FRAUEN AUCH PRIESTER? JAWOHL!header

Responsive image

ANFANG

GRÜNDE

GEGEN DEN PAPST?!

DEBATTE

SICHT

Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Frauen wurden in einem Zustand der Sündenstrafe gesehen

Frauen wurden in einem Zustand der Sündenstrafe gesehen

Richtiges Verständnis der Tradition
* biblische Tradition
* dynamische Tradition
* latente Tradition
* reife Tradition


Die biblischen Schöpfungsgeschichten wurden so gedeutet, daß die Frau zur Strafe in einen Zustand der Unterwerfung unter den Mann versetzt wurde.
Die lateinischen Kirchenväter hielten die Frauen für schuldig, die Erbsünde in die Welt gebracht zu haben und eine ständige Quelle der Verführung zu sein.
Die Theologen des Mittelalters führten diese Ansichten über die Schuldhaftigkeit der Frau weiter.
In nachscholastischer Zeit findet man echten Frauenhaß und auch Verfolgung.

Es wäre völlig unangebracht, solche ‘ sündigen Geschöpfe’ als Vermittler der göttlichen Gnade zu erwählen.

Fehldeutungen biblischer Texte

Die Disposition vieler christlicher Autoren, Frauen der Sünde zu bezichtigen, war die Folge einer einseitigen Deutung der Schrift.

Kein moderner Theologe deutet diese Texte als Lehre von der größeren Schuldhaftigkeit der Frau oder als Begründung daß der niedrige soziale und kulturelle Stellung der Frau von Gott als Strafe gewollt sei.

Die Kirchenväter

Der griechische Heilige Irenäus gibt eine ausgewogenere Deutung des Schöpfungsberichtes. Er sieht die Schuld weniger bei Adam und Eva, sondern beim Teufel. Er sieht die Verantwortlichkeit bei Eva höher als bei Adam. Er zeigt auch echtes Einfühlungsvermögen in Frauen in seinem Kommentar zur Bitte der Mutter der Söhne des Zebedäus.

Auch der Heilige Ignatius, ein anderer griechischer Kirchenvater (gest. 110 n.Chr.) hat keinen Groll gegen Frauen. Wohl kam der Sündenfall durch eine Frau, Eva, aber die Erlösung kam durch eine andere, nämlich Maria. Spätere Kirchenväter wie Chrysostomos vertraten leider eine viel negativere Deutung des Sündenfalls und seiner Konsequenzen für Frauen. Die Anti-Frauen-Rhetorik begann insbesondere mit den lateinischen Kirchenvätern. Tertullian (155-245 n.Chr.) war einer der Schlimmsten. Hier sein Meisterstück:

("Jede Frau sollte ...) einhergehen wie Eva, trauernd und reuig, um im Büßergewand das zu sühnen, was sie von Eva übernommen hat, die Schändlichkeit der Erbsünde und den Makel der menschlichen Verdammnis, der ihr als dessen Ursache anhaftet."
"In Schmerzen und Ängsten sollst du (Kinder) gebären, Frau; nach dem Manne wirst du verlangen, und er wird herrschen über dich."
"Wißt ihr nicht, daß jede von euch eine Eva ist? Das Urteil Gottes über dieses euer Geschlecht lebt in dieser Zeit: auch die Schuld lebt unvermeidlich in euch."
"Und denkt ihr immer nur daran, euch über und über zu schmücken in euren Tuniken?" Tertullian, De Cultu Feminarum, Buch 1, Kap. 1

Auch der Heilige Hieronymus (347 - 419) beschuldigt die Frauen des Abfalls von der Gnade Gottes. Frauen können ihre Schuld nur überwinden, indem sie Kinder gebären, oder durch ein enthaltsames Leben als Jungfrauen.

Die selbe Haltung finden wir bei Ambrosiaster (4. Jhdt. n.Chr.), dessen Schriften fälschlicherweise dem Hl. Ambrosius zugeordnet wurden. Er bringt die Verbindung einer Reihe von Vorurteile gegen Frauen in einer einzigen Passage zustande.

"Frauen müssen ihr Haupt bedecken, denn sie sind nicht Ebenbild Gottes. Sie müssen dies tun als Zeichen ihrer Unterwerfung und weil durch sie die Sünde in die Welt gekommen ist. In der Kirche muß ihr Haupt bedeckt sein zur Ehre des Bischofs. In gleicher Weise haben sie kein Recht zu sprechen, denn der Bischof ist die Verkörperung Christi. Vor dem Bischof haben sie sich daher zu verhalten wie vor Christus, dem Richter, denn der Bischof ist der Beauftragte des Herrn. Aufgrund der Erbsünde haben sie sich unterwürfig zu zeigen."
"Wie kann jemand behaupten, daß die Frau Gott ähnlich sei, wo sie doch sichtbar der Herrschaft des Mannes unterworfen ist und keinerlei Vollmacht hat? Denn sie kann weder lehren noch Zeuge vor Gericht sein, noch bürgerliche Rechte ausüben, noch Richter sein – sie kann also gewiß keine Herrschaft ausüben." Über 1 Korinther 14, 34.

Das lokale Konzil von Gangra in Nordafrika (325-381) verurteilte die Frauen, die der Sekte des Eustathius angehörten, männliche Kleidung trugen und ihr Haar kurz schnitten, um die Unabhängigkeit von ihren Männern zu zeigen.

Die Unterordnung des 'gesamten weiblichen Geschlechts' unter die Männer als immerwährende Strafe für ihre Sünde wird auch vom Heiligen Chrysostomos gelehrt.

Die Verdammung der Frauen im Mittelalter

Das Decretum Gratiani (1140), auf dem das bis 1917 geltende Kirchenrecht beruhte, übernahm die Ansichten des Abrosiaster, der die untergeordnete Stellung der Frau ihrer Rolle in der Sünde zuschrieb (siehe oben) Decretum Gratiani Causa 33, qu. 5, Kap.19.

In einem klassischen Muster verzerrten theologischen Denkens erklärt das Decretum Gratiani sogar, daß im Neuen Testament (welches einen Zustand höherer Gnade darstellt) den Frauen weniger erlaubt sei als im Alten Testament, denn sie haben nun die Verantwortung für ihren Anteil an der Erbsünde zu tragen! Dieses Denken steht in direkter Verbindung mit dem Ausschluß der Frauen vom Priesteramt. Zum Verständnis der folgenden Passage ist zu unterscheiden zwischen Fragen (gestellt von einem Außenstehenden) und Antworten, die Gratian selbst gibt.

[Frage] "Darf eine Frau eine Anklage gegen einen Priester erheben?"
[Antwort] "Das scheint nicht möglich zu sein, denn Papst Fabian sagt, daß gegen die Priester des Herrn weder Klage erhoben noch Zeugnis gegeben werden darf durch jene, die nicht den selben Status haben, ja nicht haben können. Weil Frauen nicht zum Priestertum und auch nicht zum Diakonat zugelassen sind, können sie auch vor Gericht weder Anklage erheben noch Zeugnis geben gegen einen Priester. Dies geht sowohl aus dem Heiligen Kanon (=Kirchenregeln) als auch aus dem Gesetz (= Römisches und bürgerliches Recht) hervor."
[Frage] "Aber dann scheint es, daß jeder, der ein Richteramt bekleiden kann, nicht gehindert werden kann, eine Anklage zu erheben. Im Alten Testament waren Frauen auch Richterinnen, wie aus dem Buch der Richter hervorgeht. So können jene, die das Amt eines Richters vielfach ausgeübt haben und denen kein Wort der Schrift eine Klage verbietet, nicht am Erheben einer Anklage gehindert werden . . ."
[Antwort] "Nein, denn im Alten Testament war vieles erlaubt, was heute [d.h. im Neuen Testament] aufgehoben ist durch eine höhere Gnade. Wenn es also [im Alten Testament] den Frauen erlaubt war, über die Menschen zu richten, so sind die Frauen heute wegen der Sünde, die sie in die Welt gebracht haben, durch den Apostel gemahnt zu Bescheidenheit und Zurückhaltung, zur Unterordnung unter den Mann und sich zu verschleiern als Zeichen der Unterwerfung" Decretum Gratiani Causa 2, Frage 7, princ.

Der 'Fluch der Frau' aufgrund ihrer Sünde wird von vielen Theologen dieser Zeit einfach vorausgesetzt. Hier ein Zitat des Franziskaners Sicardus von Cremona (1181).

"Es waren zwei Gebote im (Alten) Gesetz, das eine betraf die Mutter, die Leben gebiert, das andere ihre Niederkunft selbst. Wenn eine Frau ein männliches Kind geboren hatte, so durfte sie wegen ihrer Unreinheit 40 Tage lang den Tempel nicht betreten, denn der Fötus, den sie in Unreinheit empfangen hatte, bleibt 40 Tage lang gestaltlos. Wenn sie dagegen ein weibliches Kind gebar, so wurde diese Zeitspanne verdoppelt, denn das Menstruationsblut, das die Geburt begleitet, ist in einem so hohen Maße unrein, daß, wie Solinus feststellt, Früchte vertrocknen und Gras verwelkt unter dessen Berührung. Warum wurde bei einem weiblichen Kind die Zeitspanne verdoppelt? Antwort: weil ein zweifacher Fluch auf dem weiblichen Zuwachs liegt. Denn sie trägt den Fluch des Adam und auch die Strafe 'du wirst unter Schmerzen gebären'. Vielleicht auch deshalb, weil ein weiblicher Fötus - so wissen es die Ärzte - nach der Empfängnis doppelt so lange gestaltlos bleibt wie ein männlicher." Mitrale V, Kap. 11

Johannes Teutonicus (1215) betrachtet diese Ansicht als erwiesen.

Guido de Baysio (1296) verbindet den Bann gegen das Frauenpriestertum direkt mit der 'Frau als Ursache der Verdammnis'.

"Frauen sind nicht geeignet, die Priesterweihe zu empfangen, denn diese ist den vollkommenen Gliedern der Kirche vorbehalten, da sie erteilt wird zur Weitergabe der Gnade an andere Männer. Frauen sind keine vollkommenen Glieder der Kirche, nur Männer sind es."
"Darüber hinaus ist die Frau der wirkliche Grund der Verdammnis, denn sie war der Ursprung der Übertretung des Gebotes und Adam wurde von ihr getäuscht. Deshalb kann sie nicht wirklich Vermittlerin der Erlösung sein, denn nur der geistliche Stand vermittelt Gnade und Erlösung." Rosarium C. 27, qu. 1, ch. 23

Die selbe Verbindung zwischen dem Verbot der Frauenordination und der Rolle der Frau in der Erbsünde wird von Johannes Andreae (1338) hergestellt.

"Hinsichtlich der Weihe von Frauen . . . erfordert das Sakrament sowohl Substanz (res) als auch Zeichen (signum) . . . Doch im weiblichen Geschlecht ist ein Vorrang an Würde nicht erkennbar, da die Frau den Status der Unterwerfung hat: 'Ich lasse nicht zu, daß sie vor der Gemeinde sprechen oder sich über die Männer erheben' (1 Tim 2,12).
Denn nachdem sie ihre Gleichheit mißbraucht hat, wurde sie in die Unterwerfung gestellt: 'du wirst unter der Herrschaft deines Mannes stehen' (Gen 3,16).
Daher empfängt sie nicht das Wesen der Vorzüglichkeit des Sakramentes" Novella V, fol. 125v.

Verfolgung von Frauen in späteren Jahrhunderten

Einen guten Einblick in die frauenfeindliche Theologie der postscholastischen Zeit kann man aus ‘The First Blast of the Trumpet’ (= Der erste Trompetenstoß) von John Knox (1514-1572) gewinnen. Er war nach Luther und Calvin der berühmteste protestantische Theologe der Reformation. Die Hauptaussage in dieser Schrift ist, daß die Ausübung von Autorität durch Frauen im Gegensatz zum Naturgesetz und zur Religion steht. Für uns ist diese umfangreiche Abhandlung deswegen von Interesse, weil Knox's Argumentation den Glauben der Zeit, sowohl der Katholiken als auch der Reformatoren beleuchtet. Hier ein Auszug:

" . . . Gott hat mit diesen Worten gesprochen: 'Du sollst deinem Manne unterworfen sein und er wird über dich herrschen' (Gen 3,16). Als ob Gott sagte 'Weil du deine frühere Beschaffenheit mißbraucht hast und weil dein freier Wille dich und die ganze Menschheit in die Knechtschaft Satans gebracht hat, will ich dich zur Sklavin des Mannes machen. Denn wo früher dein Gehorsam deinem freien Willen entspringen hätte sollen, so wirst du nun aus Not und Zwang gehorchen; und weil du deinen Mann irregeführt hast, sollst du nicht länger Herrin über dein Verlangen, über deinen Willen und deine Sehnsucht sein. Denn in dir sind weder Vernunft noch Besonnenheit, deine Gefühle zu mäßigen, daher sollst du dem Begehren deines Mannes unterworfen sein. Er soll dein Herr und Gebieter sein, nicht nur über deinen Leib, sondern auch über dein Verlangen und deinen Willen.' Wahrlich, diese Worte hat Gott zu Eva und ihren Töchter gesprochen, wie die weiteren Schriften klar bezeugen. So kann keine Frau sich jemals anmaßen, über den Mann zu herrschen."

Der Haß gegen Frauen erschöpfte sich nicht allein in Worten. Die Verfolgungen, die danach einsetzten, waren unvorstellbar. Um einen Begriff davon zu erhalten, sei auf ein 'katholisches' Buch, den Hexenhammer verwiesen, verfaßt von den Theologen Jakob Sprenger OP und Heinrich Kramer OP. Das Buch wurde 1484 von Papst Innozenz VIII bestätigt und empfohlen und war jahrhundertelang in Gebrauch. Es hat Tausende unschuldige Frauen auf den Scheiterhaufen gebracht. Es waren diese öffentlich geehrten, unwidersprochenen und vielfach zitierten "Theologen", die das Folgende schrieben:

"Was ist eine Frau anderes als ein Feind der Freundschaft, eine unentrinnbare Strafe, ein notwendiges Übel, eine natürliche Versuchung, eine wünschenswerte Katastrophe, eine häusliche Gefahr, ein ergötzlicher Schaden, ein Übel der Natur, mit hübschen Farben bemalt."
"Es sei angemerkt, daß der Erschaffung der ersten Frau ein Mangel innewohnt, denn sie wurde aus einer gebogenen Rippe geformt, einer Brustrippe, die in einer Weise gebogen ist, als wäre sie gegen den Mann gerichtet. Durch diesen Mangel ist sie ein unvollkommenes Wesen, ist sie stets betrügerisch."
"(Als Eva der Schlange antwortete) zeigten sich ihre Zweifel und ihr schwacher Glaube an das Wort Gottes. Auf all das weist die Etymologie des Wortes hin: Femina (lateinisch "Frau") kommt von Fe (=Glaube) und Minus (=weniger), denn sie ist zu schwach, um am Glauben festzuhalten und ihn zu bewahren."
Der Malleus Maleficarum , S. 43. Dieses Buch ist Seite für Seite voll des verbissenen Hasses gegen Frauen.

Es ist nicht zu leugnen, daß vieles von dem, was in unseren theologischen Handbüchern ebenso wie in einem großen Teil der "traditionellen" Schriftdeutung gegen Frauen geschrieben wurde, ein Erbe dieser Art von Theologie ist.

Schlußfolgerung

Es ist eine Tatsache, daß viele Kirchenväter, kirchliche Rechtsgelehrte, Theologen und Kirchenführer den Standpunkt vertraten, daß Frauen nicht zu Priestern geweiht werden können.
Es ist unbestreitbar, daß diese Meinung unter anderem auf dem Vorurteil beruhte, daß jede Frau irgendwie mitverantwortlich für die Sünde Evas sei.
Es ist offensichtlich, daß diese religiöse Voreingenommenheit die Urteile über die mangelnde Weihefähigkeit von Frauen entkräftet.

John Wijngaards

Klicken Sie hier, wenn Sie meine Kampagne für Priesterinnen unterstützen wollen.

Deutscher Sprachbereich

Dieses Dokument kann frei verwendet werden. Wir ersuchen jedoch um die Quellenangabe www.womenpriests.org.

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen: Michael Mayr, A-4020 Linz.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

Women were considered to be in a state of punishment for sin
Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

Women were considered to be in a state of punishment for sin

Women were considered to be in a state of punishment for sin.
The biblical creation stories were interpreted as having put women in a permanent state of submission to men, by way of punishment.
The Latin Fathers of the Church held women responsible for bringing original sin into the world, and for being a continuing source of seduction.
Women continued to be condemned by the theologians of the Middle Ages.
In Post-scholastic times we find real ‘misogyny’ and even persecution.

It would be wholly inappropriate for such ‘sinful creatures’ to be chosen as channels of God's grace.

Misinterpreted Scripture Texts

The habit, in certain Christian writers, of blaming women for sin derives from a lop-sided interpretation of Scripture texts.

  • Genesis 3,1-16 describes the fall of Adam and Eve. Eve was seduced by the serpent and Eve in turn made Adam eat of the apple. They are both reprimanded by God, who says to Eve: “I will multiply your pains in childbirth. You shall give birth to your children in pain. You will long for your husband, but he will lord it over you.” Women's subjection to men was interpreted as a specific and inescapable curse by God, instead of just an example of how the hardships of life are punishment for sin: just as Adam has to till the soil in the sweat of his brow (Genesis 3,17-19).
  • 1 Timothy 2,14 blames woman (Eve) for being deceived rather than Adam, and thus for being responsible for sin. This text is clearly a rationalization which may not be treated as balanced theological statement.

No modern theologian interprets these texts as teaching that women are more guilty of sin than men, or that women's low social or cultural status is directly willed by God as a punishment.

The Fathers of the Church

The Greek Father St. Irenaeus (140-203 AD) presents a rather even-handed interpretation of the Genesis account. He blames the devil, rather than Adam and Eve. He holds Adam more responsible than Eve. He also shows real empathy with women when he comments on the plea by the mother of the children of Zebedee.

St.Ignatius too, another Greek Father (died 110 AD), has no grudge against women. Yes, the fall came through one woman, Eve, but redemption came through another, namely Mary. Unfortunately, later Greek Fathers, like Chrysostom had a much more negative interpretation of the fall and its consequences for women.

The anti-women rhetoric started especially with the Latin Fathers. Tertullian (155-245 AD) was one of the worst. Listen to this master piece:

(“Every woman should be ....) walking about as Eve mourning and repentant, in order that by every garb of penitence she might the more fully expiate that which she derives from Eve,-the ignominy, I mean, of the first sin, and the odium (attaching to her as the cause) of human perdition.
"In pains and in anxieties dost thou bear (children), woman; and toward thine husband (is) thy inclination, and he lords it over thee."
And do you not know that you are (each) an Eve? The sentence of God on this sex of yours lives in this age: the guilt must of necessity live too.
  • “You are the devil's gateway!
  • you are the unsealer of that (forbidden) tree!
  • you are the first deserter of the divine law!
  • you are she who persuaded him (Adam) whom the devil was not valiant enough to attack!
  • You destroyed so easily God's image, man!
  • On account of what you deserved-that is, death-even the Son of God had to die!”
“And do you think about adorning yourself over and above your tunics of skins?” Tertullian, De Cultu Feminarum, book 1, chap 1.

Also St.Jerome (347 - 419 AD) blames women for the fall from grace. Women can only overcome their guilt by childbearing, or by abstaining from sex and becoming virgins.

The same attitude we find with Ambrosiaster (4th cent. AD) whose writings were wrongly attributed to St. Ambrose. He manages to combine many prejudices against women in one and the same passage.

“ Women must cover their heads because they are not the image of God. They must do this as a sign of their subjection to authority and because sin came into the world through them. Their heads must be covered in church in order to honor the bishop. In like manner they have no authority to speak because the bishop is the embodiment of Christ. They must thus act before the bishop as before Christ, the judge, since the bishop is the representative of the Lord. Because of original sin they must show themselves submissive.
“How can anyone maintain that woman is the likeness of God when she is demonstrably subject to the dominion of man and has no kind of authority? For she can neither teach nor be a witness in a court nor exercise citizenship nor be a judge-then certainly not exercise dominion.” On 1 Corinthians 14, 34.

The local Council of Gangra in North Africa (325-381 AD) condemned women belonging to the sect of Eustathius who put on a male dress and cut off their hair to show independence from their husbands.

The subjection of the ‘whole female race’ to men as a permanent punishment for sin is also taught by St. Chrysostom.

The condemnation of women in the Middle Ages

The Decretum Gratiani (1140 AD) on which Church Law was based until 1917, took over the judgement by Ambrosiaster that ascribed a woman's state of subjection to her role in sin.

“ Ambrosius (=Ambrosiaster) says: ‘Women must cover their heads because they are not the image of God. They must do this as a sign of their subjection to authority and because sin came into the world through them. Their heads must be covered in church in order to honor the bishop. In like manner they have no authority to speak because the bishop is the embodiment of Christ. They must thus act before the bishop as before Christ, the judge, since the bishop is the representative of the Lord. Because of original sin they must show themselves submissive.Decretum GratianiCausa 33, qu. 5, ch. 19.

In a classic of contorted theological reasoning, the Decretum Gratiani even states that in the New Testament (which is a state of more perfect grace) women are allowed less than in the Old Testament, because now they have to carry the responsibility for their share in original sin! This reasoning is directly tied to the ban against women's ordination! To understand the following passage, one must distinguish questions (by a presumed outsider) and answers by Gratian himself.

[Question] “May a woman lay an accusation against a priest?”
[Answer] “It seems not because as Pope Fabian says, neither complaint nor testimony may be raised against the priests of the Lord by those who do not have, and cannot have, the same status with them. Women cannot, however, be promoted to the priesthood or even the diaconate and for this reason they may not raise a complaint or give testimony against priests in court. This is shown both in the sacred canons (=Church regulations) and the laws (=Roman & civil laws).”
[Question] “But then it would seem that whoever can be a judge may not be prevented from being a plaintiff and women became judges in the Old Testament as is clearly shown in the book of Judges. So those cannot be excluded from the role of plaintiff who have often fulfilled the role of judge and who are not forbidden by any word of Scripture to act as plaintiff . . . .”
[Answer] “No, in the Old Testament much was permitted which today [i. e., in the New Testament] is abolished, through the perfection of grace. So if [in the Old Testament] women were permitted to judge the people, today because of sin, which woman brought into the world, women are admonished by the Apostle to be careful to practice a modest restraint, to be subject to men and to veil themselves as a sign of subjugation.” Decretum GratianiCausa 2, question 7, princ.

The ‘curse of woman’, because of her sin, is simply presumed by many theologians of the time. Here is a quote from the Franciscan Sicardus of Cremona (1181 AD).

“There were two commandments in the (Old) Law, one pertaining to the mother giving birth, the other to the delivery itself. With regard to the mother giving birth, when she had given birth to a male child, she was to refrain from entering the Temple for forty days as an unclean person: because the foetus, conceived in uncleanliness, is said to remain formless for forty days. But if she gave birth to a female child, the space of time was doubled, for the menstrual blood, which accompanies birth, is considered to such an extent unclean that, as Solinus states, fruits dry up and grass withers at its touch. But why was the time for a female child doubled? Solution: because a double curse lies on the feminine growth. For she carries the curse of Adam and also the (punishment) ‘you will give birth in pain’. Or, perhaps, because, as the knowledge of physicians reveals, female children remain at conception twice as long unformed as male children.” Mitrale V, chapter 11

The same judgment is taken for granted by Johannes Teutonicus (1215 AD).

Guido de Baysio (1296 AD) links the ban against women priests directly to women being ‘the cause of damnation’.

“Women are unfit to receive ordination, for ordination is reserved for perfect members of the church, since it is given for the distribution of grace to other men. But women are not perfect members of the church, only men are.”
“Moreover, woman was the effective cause of damnation since she was the origin of transgression and Adam was deceived through her, and thus she cannot be the effective cause of salvation, because holy orders causes grace in others and so salvation.Rosarium C. 27, qu. 1, ch. 23

The same connection between the ban against ordination and woman's role in original sin is made by Joannes Andreae (1338 AD).

“Regarding the ordination of women . . . it is clear that the sacrament requires both substance (res) and sign (signum) . . . . But in the female sex a pre-eminence of degree cannot be signified since she occupies a state of subjection: (1 Timothy 2) ‘I do not allow a woman to teach, nor to have dominion over a man’.
For because she had made a bad use of her equality, she was put into subjection: (Gen 3) ‘you shall be under the power of your husband’.
Therefore she does not receive the character of the sacrament which possesses pre-eminence.” Novella V, fol. 125v.

Persecution of women in later centuries

A good idea of the misogynist theology of post-scholastic times may be had from ‘The First Blast of the Trumpet’ by John Knox (1514 - 1572 AD). He was the best known protestant theologian during the time of the Reformation after Luther and Calvin. The main contention of ‘The First Blast of the Trumpet’ is that the exercise of authority by women is contrary to both natural law and religion. The interest of this lengthy treatise for us is that Knox's arguments reflect the beliefs of the day, both among Catholics and Reformers. Here is just one excerpt:

“ . . . God has pronounced sentence in these words: "Thy will shall be subject to thy husband, and he shall bear dominion over thee" (Gen. 3:16). As [though] God should say, "Forasmuch as you have abused your former condition, and because your free will has brought yourself and mankind into the bondage of Satan, I therefore will bring you in bondage to man. For where before your obedience should have been voluntary, now it shall be by constraint and by necessity; and that because you have deceived your man, you shall therefore be no longer mistress over your own appetites, over your own will or desires. For in you there is neither reason nor discretion which are able to moderate your affections, and therefore they shall be subject to the desire of your man. He shall be lord and governor, not only over your body, but even over your appetites and will." This sentence, I say, did God pronounce against Eve and her daughters, as the rest of the scriptures do evidently witness. So that no woman can ever presume to reign above man.”

The hatred against women did not remain with words. The actual persecutions that followed are beyond belief. To demonstrate this, consider a ‘Catholic’ book, the Hammer of Witches, written by two theologians, Jakob Sprenger OP and Heinrich Kramer OP. The book was endorsed and recommended by Pope Innocent VIII in 1484 AD, and was used for centuries. It caused thousands of innocent women to be burnt at the stake. It is these publicly honoured, uncontradicted, widely quoted “theologians” who wrote:

“What else is woman but a foe to friendship, an unescapable punishment, a necessary evil, a natural temptation, a desirable calamity, a domestic danger, a delectable detriment, an evil of nature, painted with fair colours.”
“It should be noted that there was a defect in the formation of the first woman, since she was formed from a bent rib, that is, a rib of the breast, which is bent as it were in a contrary direction to man. And since through this defect she is an imperfect animal, she always deceives”.
“(When Eve answered the serpent) she showed that she doubted and had little faith in the word of God. All this is indicated by the etymology of the word; for Femina (Latin for "woman") comes from Fe (=faith) and Minus (=less) since she is ever weaker to hold and preserve the faith”.

The Malleus Maleficarum , p. 43. It continues for page after page of vitriolic hatred of women.

It cannot be denied that much that has been written in our theological handbooks and a large part of the ordinary “traditional” interpretation of Scripture against women is an inheritance of this kind of theology.

Conclusion

It is a fact that many Fathers, canon lawyers, theologians and Church leaders were of the opinion that women could not be ordained priests.
It is undeniable that this opinion rested, among other things, on the prejudice that somehow held every woman responsible for Eve's sin.
It is clear that this religious bias invalidated their judgment as to the suitability of women for ordination.


John Wijngaards



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!

 


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

since 1 Jan 2014 . . .

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Please, support our campaign
for women priests

new term
Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.