalia does not address the priesthood directly. But if it does indirectly, by reference to the Twelve, the reason for not allowing women to become priests is then that women may not teach. Surely this is not a valid reason? According to present Church Law, women too can be deputed to read Scripture during the liturgy, preach, teach or preside over liturgical services.
  4. The real reason for the mistrust in women as ‘teachers’ is not the allusion to Jesus only choosing men, but the general prejudices of the time. Remember that women could not hold public office and were considered inferior. This prejudice against women is clearly expressed in the paragraph before the one in discussion which reads: “For when the Gentiles who are being instructed hear the word of God not fittingly spoken, as it ought to be, unto edification of eternal life—and all the more in that it is spoken to them by a woman-- . . . , they will mock and scoff, instead of applauding the word of doctrine; and she shall incur a heavy judgement for sin.”

The text in the Didascalia forbids widows to teach. It orders deaconesses to teach. If the prohibition for women to teach is linked to an unwillingness to ordain women to the priesthood, its basis is the social and cultural prejudice of the time.

Judging the text as copied in the Apostolic Constitutions

It is almost literally copied in the Apostolic Constitutions:

“We do not permit our "women to teach in the Church," but only to pray and hear those that teach; for our Master and Lord, Jesus Himself, when He sent us the twelve to make disciples of the people and of the nations, did nowhere send out women to preach, although He did not want such. For there were with us the mother of our Lord and His sisters; also Mary Magdalene, and Mary the mother of James, and Martha and Mary the sisters of Lazarus; Salome, and certain others. For, had it been necessary for women to teach, He Himself had first commanded these also to instruct the people with us. For "if the head of the wife be the man," it is not reasonable that the rest of the body should govern the head. Let the widow therefore own herself to be the "altar of God," and let her sit in her house, and not enter into the houses of the faithful, under any pretence, to receive anything; for the altar of God never runs about, but is fixed in one place. Let, therefore, the virgin and the widow be such as do not run about, or gad to the houses of those who are alien from the faith . . . ” Apostolic Constitutions, book 3, § 6.

Assessment:

  1. As in the Didascalia, although the text mentions ‘women’ in general as not having been chosen by Christ to teach, its main aim is to restrict teaching by widows.
    • This is clear from the whole context of Book 3, Section 1 which deals exclusively with widows;
    • and from the whole preceding section which explains how defective instruction by widows leads to derision among pagans.
  2. The Apostolic Constitutions recommends the ordination of women deacons which we know to have been sacramentally valid and part of Holy Orders. The prohibitions concerning widows do not affect deaconesses.
  3. The reference to 1 Timothy 2,11-15 as the source for the prohibition against women teaching, is more explicit than in the Didascalia. As has been explained in my commentary on that passage, the scriptural text can only mean a temporary exclusion of women from speaking in the assembly.
  4. The Apostolic Constitutions have also added another reason: that the man is the head of the wife, a quote from 1 Corinthians 11,2-16. Here, too, the meaning of the scriptural text should be carefully analysed. Extending Paul's sayings to a fixing of the status of women goes beyond the inspired sense.
  5. Even more than in the Didascalaia, the reason for not allowing women to become priests, if this issue is raised at all, is that women may not teach. Surely this is not a valid reason? According to present Church Law, women too can be deputed to read Scripture during the liturgy, preach, teach or preside over liturgical services.
  6. The underlying reason for the distrust in women as ‘teachers’ is not the scriptural texts adduced, but the general prejudices of the time. Remember that women could not hold public office and were considered inferior.

The text in the Apostolic Constitutions forbids women to teach. Scripture texts are quoted to support this prohibition, but their interpretation goes beyond the intended meaning of those texts. It is probably true that the prohibition for women to teach was linked to an unwillingness to ordain women to the priesthood, but its ultimate basis lay in the social and cultural prejudice of the time.

Judging the text in later authors

Following the lead of the Didache, both the Didascalia (3rd cent.) and the Apostolic Constitutions (4th cent.) claimed to have been written by the Apostles themselves.

  • ‘The Catholic Didascalia, that is Teaching of the Twelve Holy Apostles and Disciples of Our Saviour’ (Title of the Didascalia).
  • ‘The Apostles and elders to all those who from among the Gentiles have believed in the Lord Jesus Christ; grace and peace from Almighty God, through our Lord Jesus Christ, be multiplied unto you in the acknowledgment of Him’ (Opening of the Apostolic Constitutions).

The attribution to the Apostles was not deliberate fraud. The idea behind it was no doubt that the general contents of the document was in harmony with the teaching of the Apostles. But in later generations both the Didascalia and the Apostolic Constitutions were believed to be the actual words of the Apostles and were therefore taken as reliable sources of doctrine. They seem to have been affirmed as such by the Council of Trullo (692 AD) and the Second Council of Nicea (787 AD).

These texts were also taken as reliable guides on the way in which 1 Timothy 2,11-15 and 1 Corinthians 11,2-16 should be interpreted, namely as implying the impossibility for women to be ordained.

The Statuta Ecclesiae Antiqua incorporated this text from the Apostolic Constitutions. Through the Collectio Hispana, of which it was part, it became a major source text for medieval theologians and church lawyers.

  • That is why Thomas Aquinas so confidently, but mistakenly, quotes these texts as scriptural proofs against the ordination of women.
  • That is why the same combination of ‘Scripture’ (1 Timothy 2,11-15; 1 Corinthians 11,2-16) and ‘Tradition’ becomes the justification for excluding women from ordination in Church Law, cf. the Corpus Iuris Canonici (1234 - 1916 AD).
  • That is why the same combination became the ‘standard’ proof as to why women cannot be ordained priests.

The problem with ‘tradition’ is that mistakes in it escalate in the course of time. This text from the Didascalia contributed much to the unwarranted opposition to women priests in the Church.


John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


Wijngaards Institute for Catholic ResearchThis website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church. These have included scholars' declarations on the need of collegiality in the exercise of church authority, on the ethics of using contraceptives in marriage and the urgency of re-instating the sacramental diaconate of women.

Visit also our websites:Women Deacons, The Body is Sacred and Mystery and Beyond.

You are welcome to use our material. However: maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but we find it difficult to pay our overheads.


Visitors to our website since January 2014.
Pop-up names are online now.



The number is indicative, but incomplete. For full details click on cross icon at bottom right.


Please, support our campaign
for women priests
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.