¿FEMMES PRêTRES? OUI!
header

Responsive image
ENTRéE SEPT RAISONS DéFIER LE PAPE? RéSUMéS MENU
Nederlands/Vlaams Deutsch Francais English language Spanish language Portuguese language Catalan Chinese Czech Malayalam Finnish Igbo
Japanese Korean Romanian Malay language Norwegian Swedish Polish Swahili Chichewa Tagalog Urdu
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tertullien
Comment juger la tradition?
* tradition scripturaire
* tradition dynamique
* tradition ‘latente’
* tradition bien documentée

Tertullien

155 – 245

Traduction de Ante Nicène Fathers. Pour une copie électronique intégrale, visitez la Christian Classic Ethereal Library, The New advent Library. Certains passages du texte sont mis en italique par John Wijngaards.

Tertullien était un théologien laïc de Carthage, en Afrique du Nord. Sa sincérité de converti était mélangée à du rigorisme moral et une position sans compromis contre les idées matérialistes. Ceci le conduisit à quitter l’Église pour rejoindre les Montanistes en 210 et à fonder aussi plus tard sa propre secte.

Note : Malgré son départ de l’Église, Tertullien exerça une grande influence sur les Pères Latins qui allaient le suivre. « En tant qu’initiateur du Latin ecclésiastique, il mit en forme le vocabulaire et la pensée du Christianisme Occidental pendant le millénaire qui suivit. »(Robert L. Wilken dans l’Encyclopédie Britannique).

Voici quelques passages sélectionnés qui démontrent la pensée de Tertullien sur les femmes ;

  1. L’homme est seul ‘l’image de Dieu’.
  2. Chaque femme porte la malédiction d’Ève, comme initiatrice du péché.
  3. La femme est source de tentation.
  4. Parmi les hérétiques, les femmes enseignent, discutent, guérissent et peut-être baptisent.
  5. Les femmes ne peuvent enseigner, baptiser ni assumer un ministère de prêtres.
  6. La tête d’une femme doit rester couverte mais pas d’une couronne.
  7. Il vaut mieux qu’un homme se marie parce qu’il est corrompu par la concupiscence.

L’homme est l’image de Dieu et pas la femme.

De Cultu Feminarum, livre 1, chap1. « Vous les femmes avez si facilement détruit l’image de Dieu, l’homme »

Sur le voile des Vierges, chap. 10. « Comment alors Dieu aurait-iI manqué de faire une concession semblable aux hommes plus (qu’aux femmes), soit à cause d’une plus proche intimité, car l’homme est ‘Sa propre image’ ou parce que son travail est plus dur ? Mais si rien (n’a donc été accordé) au mâle, encore moins que rien n’a été accordé à la femelle »

Parmi les hérétiques, les femmes enseignent, discutent, guérissent et, peut-être baptisent.

La Prescription contre les hérétiques, chap. 41 .
§1 « Je ne dois pas oublier, à propos de la conduite des hérétiques, combien elle est frivole, matérialiste, à peine humaine, sans le moindre sérieux, sans autorité, sans discipline, comme cela convient à leur croyance.
§2. Pour commencer, il est douteux que le catéchumène et le croyant aient les mêmes sources, entendent la même chose, prient de même – même les barbares – s’il arrive qu’un l’un d’eux les rejoigne. »Ils jetteront aux chiens ce qui est saint et leurs perles, bien (que certainement) elles ne soient pas vraies, ils les jetteront aux pourceaux.
§3.La simplicité qu’ils ont consiste dans le rejet de la discipline, attention qu’ils appellent fraternité de notre part. Ils acceptent n’importe comment en paix tous les nouveaux arrivant qui viennent se blottir chez eux.
§4 car cela leur importe peu, quoiqu’ils divergent dans les sujets qu’ils traitent, pourvu qu’ils conspirent ensemble pour détruire la citadelle de la seule Vérité. Ils sont tout gonflés de prétention, ils offrent à tous leurs connaissances. Leurs catéchumènes sont parfaits avant d’être complètement enseignés.
§5 Et comme les femmes de ces hérétiques sont donc dissolues ! Elles sont assez prétentieuses pour enseigner, pour discuter, pour faire des exorcismes, pour entreprendre des soins – il peut même arriver qu’elles baptisent.
§6 Leurs ordinations sont faites sans soin, mal administrées, capricieuses, changeantes. Une fois, elles mettent des novices en charge ; une autre fois des hommes prennent des tâches séculières, une autre fois encore des gens qui ont été chez nous des apostats pour les lier d’une vaine gloire, puisqu’ils ne peuvent l’être par la vérité.
§7 Aucune promotion n’est nulle part plus facile que dans les camps des rebelles, où le simple fait d’être là est un service exemplaire.
§8 Il arrive qu’aujourd’hui un homme soit leur évêque, demain, c’est un autre ; aujourd’hui, c’est un diacre, demain, un lecteur ; aujourd’hui, c’est un ancien, demain, un laïc. Parce qu’on impose même aux laïcs les fonctions de la prêtrise.

Les femmes ne peuvent enseigner, baptiser ni exercer des ministère sacerdotaux .

A propos du voile des Vierges, chap. 9.
« Il n’est pas permis à une femme de parler à l’Église, mais il ne lui est pas permis non plus d’enseigner ou de baptiser ni d’offrir ni de réclamer pour elle une participation à une fonction masculine, pour ne pas parler d’une quelconque fonction sacerdotale. »

Note. Tout ce que ces versets établissent est que Tertullien refusait que les femmes soient impliquées dans l’enseignement, le baptême et d’autres fonctions.

Church Hall of Mirrors

Chaque femme porte la malédiction d’Ève.

De Cultu Feminarum, livre 1 chap. 1
(Chaque femme devrait …)marcher comme Ève, endeuillée et repentante de sorte que, à travers chaque apparence de pénitence, elle puisse encore davantage expier ce qui provient d’Ève – l’ignominie, je veux dire celle du premier péché, et l’odieux (attaché à elle comme la cause) de la perte humaine.
« Tu porteras les enfants dans la peine et l’angoisse, tes désirs te porteront vers ton mari et il te dominera ; »
Et vous ignorez que chacune d’entre vous est une Ève ? Le jugement de Dieu sur votre sexe perdure à cette époque ; la culpabilité doit nécessairement vivre aussi. »

« Et vous pensez à vous orner par-dessus votre tunique de peau ? »

La femme est une source de tentation

Sur le voile des Vierges, chap. 7 « Le visage si dangereux de celle qui a lancé des pierres jusqu’au ciel pour trébucher devrait être caché : en présence de Dieu au tribunal de qui l’on est accusé de conduire les anges hors de leur prison (naturelle), on peut rougir devant les autres anges aussi ; et l’on peut faire état de cette ancienne mauvaise liberté qui renverse l’ordre des choses, -(une liberté) maintenant qui ne devrait pas être montrée même àt des yeux humains. Mais, même s’il avait des femelles déjà contaminées que ces anges aient désirées, « à cause des anges » ce serait d’autant plus un devoir pour les vierges d’être voilées d’autant plus qu’elles ont été la cause du péché des anges. ». »

Il vaut mieux qu’un homme se marie parce qu’il est corrompu par la concupiscence.

Une exhortation à la chasteté, chap. 9 « Le Seigneur lui-même a dit, « Quiconque a regardé une femme avec concupiscence l’a déjà violée dans son cœur » Mais est-ce que celui qui l’a vu en pensant au mariage a fait moins ou plus ? Qu’en est-il même s’il l’a épousée ? Ce qu’il n’aurait pas eu à faire, s’il ne l’avait désiré pour le mariage et regardé avec concupiscence à moins qu’il soit possible pour une épouse d’être unie à quelqu’un qui ne l’aurait ni vue ni désirée. J’admets que cela fait une grande différence si un homme marié ou un homme célibataire désire une autre femme. Chaque femme cependant est ‘une autre’, même pour un homme non marié aussi longtemps qu’elle appartient à un autre ; pareillement le moyen par lequel elle devient une femme mariée ne diffère pas de celui par lequel elle devient adultère. C’est la loi qui semble faire la différence entre le mariage et la fornication ; par la variété de ce qui est illicite, pas par la nature de la chose en elle-même. On outre quel est l’élément qui est dans tous les hommes et dans toutes les femmes pour produire le mariage et a fornication ? Le mélange de la chair évidemment, ; la concupiscence que le Seigneur a placée au même niveau que la fornication ; « Donc, dit quelqu’un, allez-vous cette fois détruire d’abord le mariage des célibataires aussi ? Et (s’il en est ainsi) non sans raison. D’autant plus qu’il est fait de ce qui est l’essence de la fornication. La meilleure chose pour un homme est donc de ne pas toucher une femme, et la virginité est la principale sainteté parce qu’elle est dégagée des affinités avec la fornication. »

La tête d’une femme doit être couverte, mais pas d’une couronne.

Concernant une couronne, chap.14. «Le Chrétien doit d’autant moins mettre sa tête au service de l’idolâtrie – non j’ai pu dire ; au service du Christ, car le Christ est le Chef du Chrétien – (car sa tête) est aussi libre que l’est celle du Christ lui-même, sans obligation de porter un couvre-chef, même pas un bandeau. Mais la tête qui doit porter le voile, je veux dire la femme, le porte déjà vraiment et n’a pas besoin d’une couronne. Elle doit porter le fardeau de sa propre humilité. Elle ne devrait pas apparaître dévoilée à cause des anges, ni en portant une couronne par laquelle elle offenserait ceux (les anciens) qui peut-être en portent une.En effet qu’est-ce qu’une couronne posée sur la tête d’une femme sinon la beauté transformée en séduction, mais la marque d’un vraie futilité, un notable éloignement de la modestie, une mise à feu de la tentation ? »

Traduction :Françoise Bourguignon.


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

since 11 Jan 2014 . . .

John Wijngaards Catholic Research

"Lorsque vous citez ce document,
veuillez signaler S.V.P qu'il est publié par www.womenpriests.org !"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tertullian

About valid Tradition

Scriptural Tradition Latent Tradition Dynamic Tradition Informed Tradition Valid Tradition

Tertullian

ca. 155 - 245 AD

Tertullian was a lay theologian in Carthage, North Africa. His sincerity as a convert was mixed with moral rigorism and an uncompromising stand against worldly standards. This led him to leave the Church and join the Montanists in 210 AD, and later to found his own sect.

In spite of his lapse from the Church, Tertullian exercise a great influence on the Latin Fathers who were to follow him. “As the initiator of ecclesiastical Latin, he was instrumental in shaping the vocabulary and thought of Western Christianity for the next 1,000 years.” (Robert L. Wilken in the Encyclopedia Britannica).

Tertullian witnesses to the fact that the order of ministering widows ranked with the clergy.

    1. Widows belonged to an ecclesiastical order
    2. The order of widows sat with the clergy
    3. Widows were ranked with the clergy

 

1. Widows belonged to an ecclesiastical order

The author of 1 Timothy 5,9-10 lays down as conditions for women being admitted to the 'order' of widows that they be sixty years old, had only one husband and have been involved in good works. Tertullian shows that this ecclesiastical order of widows was a living reality in North Africa.

To his Wife 1.7. "In as far as we can, let us love the opportunity of sexual abstinence. When it first presents itself, let us resolve to accept it, so that what we could not take on in marriage, we might embrace in widowhood. The occasion must be embraced which concludes what necessity used to command. The practice of the Church and the prescription of the Apostle [Paul] show how harmful to faith, and what an impediment to sanctity, second marriages are. For he [Paul] does not allow twice-married men to preside [for bishops: 1 Timothy 3,2; for deacons|: 1 Timothy 3.11] and he does not allow a widow into the [ecclesiastical] order [ordinem] unless she had been married to only one man (1 Timothy 5,9)."

2. The order of widows sat with the clergy

On Modesty 13.7. "Why do you . . . lead the penitent adulterer into the middle of the church (assembly) and have him kneel in haircloth and ashes . . . before the widows, before the priests (presbyters), imploring the tears of all, kissing the footprints of all, clutching the knees of all?"

3. Widows were ranked with the clergy

On Monogamy 11.1. "How will you ask for a blessing on your (second) marriage while those from whom you ask it are not allowed to have it -- namely from monogamist bishops, priests (presbyters) and deacons, bound by the same promise, and from widows whose way of life (sectam) you have turned down?"

 

    However, Tertullian's attitude to women was negative and he opposed women's involvement in priestly tasks.

    1. Only man, not woman, is the ‘image of God’.
    2. Every woman carries the curse of Eve, as originator of sin.
    3. Woman is a source of temptation.
    4. Among heretics, women teach, dispute, heal and, perhaps, baptize
    5. Women may not teach, baptize or take on the priestly ministry
    6. A woman's head needs to be covered, but not with a crown
    7. It is better for a man not to marry, because it is tainted with sexual lust

 

Man, not woman, is the ‘image of God’.

De Cultu Feminarum, book 1, chap. 1. “You (woman) destroyed so easily God's image, man.”

On the Veiling of Virgins, chap. 10. “How, then, would God have failed to make any such concession to men more (than to women), whether on the ground of nearer intimacy, as being "His own image," or on the ground of harder toil? But if nothing (has been thus conceded) to the male, much less to the female.”

Among heretics, women teach, dispute, heal and, perhaps, baptize

The Prescription against Heretics, chap. 41 §1. “I must not omit an account of the conduct also of the heretics - how frivolous it is, how worldly, how merely human, without seriousness, without authority, without discipline, as suits their creed.
§2. To begin with, it is doubtful who is a catechumen, and who a believer; they have all access alike, they hear alike, they pray alike - even heathens, if any such happen to come among them. "That which is holy they will cast to the dogs, and their pearls," although (to be sure) they are not real ones, "they will fling to the swine."
§3. Simplicity they will have to consist in the overthrow of discipline, attention to which on our part they call brotherly. Peace also they huddle up anyhow with all comers.
§4. for it matters not to them, however different be their treatment of subjects, provided only they can conspire together to storm the citadel of the one only Truth. All are puffed up, all offer you knowledge. Their catechumens are perfect before they are full-taught.
§5. The very women of these heretics, how wanton they are! For they are bold enough to teach, to dispute, to enact exorcisms, to undertake cures - it may be even to baptize.
§6. Their ordinations, are carelessly administered, capricious, changeable. At one time they put novices in office; at another time, men who are bound to some secular employment; at another, persons who have apostatized from us, to bind them by vainglory, since they cannot by the truth.
§7. Nowhere is promotion easier than in the camp of rebels, where the mere fact of being there is a foremost service.
§8. And so it comes to pass that today one man is their bishop, tomorrow another; today he is a deacon who tomorrow is a reader; today he is a presbyter who tomorrow is a layman. For even on laymen do they impose the functions of priesthood.”

Women may not teach, baptize or take on the priestly ministry

On the Veiling of Virgins, chap. 9. “It is not permitted to a woman to speak in the church; but neither (is it permitted her) to teach, nor to baptize, nor to offer, nor to claim to herself a lot in any manly function, not to say (in any) sacerdotal office.”

Note. All that these verses establish is that Tertullian objected to women being involved in teaching, baptizing and other priestly ministries. They do not prove a valid ecclesiastical tradition.

Church Hall of Mirrors

Every woman carries the curse of Eve

De Cultu Feminarum, book 1, chap 1. (“Every woman should be ....) walking about as Eve mourning and repentant, in order that by every garb of penitence she might the more fully expiate that which she derives from Eve,-the ignominy, I mean, of the first sin, and the odium (attaching to her as the cause) of human perdition.
"In pains and in anxieties dost thou bear (children), woman; and toward thine husband (is) thy inclination, and he lords it over thee."
And do you not know that you are (each) an Eve? The sentence of God on this sex of yours lives in this age: the guilt must of necessity live too.
  • “You are the devil's gateway:
  • you are the unsealer of that (forbidden) tree:
  • you are the first deserter of the divine law:
  • you are she who persuaded him (Adam) whom the devil was not valiant enough to attack.
  • You destroyed so easily God's image, man.
  • On account of your desert-that is, death-even the Son of God had to die.”
“And do you think about adorning yourself over and above your tunics of skins?”

Woman is a source of temptation.

On the Veiling of Virgins, chap 7. “So perilous a face, then, ought to be shaded, which has cast stumbling-stones even so far as heaven: that, when standing in the presence of God, at whose bar it stands accused of the driving of the angels from their (native) confines, it may blush before the other angels as well; and may repress that former evil liberty of its head,-(a liberty) now to be exhibited not even before human eyes. But even if they were females already contaminated whom those angels had desired, so much the more "on account of the angels" would it have been the duty of virgins to be veiled, as it would have been the more possible for virgins to have been the cause of the angels' sinning.”

It is better for a man not to marry, because intercourse is tainted with sexual lust

An Exhortation to Chastity, chap. 9. “The Lord Himself said, ‘Whoever has seen a woman with a view to sexual lust has already violated her in his heart.’ But has he who has seen her with a view to marriage done so less or more? What if he has even married her? - which he would not do had he not desired her with a view to marriage, and seen her with a view to sexual lust; unless it is possible for a wife to be married whom you have not seen or desired. I grant it makes a wide difference whether a married man or an unmarried desire another woman. Every woman, (however), even to an unmarried man, is "another," so long as she belongs to some one else; nor yet is the means through which she becomes a married woman any other than that through which (she becomes) an adulteress. It is laws which seem to make the difference between marriage and fornication; through diversity of illicitness, not through the nature of the thing itself. Besides, what is the thing which takes place in all men and women to produce marriage and fornication? Commixture of the flesh, of course; the sexual lusting of which the Lord put on the same footing with fornication. "Then", says (some one), "are you by this time destroying single-marriage too?" Indeed, yes, but not without reason; inasmuch as marriage too, consists of that which is the essence of fornication. Accordingly, the best thing for a man is not to touch a woman; and accordingly the virgin's is the principal sanctity, because it is free from affinity with fornication.”

A woman's head needs to be covered, but not with a crown

Concerning a Crown, chap. 14. “Much less may the Christian put the service of idolatry on his own head-nay, I might have said, upon Christ, since Christ is the Head of the Christian man-(for his head) is as free as even Christ is, under no obligation to wear a covering, not to say a band. But even the head which is bound to have the veil, I mean woman's, as already taken possession of by this very thing, is not open also to a crown. She has the burden of her own humility to bear. If she ought not to appear with her head uncovered on account of the angels, much more with a crown on it will she offend those (elders) who perhaps are then wearing crowns above. For what is a crown on the head of a woman, but beauty made seductive, but mark of utter wantonness,-a notable casting away of modesty, a setting temptation on fire?



Please, credit this document
as published by www.womenpriests.org!


This website is maintained by the Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research.

The Institute is known for issuing academic reports and statements on relevant issues in the Church.

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Dear visitor, you are welcome to use our material. However: building up and maintaining this site costs money. We are a Charity and work mainly with volunteers, but find it difficult to pay our overheads. Please, become a Friend or support us with a donation. Also, as some of you recommended to us, we are exploring how to generate income by advertising. Please, support us in this effort and send us your suggestions.
John Wijngaards

Wijngaards Institute for Catholic Research

Miriam Duignan


Please, support our campaign
for women priests

Visit our new websites:

Natural Law and Conscience

Synod on the Family 2015

Catholics and Contraception

Join our Women Priests' Mailing List
for occasional newsletters:
Email:
Name:
Surname:
City:
Country:
 
An email will be immediately sent to you
requesting your confirmation.